Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-04-08, 04:05 AM   #1
queen6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 64
Default 180.11 powermizer still broken

Powermizer still declocks the card below usable level. Any ETA when can it be fixed or when you enable option to completely disable powermizer function?

Thanks,
queen6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-08, 05:08 PM   #2
busbus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 24
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

i join this one!
i got a slight performance boost form 180.11 but am still far from really getting what you should expect from a 9600gt, and i am still stuck in performance mode 1 from 0-3

please nvidia, at least give us switch to toggle powermizer state on or off. (better fix the thing)
busbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-08, 04:15 AM   #3
Guspaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

You can actually force the drivers into high-performance mode. Here is a script to do it:

Code:
#!/bin/bash

echo 'Forcing GPU to high-performance mode. Press CTRL-C to stop.'
let x=0
while true; do
        let y=x*25
        echo -ne "\rTime spent in high performance mode: $y seconds"
        nice /usr/bin/nvidia-settings -q all > /dev/null &
        let x=x+1
        sleep 25;
done
This script goes a bit fancy, here is a simpler version that should do the same thing with less glitter:

Code:
#!/bin/bash

while true; do
        nice /usr/bin/nvidia-settings -q all > /dev/null &
        sleep 25;
done
You could also replace "true" with ":"

For an explanation as to what this does, it queries nvidia-settings for a list of settings every 25 seconds.

This works because when you query nvidia-settings, it forces the GPU into high performance mode (powermizer level 2 for me, since I have 0/1/2) for 30 seconds. So this script, while running, will permanently keep your GPU in max performance mode as long as it runs.

With this, you can indeed toggle powermizer on and off.

I can't take complete credit for it, though, I found the original solution in the Ubuntu forums, and wrote the fancified script based on that.

Now my biggest complaint is simply that vsync doesn't work with Compiz in any nVidia drivers, most annoyingly in video

EDIT: My bad, it looks like 180.11 (installed the Jaunty package into Intrepid) significantly improves (if not fixes) my vsync issues with Compiz. With that and the visual corruption bugs that 180 is listed as fixing (and did fix), the only remaining issues that I have with Compiz are now resolved. Woot!
Guspaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-08, 06:32 AM   #4
busbus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 24
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

lucky one if it helps for you.
for me it jumps to mode 1 of 0-3. 2 and 3 are never touched.
busbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-08, 08:14 PM   #5
txf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 272
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

In addition to that I generally find the ui too laggy to be comfortable. Whilst it does often jump to max it takes far too long to be felt. So I just disable it with modprobe.conf method.
txf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-08, 09:15 AM   #6
queen6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 64
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

Well after months of waiting I decided to solve my problem.

I sold my office laptop with nvidia card (Quadro FX360M) and get one with ATI. Now everything works perfectly. I use this laptop for office work with basic 2d/3d (compiz).

It's nice to see things are improving, but if one "featue" (powermizer) is making your laptop completely useless and it's not fixed after moths it's not the best way forward.

At home I use one with GF 8600M GT which plays quite nicely with current nvidia drivers.
queen6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-08, 04:00 PM   #7
Spyke
Foxie
 
Spyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 618
Send a message via AIM to Spyke Send a message via MSN to Spyke Send a message via Yahoo to Spyke
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

Its definitely broken when it even causes issues with desktop graphics cards. (GTX 280 flickering and freezing)
__________________
Gaming:
Intel i7 980X @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage III Extreme | GTX 480 3Way SLI @ 900Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Corsair Obsidian 700D
Corsair H70 CPU Cooler | EK-FB RE3 | Corsair AX1200 | Black Ice SR1 360 | 240GB OCZ Revodrive X2 SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate
12GB Corsair Dominator GT @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Onkyo TX SR-707 | 70" Sharp Aquos LCD | KEF Audio 5.1 C3/C6LCR/C7
Workstation:
Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage II Extreme | GTX 480 @ 800Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Lian-Li V1200B | Corsair HX1000
EK NB ASUS HP | Watercool HeatKiller 3.0 | Feser Extreme X-360 | 2x160GB Intel X25-M SSD RAID0 | 4x2TB WD20EARS RAID10
12GB Corsair Dominator @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Pioneer DVR-212D | Gentoo Linux
Dell 3008WFP | JohnBlue JB3 | CityPulse DA2.03e II DAC | KingRex T20U w/ Modded Auricaps & PSU | Glow Audio Sub One
Server:
Quad Socket Opteron 8356 (16 cores) @ 2.3GHz | Supermicro H8QMi-2 | Supermicro 2U Chassis | Redundant 1200W PSU
32GB 2GBx16 DDR2-667 ECC | 4x 300GB Cheetah SAS RAID10 | Adaptec 5805 512MB w/BBU | Colocated | Gentoo Linux
Spyke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-08, 08:50 AM   #8
fhj52
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 135
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

I have a major headache. ... blink ...blink-blink ...blink. ...blink-blink ... ... blink ...blink ...blink-blink-blink.
The display flashes|blinks in MS Windows OS too but not as badly as in Linux OS. ( It takes a couple of hours in XP to get the headache but only minutes in Linux. )

Hundreds of dollars wasted .... to get a GTX260^2 driven display which causes me physical pain because some overzealous green idiot will not remove bad code in the driver?!? I don't believe nVidia Corp could possibly be that stupid. The device must be defective.

EDIT: Deleted what is AYA waste of time. I cannot return for an ATI ...
The good news is that the blink-blink-...-blinking stopped after installing Mandriva 2009 and upgrading kernel 2.6.24 with Linux kernel 2.6.27.5-server. It blinks in openSUSE 10.2 so I will try to get a 2.6.27 kernel(or build one) and see if that resolves the problem there too.

However, next cards will be ATI and next boards will have Intel chipset(s). I hate headaches. I bought what I thought was *the* best cards and displays that I can reasonably afford because I read a LOT of my system. I bought mainboards with chipset for onboard RAID to have cross-platform usability but nVidia won't provide the required drivers or even support the efforts to get them! ... I cannot afford this merry-go-round with nVidia.
__________________
When two people meet and exchange gifts, each has one object.
When two people meet and exchange ideas, each has two ideas.
... Open Source. Just do it.

---------------------------------
System: BFG GTX260^2 graphics but has ** TERRIBLE BLINKING OS **
SuperMicro H8DCi+AMI BIOS;dual Opt'285;8GB;LSI 320-2x w/ 6xU320 Fuji' MAXs in RAID 10; 4xSATAII on LSI 3041E for backup. Multi-boot Mandriva Linux, openSUSE, WinXPx64 & Win2k-AS; Creative Audigy2-Digital audio.
Gigabyte GA-2CEWH & NVRAID are GONE ... Finally!!

Last edited by fhj52; 12-16-08 at 04:44 PM.
fhj52 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-10-08, 05:41 PM   #9
Erik_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Default PowerMizer broken in 177.82 and 180.11 for FX3700m

Hello, I'm exhibiting the same PowerMizer issue on a brand new Quadro FX3700m in a Sager 9262 laptop with the Official nVidia 177.82 drivers.

Thanks to the small script that loops the nvidia-settings -q all >/dev/null every 25 seconds, I can keep my FX3700m in Performance Level 1, but I'm still only at 50% of performance for the card I purchased.



Erik
Erik_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-08, 12:08 PM   #10
mfb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 25
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

I'm also having some trouble with my GeForce 9600M GT. nvidia-settings shows 4 powerlevels but it sticks at powerlevel 1. (275/500) I really want it to operate at level 3 (500/800) when gaming because the potential of the card is not being used now.
mfb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-08, 12:18 PM   #11
fhj52
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 135
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

Well, I found a temporary work-around that causes the so-called adaptive clocking to run at full performance level: Use KDE4.1.* with Linux 2.6.27.5.

Problem is that one cannot keep running KDE4; too buggy and slow. Sure is pretty though...
And that does not resolve the blinking in MS Win XPx64 anyway.

So is the next (released) driver going to have this adaptive clocking removed or not?
__________________
When two people meet and exchange gifts, each has one object.
When two people meet and exchange ideas, each has two ideas.
... Open Source. Just do it.

---------------------------------
System: BFG GTX260^2 graphics but has ** TERRIBLE BLINKING OS **
SuperMicro H8DCi+AMI BIOS;dual Opt'285;8GB;LSI 320-2x w/ 6xU320 Fuji' MAXs in RAID 10; 4xSATAII on LSI 3041E for backup. Multi-boot Mandriva Linux, openSUSE, WinXPx64 & Win2k-AS; Creative Audigy2-Digital audio.
Gigabyte GA-2CEWH & NVRAID are GONE ... Finally!!
fhj52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-08, 12:28 PM   #12
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

Try adding
Quote:
options nvidia NVreg_RegistryDwords="PerfLevelSrc=0x2222"
to /etc/modprobe.conf and reboot
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Daily Deal - Broken Sword Triple Pack, 75% off! News Gaming Headlines 0 06-11-12 01:50 PM
King Arthur Devs Reveal Broken Sea News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 05:30 AM
Powermizer problem, nvidia 9500m gs ubuntu backtoback NVIDIA Linux 3 05-25-12 12:13 PM
ICC profile / LUT loading broken on the 302 betas? afxmac NVIDIA Linux 2 05-22-12 02:56 PM
Problem with powermizer, nvidia 9500m gs backtoback NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 0 05-18-12 02:10 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.