Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-28-09, 10:30 AM   #121
thefirstm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 226
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

If it means anything, Linux is the only operating system where PowerMizer has worked properly for my 8600mGT. In Windows XP, the graphics card throttle changes would cause massive audio skipping, and in Vista, the lower power modes caused incredibly poor performance in the DWM. In Linux, everything works great.
thefirstm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-09, 05:17 PM   #122
Remus_X
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

I'll start off by saying that I am new to Linux and probably what I'll post, most of you would know. Anyway here it goes:

Laptop: Clevo M860TU
GPU: 9800m GTS

Under Windows Vista and Windows 7 the GPU while on AC power is at max performance and while on battery it throttles down to half (As it should). When I was using Ubuntu 8.10 either the laptop was on AC power or Battery, the performance remained throttled down to half, at performance level 1. But what i just noticed today after installing Ubuntu 9.04 is that even though the laptop is on AC power (which you can confirm from the picture) the powermizer "thinks" that it is on battery source.(While on 8.10 it showed the correct power state but still throttled down) So what I want to say is, instead of trying to force the powermizer to lock at a certain level, maybe the solution is to make the powermizer "understand" when the laptop is on AC power, so that it will automatically go to the maximum performance level when needed. Maybe all of you already know that this is the problem with the powermizer, but due to the fact that I didn't find any comments about this, I thought that it could be useful to post.
Thank you
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Powermizer.jpg
Views:	152
Size:	284.6 KB
ID:	36673  
Remus_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-09, 06:43 PM   #123
TheBlackCat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 84
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

@ Remus_X: I do not have this problem, nor have I ever had it. It always reports being on AC power even though it is still stuck at power level 0 or 1. I know some people have had this problem, but other people have stated they have problems with powermizer even though the system realizes it is on AC power. It is apparently a cause of the problem but not the only cause.
TheBlackCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-09, 01:07 AM   #124
Remus_X
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

I'm just saying that under Ubuntu 8 it reported being on the correct power source, but was stuck to power level 0 and 1. Now under Ubuntu 9 it always reports being on battery and again power level stuck at 0 and 1. In both cases i used drivers from 180.44 to 180.53
Remus_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-09, 08:30 AM   #125
skektek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by thefirstm View Post
If it means anything, Linux is the only operating system where PowerMizer has worked properly for my 8600mGT. In Windows XP, the graphics card throttle changes would cause massive audio skipping, and in Vista, the lower power modes caused incredibly poor performance in the DWM. In Linux, everything works great.
Thats good for you, and developer's egos, but it doesn't help us who purchased gimped cards.
skektek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-09, 04:58 PM   #126
nldudok1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 40
Default powermizer fixed Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

installed 185.18.08

Powermizer fixed.

Powermizer goes all the way up to the highest level.

Thank you very much. You make me very happy

To quote myself:
Quote:
Originally Posted by nldudok1 View Post
You will be rewarded with millions of nice thoughts and warm feelings.
You're life will be more rewarding.
The sun will start shining.
You will probably get a raise and also win the lottery.
And everyone will love you, more then you can imagine.
Unfortunately blank terminals are still there.
ctrl-shift-F1 gives black screen.
The only way to get a working terminal back is killing X (blindly) and posting the videocard using vbtracetool.

Code:
sudo vbtracetool -p
64 bit system
driver: nvidia 185.18.08
system: notebook ACER aspire 6930G
kernel: 2.6.29.1 x86_64
Model: GeForce 9600M GS
Video BIOS: 62.94.3c.00.17
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (52.5 KB, 40 views)
nldudok1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-09, 12:44 PM   #127
Erik_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Default Powermizer in Beta driver 185.18.08 (Full perf at last...)

I've also installed the latest beta 185.18.08 on a Fedora 10 (x64) laptop with a Quadro FX 3700M.
I would not say that Powermizer is fixed yet, but it's disabled on my config. Therefore my FX3700M is now always running at Performance Level 3 all the time. (NV Clock 550Mhz, Memory Clock 799Mhz)

You can compare my results on Phoronix Test Suite at
http://global.phoronix-test-suite.co...895-2232-10192

I've put a picture from the PTS in the attachment.
On the left side, my FX 3700M at Performance Level 1 and to the right with beta drivers 185.18.08 (Perf Level 3)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fx3700m.png
Views:	134
Size:	10.9 KB
ID:	36786  
Erik_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-09, 12:09 PM   #128
lavoisier
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

180.60: Powermizer working fine, switching to text console working too. Hooray. After only 6 months of waiting, thank you.

Still I hope Nouveau driver will be usable within this or next year. I dont want any binary and proprietary blobs running in kernel mode and wait several months for bugfixes .
lavoisier is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-01-09, 03:31 AM   #129
pootle
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Default Re: 185. powermizer working (nearly) properly

Check this thread.

The 185 series drivers are working for me, with proper tracking up and down all 4 power levels. Drivers are still beta atm, and I'm getting occasional total screen refreshes for no apparent reason with flash animations in firefox, apart from that (which doesn't break anything), all seems well.
pootle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-09, 05:50 PM   #130
ShadauxCat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

Nvidia GeForce 8800M GTX on a Clevo D900C running Ubuntu Studio 9.04.

I've installed 185.18.14, but still see a maximum perf level of 1, without being able to touch levels 2 and 3. Also reporting battery power even when plugged in. (I'm looking into my DSDT to see if I can fix that, at least.)
ShadauxCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Daily Deal - Broken Sword Triple Pack, 75% off! News Gaming Headlines 0 06-11-12 01:50 PM
King Arthur Devs Reveal Broken Sea News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 05:30 AM
Powermizer problem, nvidia 9500m gs ubuntu backtoback NVIDIA Linux 3 05-25-12 12:13 PM
ICC profile / LUT loading broken on the 302 betas? afxmac NVIDIA Linux 2 05-22-12 02:56 PM
Problem with powermizer, nvidia 9500m gs backtoback NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 0 05-18-12 02:10 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.