Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-11-08, 01:09 PM   #13
fhj52
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 135
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran View Post
Try adding
options nvidia NVreg_RegistryDwords="PerfLevelSrc=0x2222"
to /etc/modprobe.conf and reboot
Sure, thanks. That was nice of you, .
I already used quite a few iterations of the RegistryDwords in the xorg.conf file and although there were no complaints, there was no effect either.

Of course that won't help in MS Win* ...real point being that it is not our responsibility to be making fixes for purchased products. The graphics cards require software drivers ...it is a package deal.

...but hey, since you were kind enuf to take the time to respond, I'll make the edits and next time I boot to those Linux will see if it helps.
__________________
When two people meet and exchange gifts, each has one object.
When two people meet and exchange ideas, each has two ideas.
... Open Source. Just do it.

---------------------------------
System: BFG GTX260^2 graphics but has ** TERRIBLE BLINKING OS **
SuperMicro H8DCi+AMI BIOS;dual Opt'285;8GB;LSI 320-2x w/ 6xU320 Fuji' MAXs in RAID 10; 4xSATAII on LSI 3041E for backup. Multi-boot Mandriva Linux, openSUSE, WinXPx64 & Win2k-AS; Creative Audigy2-Digital audio.
Gigabyte GA-2CEWH & NVRAID are GONE ... Finally!!
fhj52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-08, 05:53 PM   #14
Spyke
Foxie
 
Spyke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 618
Send a message via AIM to Spyke Send a message via MSN to Spyke Send a message via Yahoo to Spyke
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

That option doesn't work by itself, you also need to set NVreg_Mobile=1
__________________
Gaming:
Intel i7 980X @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage III Extreme | GTX 480 3Way SLI @ 900Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Corsair Obsidian 700D
Corsair H70 CPU Cooler | EK-FB RE3 | Corsair AX1200 | Black Ice SR1 360 | 240GB OCZ Revodrive X2 SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate
12GB Corsair Dominator GT @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Onkyo TX SR-707 | 70" Sharp Aquos LCD | KEF Audio 5.1 C3/C6LCR/C7
Workstation:
Intel i7 920 D0 @ 4GHz | ASUS Rampage II Extreme | GTX 480 @ 800Mhz | Koolance VID-NX480 | Lian-Li V1200B | Corsair HX1000
EK NB ASUS HP | Watercool HeatKiller 3.0 | Feser Extreme X-360 | 2x160GB Intel X25-M SSD RAID0 | 4x2TB WD20EARS RAID10
12GB Corsair Dominator @ 8-8-8-24-1T DDR3-1600 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Pioneer DVR-212D | Gentoo Linux
Dell 3008WFP | JohnBlue JB3 | CityPulse DA2.03e II DAC | KingRex T20U w/ Modded Auricaps & PSU | Glow Audio Sub One
Server:
Quad Socket Opteron 8356 (16 cores) @ 2.3GHz | Supermicro H8QMi-2 | Supermicro 2U Chassis | Redundant 1200W PSU
32GB 2GBx16 DDR2-667 ECC | 4x 300GB Cheetah SAS RAID10 | Adaptec 5805 512MB w/BBU | Colocated | Gentoo Linux
Spyke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-08, 01:40 AM   #15
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyke View Post
That option doesn't work by itself, you also need to set NVreg_Mobile=1
No, NVreg_Mobile is completely unrelated. Works fine here without NVreg_Mobile set.
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-08, 06:05 AM   #16
mfb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 25
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

The NVReg-hack doesn't seem to work for me. It sticks the card in powerlevel 1 (275/300) and I want to have it in powerlevel 3 (500/800).

I can't enable coolbits or something to clock manually, it apparently is ignored on mobile cards?
mfb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-08, 01:11 PM   #17
arab89ps
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

doesn't work for me too

i don't recommend nvidia for Linux user anymore
arab89ps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-08, 01:25 PM   #18
fhj52
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 135
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran View Post
Try adding
Quote:
options nvidia NVreg_RegistryDwords="PerfLevelSrc=0x2222"
to /etc/modprobe.conf and reboot
It worked* for OpenSUSE 10.2+ with kernel 2.6.18.8-0.13-default #1 SMP & Xorg 7.2. (ed: using NVIDIA Driver beta 180.11 )
The GTX260 is running at full speed all the time and NO BLINK...BLINK-BLINK...BLINKING! Hoo-rah, .

Strangely on Mandriva 2009, the "options" are not needed(using the released NVIDIA driver version, not the beta). The GTX 260 runs full speed all the time and it does not seem to require using KDE4( which is a really, REALLY good thing cuz KDE4 is not usable for daily work ).
The PowerMizer appears to be non-functional even with XFCE4 which, typically, uses very little GPU or CPU when idling.
... perhaps it is the Mandriva 2.6.27-5 kernel? They have always used compiler 'enhancements' to boost speed.
I'll try Blackbox or maybe IceWM since they also need little GPU power.

Thanks, again, for posting that as I am not 'upgrading' openSUSE for a while. I just got the sucker fixed from their so-called updates back in 2007 and need it.


Now if NVIDIA CORP would just take the BETA SOFTWARE out of released drivers... , none of this nonsense w/b required.



*Note: The nvidia optons went into /etc/modprobe.conf.local for openSUSE not /etc/modprobe.conf as most other distros would use.
__________________
When two people meet and exchange gifts, each has one object.
When two people meet and exchange ideas, each has two ideas.
... Open Source. Just do it.

---------------------------------
System: BFG GTX260^2 graphics but has ** TERRIBLE BLINKING OS **
SuperMicro H8DCi+AMI BIOS;dual Opt'285;8GB;LSI 320-2x w/ 6xU320 Fuji' MAXs in RAID 10; 4xSATAII on LSI 3041E for backup. Multi-boot Mandriva Linux, openSUSE, WinXPx64 & Win2k-AS; Creative Audigy2-Digital audio.
Gigabyte GA-2CEWH & NVRAID are GONE ... Finally!!
fhj52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-08, 03:57 PM   #19
fhj52
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 135
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

It's blinking again. I updated some files so YAST2 would work properly and the blinking started again.

...my head hurts.
__________________
When two people meet and exchange gifts, each has one object.
When two people meet and exchange ideas, each has two ideas.
... Open Source. Just do it.

---------------------------------
System: BFG GTX260^2 graphics but has ** TERRIBLE BLINKING OS **
SuperMicro H8DCi+AMI BIOS;dual Opt'285;8GB;LSI 320-2x w/ 6xU320 Fuji' MAXs in RAID 10; 4xSATAII on LSI 3041E for backup. Multi-boot Mandriva Linux, openSUSE, WinXPx64 & Win2k-AS; Creative Audigy2-Digital audio.
Gigabyte GA-2CEWH & NVRAID are GONE ... Finally!!
fhj52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-08, 09:27 PM   #20
maccam94
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 14
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

The modprobe.conf hack locks my 9800M GT at level 1, out of 0-3.
maccam94 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-14-08, 01:01 PM   #21
xin44
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 72
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

hi,
on the nvidia x server settings/PowerMizer/performance level, only one level appears : level 0. I've seen on a capture that all the levels 0-3 was present (so 4 lines with the freq gpu-mem).
Is it the reason why the nvidia NVreg_RegistryDwords="PerfLevelSrc=0x2222" option has no action ?
(xfx 8800gtx)
thanks in advance
xin44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-08, 06:27 AM   #22
mfb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 25
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

Anyone have an update on this problem? I would like my card to run in 3D clocks instead of what I get now. It's quite disappointing a bug like this is actually in the vbios or driver.

I'm not to keen to alter my vbios but if anyone has some instructions for my 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 then I might even try that.
mfb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-08, 06:47 AM   #23
brucecadieux
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 78
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

I found this web site, I tried out the xorg.conf settings and they work flawlessly.

I set my ASUS laptop with 9800m gs to use full power when plugged in, and to scale when on battery power. It works perfectly for me using the latest beta drivers.

http://tutanhamon.com.ua/technovodst.../#power-saving

Here are the settings I used in my xorg.conf

Option "RegistryDwords" "PowerMizerEnable=0x1; PerfLevelSrc=0x2222; PowerMizerDefault=0x3; PowerMizerDefaultAC=0x1"
brucecadieux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-08, 08:29 AM   #24
nldudok1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 40
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfb View Post
Anyone have an update on this problem? I would like my card to run in 3D clocks instead of what I get now. It's quite disappointing a bug like this is actually in the vbios or driver.

I'm not to keen to alter my vbios but if anyone has some instructions for my 9600M GT 512MB GDDR3 then I might even try that.
You can use NiBiTor to change your vbios.

You can download version 4.6 here:
download NiBiTor

The new version NiBiTor v4.8 will have support for a lot more mobile 9xxxm cards.
amongst others support for the following cards will be there:
GeForce 9600M GS
GeForce 9650M GT
GeForce 9700M GT
GeForce 9800M GS
GeForce 9800M GT

Version 4.7 and 4.8 are ready but not for public download yet because the developers are asking for a small donation to support their development.
If you donate a small amount (1 dollar) using the chipin function on the mvktech homepage you will get access to 4.7 right away and early access to version 4.8 .
http://www.mvktech.net/

How do I solve my powermizer problems with nibitor?
In short, copy all the settings (clockspeed, memspeed, voltage, etc) for performance level 3 to performance level 1.

How to do that in detail?
Read the manual carefully?
Read the nibitor forum on mkvtech.net
search (google and the nvnews forum and the mvktech forum) for: powermizer nibitor

I am in no way related to mkvtech or NiBiTor. I am just one of the people trying to solve their powermizer problems on linux.
And since my card was not supported on NiBiTor 4.6 I have contributed a few dollars to mvktech, since they seem to be the only ones who are actually trying to solve our problems. And they don't get any big money for it. (As opposed to the card manufacturer which doesn't seem to care a lot, given the many powermizer problem topics in this forum)
nldudok1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Daily Deal - Broken Sword Triple Pack, 75% off! News Gaming Headlines 0 06-11-12 01:50 PM
King Arthur Devs Reveal Broken Sea News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 05:30 AM
Powermizer problem, nvidia 9500m gs ubuntu backtoback NVIDIA Linux 3 05-25-12 12:13 PM
ICC profile / LUT loading broken on the 302 betas? afxmac NVIDIA Linux 2 05-22-12 02:56 PM
Problem with powermizer, nvidia 9500m gs backtoback NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 0 05-18-12 02:10 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.