Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-09-09, 05:36 PM   #25
RolandH
NVIDIA Corporation
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 27
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

We're looking into this. Can you help us by posting an nvidia-bug-report.log for configurations that show this problem? Thanks
RolandH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-09, 05:47 PM   #26
busbus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 24
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

attached my bugreport. it seems as if the driver only chooses between the lower two of all four possible performance modes. it never reaches the modes tagged 3D or even Extra, only 2D and Throttle.

thanx that someone starts to dig into this =).
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-bug-report.log (138.4 KB, 126 views)
busbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-09, 06:12 AM   #27
GIDZzz
Plague Rat
 
GIDZzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

Thank you, I started to think it's never gonna get attention.

In addition to the log, here come some notes:
- Clevo M570RU with 8800M GTX;
- I don't experience any problems on Windows (XP);
- PowerMizer on Linux goes no higher than level 1 of 0-3, even when I try to force it with RegistryDwords in xorg.conf;
- this occured with both 62.92.19.00.a3 (original) and 62.92.23.00.14 (now) vbios.
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (45.4 KB, 108 views)
GIDZzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-09, 12:08 AM   #28
xrotanimret
gar gar gar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 62
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

This configuration causes powermizer to clock my GPU at 100 MHz, with nothing I do (glxgears, calling nvidia-settings -q all, et cetera) having any effect on it whatsoever.
Attached Files
File Type: bz2 nvidia-bug-report.log.bz2 (31.1 KB, 114 views)
xrotanimret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-09, 07:48 PM   #29
nldudok1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 40
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

My card is a 9600M GS
It only runs in powermizer level 0 (gpuclock 169 memclock 100)
and level 1 (gpuclock 275 memclock 250)
It never reaches level 2 (gpuclock 400 memclock 400)
nor level 3 (gpuclock 430 memclock 400)

machine: ACER 6930G
NVIDIA VBIOS version: 62.94.3c.00.17
OS: Ubuntu 7.10 (Gutsy Gibbon) X86_64
I already posted my powermizer bugreport a few months ago.
They are in this post.
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=120794

Every driver version I have tried since (upto 180.08) still have the same problem.
I also update my kernel from 2.6.27-rc8 to 2.6.27.6 wich did not help.
I will submit a new bugreport with the most recent driver as soon as I installed the now latest version nvidia driver 180.22.

I hope the problem can be found and fixed, so I can finally use my notebook for CUDA development (That is what I bought it for)
nldudok1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-09, 06:17 AM   #30
Tux Brothers
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Thumbs down Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

Hi All,

Ive got same problems, Im using Fed 8 with KDE 3.5.
Powermizer is working, but on level 0, the screen flickers like ....
When setting the screen to 16bit colors the problem is solved, but hey, i want 24bit colors with a 250 card
Also in VESA mode on 24bit there are no problems, so im sure this is really driver related!!

Im really disapointed in nVidia, im using there products since they came with the TNT, since then i have bought about 20 nVidia cards.
But when its a problem to let a 250 card in 24bit 2D mode properly working, im not sure the next card will be nVidia...

My specs are:
Mobo:Gigabyte EP35
Proc:Q9400
XFX GTX 260
Tux Brothers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-09, 06:22 AM   #31
xrotanimret
gar gar gar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 62
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

I've been informed that there's a bug in the tracker now that's been marked high priority and blocks any future 180 series driver release. Hopefully this problem will be a thing of the past very soon.
xrotanimret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-09, 07:11 AM   #32
kantlivelong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 48
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

I too have this issue with a Clevo D901C laptop and Nvidia Geforce 9800M GTX card. It remains @ 275Mhz

So Sad
kantlivelong is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-09, 08:08 AM   #33
seenxu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

sorry, wrong post.
seenxu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-09, 03:32 PM   #34
busbus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 24
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

dont complain, it looks like it's being worked on. better post your bug report log so it gets to an end faster. =)
busbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-09, 08:52 AM   #35
mfb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 25
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

Bug report file attached.

Zepto Mythos A15
GeForce 9600M GT
Attached Files
File Type: bz2 nvidia-bug-report.log.bz2 (34.1 KB, 107 views)
mfb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-09, 12:10 AM   #36
kodiakmax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

I have the same issue (stuck at performance level 1). However, I am able to force it to whatever performance level I want(level 2 is the highest for me) with the following option in xorg.conf "Device" section.
It got me about 1500-1600 fps increase in glxgears

Code:
Option "RegistryDwords" "PerfLevelSrc=0x2222"
I followed this webpage http://tutanhamon.com.ua/technovodst.../#power-saving

I believe though the reason that it is not working at least for me is that my laptop thinks it is constantly running on battery power with acpi. as I have nothing in the /proc/acpi/ac_adapter folder. You can also run the following command and check for ac adapter problems.

Code:
dmesg |grep ACPI
I didn't think about though as kpowersave says that I am plugged in lol. However if you run the following command you can see what nvidia-settings thinks your power state is.

Code:
nvidia-settings -q GPUPowerSource -t
0=ac power 1=battery power.

If I can figure out my acpi ac_adapter issue I will come back and report my findings.
kodiakmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Daily Deal - Broken Sword Triple Pack, 75% off! News Gaming Headlines 0 06-11-12 01:50 PM
King Arthur Devs Reveal Broken Sea News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 05:30 AM
Powermizer problem, nvidia 9500m gs ubuntu backtoback NVIDIA Linux 3 05-25-12 12:13 PM
ICC profile / LUT loading broken on the 302 betas? afxmac NVIDIA Linux 2 05-22-12 02:56 PM
Problem with powermizer, nvidia 9500m gs backtoback NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 0 05-18-12 02:10 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.