Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-09, 04:43 PM   #61
wiresquire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 81
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

KodiaMax and RenZ0:

Do your 8700M GTs ever throttle back to performance level 0 with the 180.2x drivers when on AC?

I have noticed on mine that it throttles correctly between 1 & 2, but never drops to level 0. In previous drivers, level 0 was the 'default' and would throttle up to level 2 (Max) and then once idle, it would step back to level 1 after ~15secs and then level 0 after another ~15secs.

Cheers
ws
wiresquire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-09, 05:31 PM   #62
kodiakmax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

I have not seen it hit performance level 0 yet. I was thinking maybe that desktop effects were maybe the cause for that. Of course nividia-settings thinks my power source is Battery as well. I believe that is because I am having acpi issues too. I have no files in /proc/acpi/ac_adapter which I believe might be caused by a buggy DSDT.
kodiakmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-09, 05:54 PM   #63
TheBlackCat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 84
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

Is there a way to trick the driver into thinking it is on a desktop and not a laptop?
TheBlackCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-09, 06:06 PM   #64
slusken
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by kodiakmax View Post
I am running an 8700M GT with 180.22 drivers

I disabled my powermizer override options in my xorg.conf and now when I monitor nvidia-settings and run glxgears; my performance level switches to max and when I stop glxgears nvidia-settings switches to performance level 1. So, powermizer appears to be working normal now at the moment for me.
umm how do you disable this thingy? :P sry new to linux just got the 180.22 upgrade running after 2 days and had to format comp twice xD.
slusken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-09, 04:03 PM   #65
TheBlackCat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 84
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by slusken View Post
umm how do you disable this thingy? :P sry new to linux just got the 180.22 upgrade running after 2 days and had to format comp twice xD.
For many people, you can't. That is the problem. If you want to try look towards the beginning of this thread, there are a bunch of suggestions. Like many people, none of them work for me, but one might work for you.
TheBlackCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-09, 05:17 PM   #66
busbus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 24
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

got nothing new from .29.
it switches from desktop mode to maximum performance in the nvidia settings but still only uses the lower two performance levels.
busbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-09, 06:48 PM   #67
kantlivelong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 48
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

180.29 Nvidia 9800M GTX

DOesnt go above level 1... FAIL
kantlivelong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-09, 09:20 PM   #68
RenZ0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by wiresquire View Post
KodiaMax and RenZ0:

Do your 8700M GTs ever throttle back to performance level 0 with the 180.2x drivers when on AC?

I have noticed on mine that it throttles correctly between 1 & 2, but never drops to level 0. In previous drivers, level 0 was the 'default' and would throttle up to level 2 (Max) and then once idle, it would step back to level 1 after ~15secs and then level 0 after another ~15secs.
With 177.80, it was between 0,1,2, but now with 180.22, or 180.29, it's only between 1,2.
So it's a regression for us, and it doesn't unlock other cards...
RenZ0 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-15-09, 08:17 AM   #69
nldudok1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 40
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

installed 180.29
Still broken. Please fix powermizer or give us a powermizer disable option.

only performance level 0 and 1 (0: nvclock 169 memclock 100, 1: nvclock 275, memclock 250)
level 2 and 3 are never reached ( 2: nvclock 400 memclock 400, 3: nvclock 430, memclock 400)

driver: nvidia 180.29
system: ACER aspire 6930G
kernel: 2.6.27.6
distri: ubuntu gutsy 7.10 x86_64
Model: GeForce 9600M GS
IRQ: 16
Video BIOS: 62.94.3c.00.17
Card Type: PCI-E
DMA Size: 40 bits
DMA Mask: 0xffffffffff
Bus Location: 01.00.0

This time I started with my distribution supplied xorg.conf and let nvidia do the required changes.
No different behaviour though.
I still suspect the bios is parsed wrong.
NVIDIA: I can supply the bios as it is on my card (version 62.94.3c.00.17) if you need it.


attached is my new nvidia-bug-report.
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (46.1 KB, 62 views)
nldudok1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-09, 12:59 PM   #70
RenZ0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 14
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

Welcome in closed source world. Nvidia is not here to please tux friends!
RenZ0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-09, 05:07 PM   #71
lavoisier
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 9
Unhappy Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

What about 180.35? Still broken? I wait several months for the fix. NVidia made much effort to make VDPAU and OpenGL 3.0 support available, but no changes to make the very basic performance issue resolved. Why? I dont understand it at all.

Maybe Nouveau driver will be more usable this year. Then I wil f*u**k around these closed drivers and dangerous binary blobs running in kernel mode. It would be better to use >70% performance of the card with Nouveau than just only 30% because of invalid PowerMizer functionality.
lavoisier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-09, 06:21 AM   #72
Mostrapotski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: 180.11 powermizer still broken

Hi...
I m using the driver 180.29 on a fresh openSUSE 11.1 installation.
The max level is 1, although it should be 3, with a 9600m gt (G96 based).

The fact is, i don't really need to use the max freq, BUT i do really wonder how can nvidia let us people asking a such basic thing for so long.

As someone said before, if they can't fix the powermizer thing, they can at least set up a disable function to stop powermizer when AC power source is detected AND it does not take 6 month to do.
Mostrapotski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Daily Deal - Broken Sword Triple Pack, 75% off! News Gaming Headlines 0 06-11-12 01:50 PM
King Arthur Devs Reveal Broken Sea News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 05:30 AM
Powermizer problem, nvidia 9500m gs ubuntu backtoback NVIDIA Linux 3 05-25-12 12:13 PM
ICC profile / LUT loading broken on the 302 betas? afxmac NVIDIA Linux 2 05-22-12 02:56 PM
Problem with powermizer, nvidia 9500m gs backtoback NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 0 05-18-12 02:10 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.