Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-23-03, 11:14 PM   #1
sam
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 9
Default no screens found - debian

Hello
I am having a poblem with my display after installing debian. I am very new to linux and have alot to learn

thanks for help

Sam
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (16.5 KB, 205 views)
sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-03, 11:18 PM   #2
sam
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 9
Default

here is the file XF86Config-4
Attached Files
File Type: txt xf86config-4.txt (3.3 KB, 207 views)
sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-03, 08:47 AM   #3
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

According to that log, you haven't edited your XF86Config-4 file yet. You need to do that to get the nVidia drivers to work; see the README for what to change, but in short, you need to make Driver "nv" be Driver "nvidia", and get rid of Load "GLcore" and Load "dri".

Well, hang on, you're loading "glx" as it is, but it's picking up the wrong one. Have you even installed the nVidia drivers?
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-03, 02:09 PM   #4
sam
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bwkaz
According to that log, you haven't edited your XF86Config-4 file yet. You need to do that to get the nVidia drivers to work; see the README for what to change, but in short, you need to make Driver "nv" be Driver "nvidia", and get rid of Load "GLcore" and Load "dri".

Well, hang on, you're loading "glx" as it is, but it's picking up the wrong one. Have you even installed the nVidia drivers?
well, thanks for reply... after I read your reply 3 times to grasp all of it. the shore answer for the question is I installed debian from the CD I downloaded from their website. I don't even know if there is a driver installed "well, I take that back, nv driver is what it shows being the installed one" I thought nv is what will work form my nVidia Riva TNT2".
now, if I am suppose to install nVidia driver, what I am suppose to do to accoplish that? "boy- am I gana have some fun with the step learning curve!" I got no idea what "glx" for, or even where is that "README for what to change" located?
I know the latest version for the XFree86 is found here http://www.xfree86.org/current/ and it is 2 numbers ahead of what I now have. the nVidia drivers for Linux are here http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=linux but I don't know which of these I should get

Linux IA32
Latest Version: 1.0-4363
Archive

Linux IA64
Latest Version: 1.0-4050
Archive

Linux AMD64
Latest Version: 1.0-4180
Archive

Free BSD
Latest Version: 1.0-3203

once I download it, then the big "how I am going to install it"? I will download it onto my laptop using windows then depends if I can fit in on a floppy or not, move it to the linux desk top, if it dose not fit then I am in limpo. or should I worry about getting my internet connection to wrok on my linux box first, but if I do, how am I going to browse with out the correct graphic driver?
oh... how am I gona fix this mess


Sam
sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-03, 09:59 PM   #5
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Oh... I see.

I thought you were trying to get the drivers from nVidia to work. Instead, you're having problems with the default distro drivers.

Since you're using a laptop, I assume you have a Geforce X Go card, right? (that is, some form of the Go chipset?) If so, you probably have to upgrade X to get a working "nv" driver (one that will work without much more configuration from you, at least) -- or install the drivers from nVidia. If you do decide to go that route, you want the IA32 drivers (release 4363), and the README is linked to off the 4363 download page. Most of the appendices don't need to be read, unless you hit a problem.

Unfortunately the installer is 6.5 megabytes, so it won't fit on a disk. But you should be able to save to your Windows drive, and at least have read access to it from Linux. You'd have to do something to the effect of mkdir /mnt/windows ; mount -t vfat /dev/hdXX /mnt/windows, then look at your Windows files in the /mnt/windows directory. Replace /dev/hdXX with the partition designation for your Win partition, probably /dev/hdX1 (that is, the first partition on some disk).

You will have to use -t ntfs instead if you're using XP and formatted your drive as NTFS (most preinstall places do that).
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-03, 11:31 PM   #6
sam
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 9
Default

thanks
I was able to right click on the file from nVidia website and save to the hard drive on my laptop using w2k. I then moved it accross the net work to my desktop where I am tying to fix the problem with Linux and the graphic driver. I am able to read the file under <boxname>:/mnt/windows# and the file is NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4363.run
now when I go
sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4363.run
I get cannot execute bin ary file. going to my /bin there is no execute file there. hummmm
sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-03, 12:26 PM   #7
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Can't execute binary file, huh? Any chance you can write down the whole message?
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-03, 04:09 PM   #8
sam
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 9
Default

<boxname>:/mnt/windows# sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4363.run
NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4363.run: NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4363.run: cannot execute binary file
<boxname>:/mnt/windows#
sam is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-25-03, 08:12 PM   #9
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Hmm... what do you get when you do md5sum NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4363.run?

I get this:

af579e1b507aad209baa0a776b60a98e NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4363.run

Make sure your MD5 sum matches that; if it doesn't, you got a corrupted download (or something similar).

Or, I think you can pass a --check option to the installer when you run it (I'm assuming the "can't execute" message isn't from the script, but rather from some binary it runs). You could also pass --extract-only, cd into the new directory, and try to run ./nvidia-installer from there.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-03, 03:27 AM   #10
sam
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 9
Default

when I run the command as you posted it the md5... .run I get a black scren for 2 seconds and the box boots. it did that right now and it says dve/... was not cleanly unmounted.
sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-03, 03:35 AM   #11
sam
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 9
Default

I reinstalled debian after changing some partitions

<boxname:/mnt/w2k# md5sum NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4363.run
NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4363.run: No such file on directory

<boxname:/mnt/w2k# ls
$Secure
NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4363.run
others ....


<boxname:/mnt/w2k# sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4363.run
NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4363.run: NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4363.run: No such file on directory

Last edited by sam; 05-27-03 at 01:08 AM.
sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-03, 07:33 AM   #12
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

What did you do?

You somehow managed to either rename the installer so that it's now called "md5sum NVIDIA-whatever", or you managed to create that file where it didn't exist before. Although I suppose it's remotely possible that the unclean shutdown and the filesystem corruption that that can cause might have done that.

Plus, running something as simple as md5sum won't cause a lockup. Unless, perhaps, your memory isn't quite OK? If anything is overclocked, put it back to normal. You might also want to run a memtest86 on it overnight (www.memtest86.com).
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with a GeForce4 MX 440 under Debian Iainuki NVIDIA Linux 1 09-24-02 09:27 PM
Riva TNT 2 - Debian (Woody) chipset problem sindra NVIDIA Linux 4 08-26-02 03:21 AM
no screens found + BusID ?? orion NVIDIA Linux 2 08-24-02 08:34 AM
nvidea drivers on 2.4.18 Debian (3.0 woody) thor NVIDIA Linux 2 08-20-02 02:51 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.