Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-18-08, 11:22 AM   #1
LurkerLito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,550
Default Need some help with Vista64

So the Cryostatis demo well f**ked my system. Here is what happened and it is probably partially my fault. I installed the demo it installed new physx drivers so far so good. It asks me to reboot but I was doing something so I told the installer I'll reboot later. I forgot about the reboot, so I ran the demo and a few other things I got from nvidia (physx demos, screensaver etc). Everything ran fine cause I had the older physx drivers installed. I try to run sacred2, and well it wouldn't saying I had to install physx drivers to play. I remember I needed to reboot so I do. Now everything is f**ked up. I can't uninstall anything I installed with the cryostatis demo. They all give me permission denied even though I am admin. I try to "takeown" and change the permissions on the files and directories and that just doesn't work on most of the files. So I reboot to safemode and run the uninstall for everything I did yesterday. And most uninstalled fine like cryostatis, but I can't uninstall physx cause it requires the MS installer and that doesn't work in safe mode. So in safe mode I try to change the ownership and access privileges so I can uninstall it when I reboot. When I get back to vista normal, I am still denied access and all the permissions are exactly as they were and it says "unable to display owner" as the owner of the files. After hours of searching google and trying out various solutions to that message nothing works. So I go back to safe mode and just delete all the physx related files and directories. Now the problem is when I run the physx installer it can't install it keeps giving me an error can't write file to syswow64. I check the directory and the file it is trying to write does not exist so I try to copy a file to that directory and I can so the directory permissions are fine. I try to copy a text file I renamed to the file the physx installer is trying to write and I am denied access. It's as if the file is still there. I tried running the installer in safe mode and that fails because you can't run the msinstaller service in safe mode

So now I am stuck. I don't really know what else to try. Anyone have any ideas how to fix this problem?
__________________

Main PC: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe ; Intel i7-3770k ; GSkill Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133 (2x8GB) ; Seasonic X Series X-1050 PSU ; Corsair H100 ; EVGA GTX-670 ; Mushkin 240GB SSD system drive
Old PC: ABIT IP35 Pro ; Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 ; Patriot 6GB (3x2GB) DDR2 800 RAM ; EVGA GTX480 SC ; Antec P190 Case ; EnzoTech Ultra120 CPU Cooler
LurkerLito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-08, 12:49 PM   #2
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Need some help with Vista64

Uhh... paragraphs? That's a lot of words crammed together, partner.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-08, 01:28 PM   #3
LurkerLito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: Need some help with Vista64

Heh yeah I just kept typing

OK well I fixed the problem by using a system restore point. How did I forget about that little utility?

But now I ran into another little problem, I can't update that critical IE7 update on windows update. It keeps saying update failed. Well I don't use IE7 at all but still I want the update cause you never know what programs just sometimes run it instead of the default browser. I just can't seem to get it to install.
__________________

Main PC: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe ; Intel i7-3770k ; GSkill Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133 (2x8GB) ; Seasonic X Series X-1050 PSU ; Corsair H100 ; EVGA GTX-670 ; Mushkin 240GB SSD system drive
Old PC: ABIT IP35 Pro ; Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 ; Patriot 6GB (3x2GB) DDR2 800 RAM ; EVGA GTX480 SC ; Antec P190 Case ; EnzoTech Ultra120 CPU Cooler
LurkerLito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-08, 01:54 PM   #4
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Need some help with Vista64

Quote:
Originally Posted by LurkerLito View Post
Heh yeah I just kept typing

OK well I fixed the problem by using a system restore point. How did I forget about that little utility?

But now I ran into another little problem, I can't update that critical IE7 update on windows update. It keeps saying update failed. Well I don't use IE7 at all but still I want the update cause you never know what programs just sometimes run it instead of the default browser. I just can't seem to get it to install.
I have the same issue with SP1... but I'm not too concerned about it cause I'll probably be doing a fresh install before too much longer anyway. Planning on doing some improvements to my rig such as a new case, two new optical drives, new cooling, etc.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-08, 02:15 PM   #5
LurkerLito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: Need some help with Vista64

It's kind of nuts...before I did the system restore I did install this update. After the restore it says the update needs to be installed but it keeps failing. Code 80070246
__________________

Main PC: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe ; Intel i7-3770k ; GSkill Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133 (2x8GB) ; Seasonic X Series X-1050 PSU ; Corsair H100 ; EVGA GTX-670 ; Mushkin 240GB SSD system drive
Old PC: ABIT IP35 Pro ; Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 ; Patriot 6GB (3x2GB) DDR2 800 RAM ; EVGA GTX480 SC ; Antec P190 Case ; EnzoTech Ultra120 CPU Cooler
LurkerLito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-08, 05:36 PM   #6
Dragunov
Mister Anderson ... !!!
 
Dragunov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: Need some help with Vista64

Windows update or manual installation?

Already in ur installed program list under Installed updates?
__________________
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 + Zalman 9700 LED
- MSI P6N (Nvidia 680i chipset), BIOS: P33
- 2GB DDR2 ram Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz
- MSI Geforce 8800GTS 640MB
- Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
- Seagate 320GB 7200/10
- WD Caviar 750GB
- Logitech MX-518
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit NL

3D mark 05: 13321

3D Mark 06: 8065
Dragunov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-08, 06:10 PM   #7
LurkerLito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: Need some help with Vista64

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragunov View Post
Windows update or manual installation?
Tried both windows update and manual both fail.

Quote:
Already in ur installed program list under Installed updates?
No it isn't there because I did a system restore from Tuesday.
__________________

Main PC: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe ; Intel i7-3770k ; GSkill Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133 (2x8GB) ; Seasonic X Series X-1050 PSU ; Corsair H100 ; EVGA GTX-670 ; Mushkin 240GB SSD system drive
Old PC: ABIT IP35 Pro ; Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 ; Patriot 6GB (3x2GB) DDR2 800 RAM ; EVGA GTX480 SC ; Antec P190 Case ; EnzoTech Ultra120 CPU Cooler
LurkerLito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-08, 06:32 PM   #8
Dragunov
Mister Anderson ... !!!
 
Dragunov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,785
Default Re: Need some help with Vista64

Did u check?
__________________
- Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 + Zalman 9700 LED
- MSI P6N (Nvidia 680i chipset), BIOS: P33
- 2GB DDR2 ram Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz
- MSI Geforce 8800GTS 640MB
- Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
- Seagate 320GB 7200/10
- WD Caviar 750GB
- Logitech MX-518
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit NL

3D mark 05: 13321

3D Mark 06: 8065
Dragunov is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-18-08, 08:18 PM   #9
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Need some help with Vista64

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed View Post
I have the same issue with SP1... but I'm not too concerned about it cause I'll probably be doing a fresh install before too much longer anyway. Planning on doing some improvements to my rig such as a new case, two new optical drives, new cooling, finally getting rid of that phenon etc.
fixed
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-08, 09:01 PM   #10
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Need some help with Vista64

Don't stir him nekro... ::
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-08, 09:25 PM   #11
LurkerLito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: Need some help with Vista64

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragunov View Post
Did u check?
I checked the version numbers of the files the update was suppose to update and they are the older ones.
__________________

Main PC: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe ; Intel i7-3770k ; GSkill Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133 (2x8GB) ; Seasonic X Series X-1050 PSU ; Corsair H100 ; EVGA GTX-670 ; Mushkin 240GB SSD system drive
Old PC: ABIT IP35 Pro ; Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 ; Patriot 6GB (3x2GB) DDR2 800 RAM ; EVGA GTX480 SC ; Antec P190 Case ; EnzoTech Ultra120 CPU Cooler
LurkerLito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-08, 03:15 PM   #12
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: Need some help with Vista64

Do not ever install any type of drivers of windows updates from game discs packed by ****ing idiots (publishers).
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.