Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Home Theater A/V

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-05-09, 09:56 PM   #1
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default How the heck is my 720P tv displaying 1920x1080? (desktop, games)

Do some TV's just not NATIVELY support 1080P?

I noticed a while back that I was able to set my desktop to 1920x1080. And when I did, wow, was it sharp... it seemed to look like more of a native resolution than the (advertised native) 1360x768 that I usually have my desktop and games set to.

I thought nothing of it. Then I was playing GOW for the first time in a while (trying to defeat General RAAM on hardcore... I finally did it!), and I was playing around with my video settings... and I thought what the heck, so I set the resolution to 1920x1080.

And wow. I was able to enjoy the end boss fight at a much higher than usual resolution!

What gives? This TV is just a 26" Sanyo that I bought at Wal-Mart for $500 last year! ... and FWIW I was able to enjoy the higher resolution by pulling up my chair a bit close to the entertainment center.

... and I did do a PrintScreen just to confirm the screen size.

Anyone else ever encounter this? I'm kinda wondering now what would happen if I set my desktop to 1920x1080, hooked up a BD drive and popped Transformers in.

__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-09, 10:06 PM   #2
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: How the heck is my 720P tv displaying 1920x1080? (desktop, games)

many TVs will accept signal higher then native, signal is automatically downscalled.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-09, 10:09 PM   #3
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: How the heck is my 720P tv displaying 1920x1080? (desktop, games)

This doesn't at all appear downscaled though. GOW looked fantastic.
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-09, 11:27 PM   #4
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: How the heck is my 720P tv displaying 1920x1080? (desktop, games)

if the tv native is 1360x768 then the 1080p signal has to be downscaled no question about it
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-09, 06:14 AM   #5
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: How the heck is my 720P tv displaying 1920x1080? (desktop, games)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragejg View Post
This doesn't at all appear downscaled though. GOW looked fantastic.
GoW? so you probably are talking about 360 here, unless you are playing it on HTPC.

anyway, GoW is rendered at 1280x720 then that signal before leaving your 360 is upscaled to 1920x1080, once it arrives in your TV, the internal scaller will downscale the 1920x1080 to your TV native resolution.

What you are seeing is an illusion
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-09, 09:17 AM   #6
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: How the heck is my 720P tv displaying 1920x1080? (desktop, games)

Put a blank white picture on your TV and start counting the pixels down the side of the screen.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-09, 10:13 PM   #7
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: How the heck is my 720P tv displaying 1920x1080? (desktop, games)

I think I will, I think I will. Although, Cap, I kinda already did that by checking the resolution of my printscreen result.

Could it be possible that a 1920x1080 signal downscaled by tv hardware to 720p could look better than just straight 720p?

What I can't believe is that the HD3850/x2 939 combo handled the resolution so easily.
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-09, 10:51 PM   #8
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: How the heck is my 720P tv displaying 1920x1080? (desktop, games)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragejg View Post
I think I will, I think I will. Although, Cap, I kinda already did that by checking the resolution of my printscreen result.

Could it be possible that a 1920x1080 signal downscaled by tv hardware to 720p could look better than just straight 720p?

What I can't believe is that the HD3850/x2 939 combo handled the resolution so easily.
but you are not getting straight 720p, since your TV native res 1360x768 (that is what you said)
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-06-09, 11:02 PM   #9
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: How the heck is my 720P tv displaying 1920x1080? (desktop, games)

your PC is putting the signal out, but your TV is downscaling it to its native res.

that's why the screenshot comes out at 1920x1080. the fact that it looks better is probably the placebo effect.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-09, 08:45 AM   #10
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: How the heck is my 720P tv displaying 1920x1080? (desktop, games)

When I switch desktop resolution to 1920x1080, 1440x9whatever and 1680x1050, these resolutions display much clearer and sharper than @ 1280x720 and 1360x768. The caveat is that I believe I'm only @ 30hz.

I have perfect vision and I'e looked very closely at this TV through all of this. There's no placebo affect, except possibly when I played GOW.

MAYBE the native resolution of the TV is not in fact 1360 or 1366x768? See, the packaging and advertisements all say 1366, but my ATI drivers only give me 1360.

I'll report on my scaling settings when I get home.
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-09, 09:09 AM   #11
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: How the heck is my 720P tv displaying 1920x1080? (desktop, games)

could you try and take pictures of the screen at the different resolutions for us?
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-09, 09:17 AM   #12
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: How the heck is my 720P tv displaying 1920x1080? (desktop, games)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragejg View Post
When I switch desktop resolution to 1920x1080, 1440x9whatever and 1680x1050, these resolutions display much clearer and sharper than @ 1280x720 and 1360x768. The caveat is that I believe I'm only @ 30hz.

I have perfect vision and I'e looked very closely at this TV through all of this. There's no placebo affect, except possibly when I played GOW.

MAYBE the native resolution of the TV is not in fact 1360 or 1366x768? See, the packaging and advertisements all say 1366, but my ATI drivers only give me 1360.

I'll report on my scaling settings when I get home.
Then it's not 1080p, but 1080i(which is the highest resolution a 1366x768 TV has support for, except for it's native resolution of course). The reason why it appears sharper is because the special processing modes of the TV aren't used when the TV is set to its native resolution(check the differences in the menu of your lcd when switching from 1360 to 1080i).

Take my TV as an example - if set to 1360x768 I get no dynamic back lighting, no 100Hz and no automatic color correction, yet these are all available when I set it to 1080i(text becomes blurry though).
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3DNA 3d desktop prydah General Software 2 08-01-02 10:59 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.