Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-29-08, 01:35 PM   #1
schomin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 23
Default problems with compiz and multiple cards

Ok so i have two 8800gt's (not in SLI) with a monitor connected to each. I have xinerama enable on the monitors so i can have a single desktop spanning across two GPU's and two displays. I can't seem to get compiz to work though i'm not sure if xinerama supports it but i've herd people have gotten compiz to work with xinerama.

I guess my question is what kind of options do i have and is there a better setup than what i have now? because i want the two gpu's and i want compiz.

Also i'm getting some smearing between monitors i'm guessing this is because of the seperate gpu's and xinerama.

I'm using 180.12 i think it is

heres my xorg.conf:

Code:
# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder58)  Sun Dec 14 20:59:16 PST 2008

# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder58)  Sun Dec 14 20:59:58 PST 2008

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    Screen      1  "Screen1" 1920 150
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/default/Type1"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "dbe"
    Load           "extmod"
    Load           "type1"
    Load           "freetype"
    Load           "glx"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option         "Xinerama" "1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from data in "/etc/sysconfig/keyboard"
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
    Option         "XkbLayout" "us"
    Option         "XkbModel" "pc105"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Samsung SyncMaster"
    HorizSync       27.0 - 81.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 75.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Samsung SyncMaster"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 81.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 8800 GT"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 8800 GT"
    BusID          "PCI:3:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "metamodes" "nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "AllowGLXWithComposite" "True"
    Option         "RenderAccel" "true"
    Option         "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
    Option         "DRI" "True"
    Option         "SLI" "off"
    Option         "MultiGPU" "off"
    Option         "TwinView" "1"
    Option         "metamodes" "nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    Option         "CursorShadow" "true"
    Option         "AddARGBVisuals" "True"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "metamodes" "nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    Identifier     "Screen1"
    Device         "Device1"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "AllowGLXWithComposite" "True"
    Option         "RenderAccel" "true"
    Option         "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "True"
    Option         "DRI" "True"
    Option         "SLI" "off"
    Option         "MultiGPU" "off"
    Option         "TwinView" "1"
    Option         "metamodes" "nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    Option         "CursorShadow" "true"
    Option         "AddARGBVisuals" "True"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
    Option         "RENDER" "true"
    Option         "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection
schomin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-08, 02:16 PM   #2
schomin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: problems with compiz and multiple cards

bump?
schomin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-08, 03:02 PM   #3
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: problems with compiz and multiple cards

Composite is not supported when Xinerama is in use, and its required for compiz to run.
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-08, 03:04 PM   #4
schomin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: problems with compiz and multiple cards

Yeah thats what i figured. Is compiz-fusion any different? or is there anyway to get twinview working, as i am not using SLI?
schomin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-08, 03:13 PM   #5
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: problems with compiz and multiple cards

No compiz = compiz-fusion without the plugins, besides any compositing manager requires the composite extension.

As for twinview with multiple card, dunno if this is possible.
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-08, 03:19 PM   #6
schomin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: problems with compiz and multiple cards

ok well thanks anyways.

I know that SLI is not able to use TWinview but it never said anything about seperate cards so i didn't know.
schomin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-08, 06:44 PM   #7
adamk75
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 228
Default Re: problems with compiz and multiple cards

twinview can not use separate video cards. The only option would be to use xinerama, and then running an Xgl session on top of that. Not an easy solution, and certainly not a supported one (as Xgl is deprecated) but it is possible.

Adam
adamk75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-08, 12:41 AM   #8
schomin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: problems with compiz and multiple cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamk75 View Post
twinview can not use separate video cards. The only option would be to use xinerama, and then running an Xgl session on top of that. Not an easy solution, and certainly not a supported one (as Xgl is deprecated) but it is possible.

Adam
ok well thanks for the help. is there anyway to run the cards in SLI with xinerama and if so would it be more efficient?
schomin is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-30-08, 03:47 AM   #9
adamk75
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 228
Default Re: problems with compiz and multiple cards

Sorry, I have no idea about SLI :-)

Adam
adamk75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-08, 10:40 AM   #10
schomin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: problems with compiz and multiple cards

Ok well thanks again. Do you know how i would go about setting up the xgl setup you mentioned earlier?
schomin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-08, 12:56 PM   #11
schomin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 23
Default Re: problems with compiz and multiple cards

other input would be greatly appreciated.
schomin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-08, 01:01 PM   #12
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: problems with compiz and multiple cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by schomin View Post
other input would be greatly appreciated.
simply connect the second monitor to the first card and use twinview?
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.