Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-09-09, 10:43 PM   #1
stygian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default framebuffer size

I'm on an emachines w3107 (onboard geforce 6100) and there is a BIOS option that lets me select 16-32-64-128mb framebuffer size. regardless of what setting I use, NVidia X server settings reports either 256mb (when i select 128) or 128mb (anything other setting). Is this accurate? Can it be configured to not steal my system RAM? When I set the framebuffer BIOS setting to 'disabled' the machine will not boot. What is the full story behind this?
stygian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-09, 03:38 PM   #2
fhj52
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 135
Default Re: framebuffer size

Quote:
Originally Posted by stygian View Post
I'm on an emachines w3107 (onboard geforce 6100) and there is a BIOS option that lets me select 16-32-64-128mb framebuffer size. regardless of what setting I use, NVidia X server settings reports either 256mb (when i select 128) or 128mb (anything other setting). Is this accurate? Can it be configured to not steal my system RAM? When I set the framebuffer BIOS setting to 'disabled' the machine will not boot. What is the full story behind this?
...might have better luck in the " NVIDIA Linux " (graphics) thread since question is all about nVidia graphics, even though it is embedded.

Generally speaking it does not "steal" system RAM. It is "allowed" to use it since without it the embedded chip does not have enough horsepower to run many(most?) applications. Because of the latter, most often the default is to use at least 128 MegaBytes. That is just the state of graphics software these days(most being RAM hungry). The system will do better using 256MB or more. The framebuffer is not a lot different in that respect but, IMO, 32 or 64MB will generally suffice.
Other than that ...emachines are weird about some things they do. If emachines mandates 128, not much can be done. You might want to ask them about it.
__________________
When two people meet and exchange gifts, each has one object.
When two people meet and exchange ideas, each has two ideas.
... Open Source. Just do it.

---------------------------------
System: BFG GTX260^2 graphics but has ** TERRIBLE BLINKING OS **
SuperMicro H8DCi+AMI BIOS;dual Opt'285;8GB;LSI 320-2x w/ 6xU320 Fuji' MAXs in RAID 10; 4xSATAII on LSI 3041E for backup. Multi-boot Mandriva Linux, openSUSE, WinXPx64 & Win2k-AS; Creative Audigy2-Digital audio.
Gigabyte GA-2CEWH & NVRAID are GONE ... Finally!!
fhj52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-09, 01:06 AM   #3
Dizzle7677
Registered User
 
Dizzle7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Relativity
Posts: 194
Default Re: framebuffer size

In my system a 64 meg framebuffer = 256 ram and goes up incrementally from there ... 128 fb = 512 ram,etc
__________________
Elephants can fly but they have no reason to.
------------------------------------------
Phenom II X3 720 @ 3.5Ghz | Asus M4A785-M | 2 Gig Crucial DDR2 @ 960 Mhz | GeForce GT 440 1024 MB | Linux 3.6.1 / Ubuntu 12.04 / W.I.N.E v1.5.14
Dizzle7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
bad cursor after X in framebuffer console wintersky NVIDIA Linux 11 11-07-03 12:59 PM
Fat32 hard drive size limit Kruno Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 8 10-08-02 08:22 PM
GF4 - can't get framebuffer working (tried rivafb and vesafb)! roger NVIDIA Linux 2 10-08-02 07:56 PM
Framebuffer console mascot NVIDIA Linux 1 09-14-02 10:18 AM
Can I use 3-D acceleration in the framebuffer coredumped NVIDIA Linux 3 08-24-02 02:20 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.