Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-06-09, 08:44 PM   #1
hougstar
Woot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to hougstar
Default Tv out configuration doesn't exist?

-Edited-

OK, so I had to force the card to detect the TV upon start, that seemed to fix the problem on my test TV.

HOWEVER

I switch over back to my own tv (Philips 27" flat screen) and use the same component connections, and have the distortion problem. Everything looks fine starting up (POST, Windows loading screen), but the second it gets to the login screen the picture is heavily distorted. I ran Ubuntu with the same connection and TV, and it runs fine; so that tells me it has to be some setting in Windows I need to adjust. I have reduced the resolution to 1024x768 @ 60 Hz (TV specification) but I still get no real picture.

Any advice?

Last edited by hougstar; 01-07-09 at 08:40 AM. Reason: Eliminated Nvidia card, TV factors
hougstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-09, 01:28 AM   #2
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Tv out configuration doesn't exist?

Not sure what driver you are using, but I would suggest getting the latest one if you don't have it. I used to have a problem on my sammy monitor with blurry textures. What fixed that was by creating a custom resolution.

Open up the Nvidia control panel. under Display, click on manage custom resolutions. On the right side you need to click create. For a component connection I would use 720p, or 1280 x 720. Click advanced, then change the timing standard from auto to "CVT reduced blank". This may or may not help. You could also try the Force HD resolutions, or create a custom resolution for 1366 x 768. It's a common resolution used for vga connections to a flat panel HDTV.

If that still doesn't work do you have any other methods to connect to the tv with? vga is basically the same as using component, both are analog RGB connections. If you have an HDMI port I would suggest trying a DVI to HDMI cable and connecting it that way.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FreeBSD 9 Release with Nvidia 550 Ti configuration issues goga NVIDIA FreeBSD 0 05-23-12 08:34 AM
302.07 (beta) for Linux x86/x86_64 released AaronP NVIDIA Linux 0 05-02-12 09:55 AM
Error msg: "GLcore" module does not exist!!! number9 NVIDIA Linux 2 09-15-02 07:45 AM
Monitors found but no configuration suitable bluephile NVIDIA Linux 4 08-31-02 06:53 AM
TWIN VIEW configuration prakash NVIDIA Linux 5 08-02-02 12:24 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.