Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

View Poll Results: Do you use Raid or not
I use a Raid config like, Raid 0, 0+1 etc 19 54.29%
I don't use Raid 15 42.86%
I Might try Raid, once I learn how switch on my Pc 1 2.86%
Voters: 35. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-11-09, 10:37 AM   #1
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Raid or Normal Setup Poll

I am wanting to find out how many here actually use Raid in their rigs and how many do not.

I am a fan of Raid as it is definite speed advantage over normal drive configurations.

So i have decided to have a vote on it to see some sort of ratio of who does and who does not.

Come on now get voting.
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-09, 06:46 AM   #2
Wolfhound
Moving to new home
 
Wolfhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,358
Send a message via MSN to Wolfhound Send a message via Yahoo to Wolfhound
Default Re: Raid or Normal Setup Poll

No raid here until I buy a new WD 500G disk to do an amazing 1Tb Raid0
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3,4 | 4Gigs (2x2) OCZ Reaper PC-8500 | Gigabyte P35-DS3R | Western Digital 500G Caviar SE16 SATA2 NCQ | Seagate160 Gig 7200.9 SATA NCQ | Maxtor 300Gig SATA NCQ | Asus Geforce 260GTX | Samsung Syncmaster 930BF 19'' | BeQuiet Straight Power 700W | Cooler Master CM690 |Windows Vista x64 SP2 |Windows XP SP3 [Deceased PSU, no money for new one, stucked with laptop and XBOX 360]

Macbook Pro 13': 4gigs | Core2 Duo 2,53Mhz | 250Gigs HDD |geforce 9400M| aluminium unibody | Mac OS X 10.6.2 Snow Leopard |gentoo Linux 2.631 kernel


Wolfhound´s Brute: http://wolfhound77.mybrute.com
Wolfhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-09, 07:02 AM   #3
SLippe
R.I.P. Babe Thread
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 12,387
Default Re: Raid or Normal Setup Poll

I have used Raid in the past and was cool, but having to back everything up to DVDs before a reformat sucked. I'd only suggest Raid if you have at least 3 HDDs, not just 2. I may do it, again, someday, but for now, it's just 2 separate HDDs for me.
SLippe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-09, 07:07 AM   #4
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: Raid or Normal Setup Poll

I used RAID0 for 6 years. It offers very little performance boost for real world workstation usage. I don't use it anymore as I found separating my drives gave a greater boost in performance and reliability.

C:- OS, pagefile
D:- storage, downloads
E:- game and large app (AutoCAD) installs
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-09, 07:22 AM   #5
EciDemon
Registered User
 
EciDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,423
Send a message via ICQ to EciDemon
Default Re: Raid or Normal Setup Poll

Got my two 500gb seagates in soft raid1.
Dunno know though if it was wise to do this. It's stable but i dont know if it helps performance or not.
EciDemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-09, 07:28 AM   #6
a12ctic
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 2,371
Default Re: Raid or Normal Setup Poll

Its not work it, don't bother.
__________________
AMD X2 5050 AMD Radeon HD 4830 AMD 780G 4GB OCZ DDR2 Antec 300 Fedora 11
a12ctic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-09, 07:50 AM   #7
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: Raid or Normal Setup Poll

Quote:
Originally Posted by a12ctic View Post
Its not work it, don't bother.
Funny coming from a "guy" not even running RAID.

I for one found the speed increase noticeable, so I'd say it's worth it as long as you have a third backup drive!

Here's MaximumPC's raid vs single drive benchmark scores:

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RAID0.jpg
Views:	231
Size:	41.8 KB
ID:	35000  
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-09, 07:55 AM   #8
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,066
Default Re: Raid or Normal Setup Poll

I had Raid 0 and loved it, the only reason I changed to a WD640 is because the 36GB Raptors were so damn noisy it was driving me nuts. If I get another 640 I will Raid 0 them for sure.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-12-09, 09:33 AM   #9
bobmitch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 28
Default Re: Raid or Normal Setup Poll

Two WD 300 GB VelociRaptors in RAID 0 here...
bobmitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-09, 11:36 AM   #10
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Raid or Normal Setup Poll

Raid is a "must" for any storage type of pc I run, but it can't be substituted as a backup plan either.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-09, 02:50 PM   #11
Trademark
Registered User
 
Trademark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Clitoriacetal
Posts: 596
Default Re: Raid or Normal Setup Poll

RAID0:
2x Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB

Good performance AFAIC. It's fast enough for me and plenty of storage. I have a Maxtor 80GB (which is 6 years old already lol) and a good old 7 year old 80GB IBM Deskstar and 400GB Barracuda in a non-raid config. The drives not part of the RAID0 array feel slower (not very odd though)

My old server uses RAID0 and RAID5 which also works pretty well, too bad the drives are complete **** these days:

RAID0:
2x Seagate Cheetah 9.1GB 10000RPM

RAID5 (mostly important files):
5 x Seagate Cheetah 9.1GB 10000RPM

RAID5 (webserver contents and MSDN images:
6x Seagate Cheetah 9.1GB 10000RPM

RAID5 works pretty well, when a drive fails you just pull it out and replace it with a new one. Then you pray until it's finished rebuilding the array :P

As expected RAID is not a replacement for backups
Trademark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-09, 03:08 PM   #12
lduguay
Un-Ripped
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal, Canaduh!
Posts: 1,968
Default Re: Raid or Normal Setup Poll

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trademark View Post
...
RAID5 works pretty well, when a drive fails you just pull it out and replace it with a new one. Then you pray until it's finished rebuilding the array :P
Depending on your hardware RAID controller, you may want to assign one drive as a hot spare. It will rebuild the RAID 5 array as soon as a failure is detected.
My guess is that those Cheetahs might be close to their MTBF.

EDIT: I would think about getting rid of that RAID 0 array very soon if i were you.
__________________

Evga X58|I7 965 3.8GHz|Ultra 120 Extreme|Evga GTX 480 SC|2 x Intel X25-M 80GB RAID 0|Intel 520 - 240 GB|WD Black Caviar 1TB|6GB Corsair XMS3 1600C8 |Corsair 1000W PSU|Antec Twelve-Hundred|DELL U3011|Logitech G500|Logitech G19
lduguay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Get a Radeon 9700 now or wait for the NV30? sancheuz Other Desktop Graphics Cards 88 02-19-03 04:40 PM
GeForce4 Ti 4400 problem with RAID motherboard hydr0 NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 10 10-26-02 01:06 AM
RAID question? MUYA CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 09-20-02 01:37 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.