Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-14-09, 01:46 PM   #13
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: What is a good PhysX card to use with my new G200?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LT.Schaffer View Post
I'm using this in my rig as PhysX

9600GSO
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130437
Eek... what happened to those things? 48 SPs? They're supposed to have 96, like this one...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130356

I don't recommend buying a card with 48 SPs for a physics processor. The 9600GT with 64 SPs would be better.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-09, 02:30 PM   #14
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: What is a good PhysX card to use with my new G200?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
I'm pretty sure that there aren't any real chipset requirements for Physx since it doesn't require SLI.

As long as you have an extra slot to put a card in it should work.
I ran dedicated PhysX with an 8800 GS in a P35 motherboard without a problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xorbe View Post
I read that with XP you can just plug it in and forget about it, but with Vista you'll need to plug in a monitor or something to utilize it just as PhysX. And that they are working on this issue.
The 18x.xx drivers resolved this issue, as PhysX is fully integrated into the NVIDIA control panel in those sets.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
680 GTX SLI + 560 Physx bench for those interested gerardfraser NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 06-20-12 05:34 AM
Passion Leads Army: DX 11 and GPU PhysX Benchmark News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 09:00 PM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:28 AM
NVIDIA could rule if they really wanted to Vid_craze NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 25 08-16-02 06:24 PM
Looking for a good TV tuner card retsam General Hardware 12 08-06-02 03:06 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.