Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-16-03, 04:50 PM   #1
wicka_wicka
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2
Default 4363's won't load GL...

I'm running Mandrake 9.0 and I just installed the 4363 drivers and no 3d games will open/the .log file says there's and error when it tries to load glx. I've got that in my X86config file (load "glx") and I can't get it to work. Any ideas?
__________________
MDK9 is pissing me off.
wicka_wicka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-03, 05:30 PM   #2
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

What's the error? It's a little hard to give ideas when we can't see the error message. Post (or rather, attach) the log file.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-03, 08:18 PM   #3
Rapsys|Phoenix
Registered User
 
Rapsys|Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: France, Villeurbanne
Posts: 61
Angry I have same problems under debian

PLZ : respond me by mail rapsys aT hotmail dOt com

the glx is not loaded
my log is not explicit I see only this line witch has a report with the glx


(EE) [GLX]: Failed to add GLX extension (NVIDIA XFree86 driver not found)


If their is any problems with my config say it me(by mail plz).

Rapsys|Phoenix on your service

My Config :
- GeForce 2 GTS
- drivers 1.0.4363 (compiled because I use a kernel 2.4.20 from sources of kernel.org
- debian Woody
- I have nothing in my /proc/driver/
folder(no files or other)while X is running)
- AMD Athlon-XP 2100+
- MSI KT333-ARU


Config of my video car in /proc/pci :

Bus 1, device 0, function 0:
VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV15 [GeForce2 GTS] (rev 164). IRQ 16.
Master Capable. Latency=32. Min Gnt=5.Max Lat=1.
Non-prefetchable 32 bit memory at 0xde000000 [0xdeffffff].
Prefetchable 32 bit memory at 0xd0000000 [0xd7ffffff].

My XF86Config-4 files(if problems in it say me ) :

### BEGIN DEBCONF SECTION
# XF86Config-4 (XFree86 server configuration file) generated by dexconf, the
# Debian X Configuration tool, using values from the debconf database.
#
# Edit this file with caution, and see the XF86Config-4 manual page.
# (Type "man XF86Config-4" at the shell prompt.)
#
# If you want your changes to this file preserved by dexconf, only make changes
# before the "### BEGIN DEBCONF SECTION" line above, and/or after the
# "### END DEBCONF SECTION" line below.
#
# To change things within the debconf section, run the command:
# dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xfree86
# as root. Also see "How do I add custom sections to a dexconf-generated
# XF86Config or XF86Config-4 file?" in /usr/share/doc/xfree86-common/FAQ.gz.

Section "Files"
FontPath "unix/:7100" # local font server
# if the local font server has problems, we can fall back on these
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/misc"
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo"
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi"
FontPath "/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "bitmap"
Load "dbe"
Load "ddc"
Load "extmod"
Load "freetype"
Load "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.so"
Load "int10"
# Load "pex5"
Load "record"
Load "speedo"
Load "type1"
Load "vbe"
Load "xie"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "CoreKeyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "fr"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "CorePointer"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

#Section "InputDevice"
# Identifier "Generic Mouse"
# Driver "mouse"
# Option "SendCoreEvents" "true"
# Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
# Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
# Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
# Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
#EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "GeForce2 GTS"
Driver "nv"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Generic Monitor"
VendorName "CTX"
ModelName "CTX 1569"
HorizSync 30.0-70.0
VertRefresh 50.0-130.0
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "GeForce2 GTS"
Monitor "Generic Monitor"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 1
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 4
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 15
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen "Default Screen"
InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
# InputDevice "Generic Mouse"
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Mode 0666
EndSection

### END DEBCONF SECTION
Attached Files
File Type: log xfree86.0.log (35.8 KB, 127 views)
__________________
**** off M$ and his ****ing software

Last edited by Rapsys|Phoenix; 05-16-03 at 08:32 PM.
Rapsys|Phoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-03, 10:16 AM   #4
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default Re: I have same problems under debian

Quote:
Originally posted by Rapsys|Phoenix
Driver "nv"
This is the problem. It needs to be changed to Driver "nvidia", as the README says.

And no, I won't email you with this -- you can read it here, and this way, so can others having the same problem in the future. Plus, I don't want to write this up twice.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-03, 10:27 AM   #5
Rapsys|Phoenix
Registered User
 
Rapsys|Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: France, Villeurbanne
Posts: 61
Default no probnlems for the reply by mail

I have configure to rceive the answer by mail.
But I have a trouble when I use nvidia

I need to do a modprobe vnidia or a insmod nvidia and after a few minuts my graphic server crash
and so my computer Ctrl+Alt+Fn don't work ans Alt+print screen+s do not work(syncronisation of disks)

How can I solve the problems???
__________________
**** off M$ and his ****ing software

Last edited by Rapsys|Phoenix; 05-25-03 at 08:01 PM.
Rapsys|Phoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-03, 12:38 PM   #6
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

When X "crashes", what happens? Is it an actual crash, where it's segfaulting or something? Is it exiting due to some error? Or does it just lock up?
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-03, 07:45 PM   #7
wicka_wicka
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2
Default

I have the same error as Rapsys. And I have the Driver "nvidia" line in as well. I've double checked and installed the drivers twice, still nothing works... And I'm adding that smilie in there for no reason.
__________________
MDK9 is pissing me off.
wicka_wicka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-03, 12:38 AM   #8
Rapsys|Phoenix
Registered User
 
Rapsys|Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: France, Villeurbanne
Posts: 61
Default

I have solve my problem I have switch to a Mandrake 9.1 and it works without the nvidia driver with the nv driver I think....
__________________
**** off M$ and his ****ing software
Rapsys|Phoenix is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-23-03, 02:26 AM   #9
Rapsys|Phoenix
Registered User
 
Rapsys|Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: France, Villeurbanne
Posts: 61
Default

it was too nice, my X crash same as usual two minutes after I post the precedent message.
and I am not under debian woody but under mandrake 9.1

my glx extention is well loaded but it crash.
__________________
**** off M$ and his ****ing software
Rapsys|Phoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-03, 06:18 PM   #10
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bwkaz
When X "crashes", what happens? Is it an actual crash, where it's segfaulting or something? Is it exiting due to some error? Or does it just lock up?
???
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-03, 07:57 PM   #11
Rapsys|Phoenix
Registered User
 
Rapsys|Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: France, Villeurbanne
Posts: 61
Default

no error could be at origine of the crash
it is very simple that freeze I keep the X open and my system work but is it as if the graphic card send the same picture on the screen

but the stream as xawtv continue

but the Ctrl+Alt+Del don't work.

sorry but I did not see any important information in my log ( say me if I could find some important information in other log than XFree86*.log)

I can't test it always because, I lose data evrytime the X crash with the nvidia drivers ( and i can't reinstall packages after all crash!!!

if you have solution to have the dump or something whitch cn help you I can crash one or two time my linux but no more( I did have the surprise that my mount package was corrupted imagine you when you can't mount your cdrom for reinstall the package!!!)

Rapsys|Phoenix whitch is degusted to be in the impossibility to use the openGL of his geForce GTS
__________________
**** off M$ and his ****ing software
Rapsys|Phoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-03, 09:15 PM   #12
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Your mouse freezes too, then?

I'm not sure what it could be, no. Sorry...

xawtv is using overlay on the video card, I think (though that probably depends on the card), so it makes some sense that it keeps running. If the drivers are all that are frozen, that is.

If you have another reason to try to lock it up (in other words: don't lose data just to try this), you can see if ctrl-alt-f1 does anything. Or alt-sysrq-u, then alt-sysrq-s, then alt-sysrq-b (the last one should immediately reboot; the first two unmount your drives and sync them up so you don't lose data). Leave some time in between each of these -- unmounting and sync'ing might take a bit.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
173.14.34 -- Xorg 1.12.1 & 1.11.4, glx module fails to load mereset NVIDIA Linux 17 06-10-12 02:24 AM
Load Testing with the Cloud ' This Week on inside* Publications News Archived News Items 0 05-20-12 06:30 PM
Lucid rt kernel can't load latest nvidia driver module, but generic does. marcod NVIDIA Linux 0 05-02-12 07:23 AM
Can't load NVdriver jojotux123 NVIDIA Linux 4 09-18-02 07:15 AM
Cannot load nvaudio driver (NVidia nforce) thahn01 NVIDIA Linux 4 09-13-02 02:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.