Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-14-09, 04:40 PM   #1
Albo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 3,633
Default Why do people say that Crysis is impossible to run?

I have a Shatty CPU, and everything else is bad, the only thing that's decent is my Video Card. The 9600 GSO. (Read sig for a little more info) (also this is overclocked 24/7)

Anyways, I got the game and I played it with "optimal settings" at medium, and got 30FPS And was thinking I could go a lot higher. So I tried High and got around 20-30FPS. I didn't try Very High yet because IMO High looks stunning. Ill just keep it that.

Any thought?
Albo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-09, 04:45 PM   #2
a12ctic
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 2,371
Default Re: Why do people say that Crysis is impossible to run?

It was impossible to run when it came out, but this is two generations of video cards later.
__________________
AMD X2 5050 AMD Radeon HD 4830 AMD 780G 4GB OCZ DDR2 Antec 300 Fedora 11
a12ctic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-09, 06:51 PM   #3
I♥GFX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 25
Default Re: Why do people say that Crysis is impossible to run?

You do not get 30FPS on that setup in your sig.

You dip to crazy low minimums on that.

Otherwise, prove it with a youtube video.
I♥GFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-09, 07:04 PM   #4
Albo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 3,633
Default Re: Why do people say that Crysis is impossible to run?

No i don't

also, I've made videos before and when I use fraps My FPS drop down another 10-15 FPS so then I get around 10FPS which is stupid
Albo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-09, 07:06 PM   #5
Albo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 3,633
Default Re: Why do people say that Crysis is impossible to run?

do you want screenshots, but then again those arent very reliable

Also, like I said I have overclocked 24/7
So now my CPU is at 2.2GHz
Albo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-09, 08:13 PM   #6
I♥GFX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 25
Default Re: Why do people say that Crysis is impossible to run?

Forgot to ask, what res you running it at?

If it's lower than 1920x1200, than ignore what I said before, below it doesn't really matter.
I♥GFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-09, 08:16 PM   #7
ATi
RooR
 
ATi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: Why do people say that Crysis is impossible to run?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albokid2468 View Post
No i don't

also, I've made videos before and when I use fraps My FPS drop down another 10-15 FPS so then I get around 10FPS which is stupid
What??? making a FRAPS video don't make my fps drop
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K @4.3
ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0)
msi GTX295
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 2 x 4GB 1648
HD1.5tb
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
corsair620HX
Windows7 64 home premium
Dell LED G2210
ATi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-09, 08:23 PM   #8
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Why do people say that Crysis is impossible to run?

Crysis isn't that good so who cares.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-14-09, 08:24 PM   #9
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Why do people say that Crysis is impossible to run?

Maybe fraps is taxing his system too much...

  Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-09, 10:37 AM   #10
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Why do people say that Crysis is impossible to run?

Nah... FRAPs does the same for me... it typically cuts framerate in half. I've never owned a rig that didn't suffer from this. And everybody I've talked to has the same problem when recording a video with FRAPs.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-09, 02:48 PM   #11
B0ne
Booyah
 
B0ne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: England
Posts: 248
Default Re: Why do people say that Crysis is impossible to run?

Yup, FRAPS cuts alotta frames off, except if you have a high end CPU with 4 cores, then FRAPS can be offloaded to another core, and since Crysis uses quad core anyway (correct me if I'm wrong there) it'll definatly cut his frames.

And Crysis is awesome, btw.
B0ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-09, 04:04 PM   #12
Albo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 3,633
Default Re: Why do people say that Crysis is impossible to run?

Quote:
Originally Posted by I♥GFX View Post
Forgot to ask, what res you running it at?

If it's lower than 1920x1200, than ignore what I said before, below it doesn't really matter.
oh yea, my monitor run at 1280x1024
Albo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis 3 preview News Gaming Headlines 0 06-16-12 07:20 AM
Crysis 3 E3 trailer features Psycho, Prophet, slow-mo nano bow News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 07:00 AM
Now Available - Crysis 2 Maximum Edition News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:30 PM
Getting the proprietary nvidia driver to run with Debian 3.0 r0 (woody) Katchina404 NVIDIA Linux 9 01-12-03 08:49 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.