Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-19-09, 10:40 AM   #1
Katagia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
Default Screen Size wrong

Hi

I have connected 1920x1080p lcd via HDMI to my 9400GT. Unfortunatly screen size doesn't fit. It is oversized. In windows drivers there is a slider to adjust the visible screen size.
I haven't found anything in linux. I tried to play a little bit with modelines but as soon as I try to use "special" modelines they are not recognized.
How can I make the screen fit? It's not very comfortable to use KDE without vissible menubar.

Here is my xorg.conf. Everyhting else can be found at: http://rafb.net/p/zh6M5824.html

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout[all]"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard[0]" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse[1]" "CorePointer"
Option "Clone" "off"
Option "Xinerama" "off"
EndSection

Section "Files"
InputDevices "/dev/gpmdata"
InputDevices "/dev/input/mice"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/local"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/URW"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Speedo"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/PEX"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/cyrillic"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin2/misc:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin2/75dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin2/100dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin2/Type1"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin7/75dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/baekmuk:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/japanese:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/kwintv"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/truetype"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/uni:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/CID"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ucs/misc:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ucs/75dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ucs/100dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/hellas/misc:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/hellas/75dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/hellas/100dpi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/hellas/Type1"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc/sgi:unscaled"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/xtest"
FontPath "/opt/kde3/share/fonts"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dri"
Load "dbe"
Load "freetype"
Load "extmod"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "AllowMouseOpenFail" "on"
Option "ZapWarning" "on"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard[0]"
Driver "kbd"
Option "Protocol" "Standard"
Option "XkbLayout" "de"
Option "XkbModel" "microsoftpro"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse[1]"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Buttons" "9"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Name" "ImExPS/2 Generic Explorer Mouse"
Option "Protocol" "explorerps/2"
Option "Vendor" "Sysp"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection


Section "Monitor"

# HorizSync source: xconfig, VertRefresh source: xconfig
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "BEKO-VJAZ1"
HorizSync 28.1 - 80.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 76.0
Option "DPMS"
Option "UseEDIDFreqs" "False"
Option "NoLogo" "true"
Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"

Modeline "1920x1080@50" 143.55 1920 1952 2496 2528 1080 1090 1112 1135 +vsync
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 9400 GT"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1920x1080@50" "1024x768"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "on"
EndSection
Katagia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-09, 12:20 PM   #2
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Screen Size wrong

Your LCD probably is a TV, not a computer screen. It is a property of the TV to overscan the picture and crop a border off it. You need to fix this in the TV.
(the Linux driver has no workaround similar to the Windows driver)
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-09, 01:05 PM   #3
kconger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Screen Size wrong

Mine had a similar problem until I plugged it into HDMI1 on my Samsung. When I have it in port 1 its perfect, in the other two hdmi ports I can't see my Gnome menu bars.
kconger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-09, 05:04 PM   #4
Katagia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: Screen Size wrong

Unfortunatly there is no way to adjust any sizes on the lcd tv.

When the lcd tv cuts of the picture why should it do this? Wouldn't that mean
it doesn't have nativ 1920x1080 resolution as written in the manual?

Is there any trick to use modelines with special resolutions like 1800x1000?
I calculated the modline and set in xorg.conf but log shows the driver was unable
to set the resolution.
Katagia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-09, 03:28 AM   #5
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Screen Size wrong

Quote:
Originally Posted by Katagia View Post
When the lcd tv cuts of the picture why should it do this? Wouldn't that mean
it doesn't have nativ 1920x1080 resolution as written in the manual?
The TV does this because the HDTV standards tell it do do so.
Most TVs don't offer a pixel-for-pixel 1920x1080 display. That is often not very clear from the manual.
What the TV does is cropping 16 pixels all around, and then re-scaling the remaining picture area to the full 1920x1080 resolution of the panel. This is bad two times: you lose a border off the screen, and you lose the 1:1 pixel mapping from input to display that is required for sharp display of small details (fonts!).
Sometimes you can turn off the overscan in some setup menu, so you can use the TV as a computer display.

The Linux driver does not offer the workaround you see in Windows.
NVIDIA know about this, it has been marked as a possible area of improvement in the Linux driver. But it has not shown up yet.
But remember, this solves only 1 of the problems: the cropping of the border. The second problem, the re-scaling of the remaining area to the panel resolution, is still there.
So to really solve it you need a TV that can turn off the overscan.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-09, 10:50 AM   #6
Katagia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: Screen Size wrong

Thank you. I haven't found this exact information anywhere.

I know overscan problems from pal or ntsc. I didn't know this is still part of hdtv
standards because there is no reason for that with digital signals.

Wouldn't the border cropping also effect hd devices, like bd-player?
Katagia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-09, 12:18 PM   #7
pe1chl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Screen Size wrong

Yes it sure is silly that it is still used with flat panel displays.
However, HDTV has been defined for CRT televisions as well and that is why provisioning for overscan has been put into the standard.
It surely would affect anything connected to such a TV. For best quality, there should be an option in the TV to disable the overscan.
pe1chl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-09, 05:53 AM   #8
mavmaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: Screen Size wrong

Hi, I had the same problem. On my Sony, I changed settings - screen - display area to full pixel. All is ok now.
mavmaz is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RHEL 5.6 .nvidia-settings-rc settings un-applied on screen lock bluziff NVIDIA Linux 1 06-14-12 05:12 AM
Black screen after switching between graphical virtual consoles five times rrr-wtf NVIDIA Linux 1 05-21-12 04:40 PM
Stubborn screen res problem Alpsoandso NVIDIA Linux 6 05-03-12 06:00 PM
Toshiba Sat 1950 screen setup beaulieu NVIDIA Linux 7 06-13-03 03:17 PM
Redhat 8.0 NVIDIA works - INSTRUCTIONS STEEL1 NVIDIA Linux 267 04-15-03 06:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.