Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-30-03, 10:29 AM   #1
georgethetee
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: uk
Posts: 9
Default Can I transfer XP pro from machine to machine?

SOmeone was telling me something about this which, frankly, I could not believe. Anyway, thing is, I should be getting a Compaq Evo 1015 AMD2000 laptop, and as I only have 98SE on my desktop, I want to transfer it from laptop to desktop, which sounds reasonable enough to me, but of course I know that poor hard-up guy in Seattle has gotta make a living so he might have some inexplicable and morally-indefensible objection. I dont know


Any help preciated

Also, do I need the SP1 patch for XP Pro?
__________________
Whilst I may not, perhaps, be disgruntled, I am certainly a far cry from being actually gruntled
georgethetee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-03, 10:32 AM   #2
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

you can use syamntec ghost to make an image of your desktop onto CD, and then use that image on that laptop's cdrom drive. From there XP should theoretically detect all the different devices on the Laptop.

Is this a recommended idea, no. You are better off installing WinXP fresh on the laptop and install and applications and data you need one at a time.
__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-03, 07:35 PM   #3
aliali
Registered User
 
aliali's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tasmania Australia
Posts: 11
Default

If you use xp on the net then yes install the Sp1 and Sp2 as they fix some serious security problems. Also install the latest Internet explorer and outlook patches as they fix the security holes too. have a look at MS's knowledge base for what the Sp's fix.
aliali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-03, 08:12 PM   #4
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You can't legally install winXP onto another computer. And I'll leave it at that.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Choosing The Right GPU To Take Adobe Workflows To The Max News Archived News Items 0 05-29-12 05:40 PM
Z77 SABERTOOTH or P8Z77-V PRO Glitch85 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 3 05-11-12 11:35 AM
unable to boot machine with tesla card wcochran NVIDIA Linux 3 05-03-12 07:26 PM
Favorite OS of all-time. PCarr78 Microsoft Windows XP And Vista 86 02-19-08 11:51 AM
FalconNW and Voodoo under ATI 9700 spell!!! mizzer Other Desktop Graphics Cards 12 09-20-02 07:53 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.