Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-09, 07:57 AM   #1
Airbrushkid
 
Airbrushkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,420
Default Has anyone tried a Tri-Sli with 3 GTX 295's?

Just wondering if someone did the tri-sli with 3 gtx 295's that be wild as hell. Just think 6 gpu's!
__________________
Intel Q9550 l eVGA NForce 780i SLI FTW l 2 Palit GTX 560 Ti 2 GB SLI l Corsair Dominator 8 gig PC2-8500 l 2 - Intel X-25M 80 gb SSD Raid 0 l WD 1 -2TB & 2 -1TB l On board sound l Antec TruePower Quattro TPQ-1200 1200W l Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit l 3 X Dell E248WFP 24" Monitors
Airbrushkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-09, 10:44 AM   #2
pakotlar
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Has anyone tried a Tri-Sli with 3 GTX 295's?

i dont doubt that its possublee to do from an engineering standfpoint (with current hardware), but youd be looking at up to a 6 frame delay and(well actually more is possible) and the software isn't there. CPU overhead would grow somewhat too, so for many games you'd notice a sizeable decrease (when load blanching wouldn't bring enough gains.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-09, 01:13 PM   #3
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Has anyone tried a Tri-Sli with 3 GTX 295's?

Who cares about the delay. Imagine the folding horsepower
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-09, 01:49 PM   #4
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Has anyone tried a Tri-Sli with 3 GTX 295's?

Um it wouldn't be Tri-SLi with 3 295GTX since each is already SLi... that would be Six-SLi which I don't think is supported... only Quad SLi (Two 295 GTX).
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-09, 01:49 PM   #5
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Has anyone tried a Tri-Sli with 3 GTX 295's?

You cant Tri SLi 295s...it would be one bad a$$ rig if you could.
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-09, 03:47 PM   #6
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Has anyone tried a Tri-Sli with 3 GTX 295's?

You can only connect one SLI bridge to the GTX 295 so quad SLI is the maximum.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-09, 05:16 PM   #7
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Has anyone tried a Tri-Sli with 3 GTX 295's?

6-way SLI is not supported in the drivers, however, you could use it for folding.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-09, 08:08 PM   #8
Airbrushkid
 
Airbrushkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,420
Default Re: Has anyone tried a Tri-Sli with 3 GTX 295's?

Thank you for the replies guys. It would be sick if you could do 6 way sli.
__________________
Intel Q9550 l eVGA NForce 780i SLI FTW l 2 Palit GTX 560 Ti 2 GB SLI l Corsair Dominator 8 gig PC2-8500 l 2 - Intel X-25M 80 gb SSD Raid 0 l WD 1 -2TB & 2 -1TB l On board sound l Antec TruePower Quattro TPQ-1200 1200W l Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit l 3 X Dell E248WFP 24" Monitors
Airbrushkid is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-07-09, 03:48 AM   #9
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: Has anyone tried a Tri-Sli with 3 GTX 295's?

Working for Cyberpower System we have experimented with it, 3 way SLI will not work and folding on a 3 way SLI board will also mean much much lower performance. We found on a X48 board or a Crossfire board Folding performance is almost doubled. one of the cards dual GPU's will refuse to work correctly on SLI motherboards. Just a word of advice, as we build high end gaming systems and folding systems for medial research and data centres.
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-09, 05:32 AM   #10
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Has anyone tried a Tri-Sli with 3 GTX 295's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonPC View Post
You can only connect one SLI bridge to the GTX 295 so quad SLI is the maximum.
You don't need to use the bridge for SLI. It will result in lower performance though.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-09, 06:27 AM   #11
Gort
Three Days Down
 
Gort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 43
Default Re: Has anyone tried a Tri-Sli with 3 GTX 295's?

Um, that would be six-way, not three-way.
__________________
Home Desktop:
Q6600@3.2 Ghz Windows 7 64-bit
8GB Corsair DDR2 PC800
GTX295 :/: 2405FPW:/:FW 197
OCZ Vertex 120GB Boot Drive
Work Laptop:
Dell XPS M1710 Core 2 Duo T7200/Vista Enterprise
4GB DDR2
7950GTX Go/FW 179.48

'Tude:
Gort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-09, 09:48 AM   #12
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Has anyone tried a Tri-Sli with 3 GTX 295's?

I would imagine that if nvidia supports 3 295's it would still be a bottleneck in an overclocked i7 platform. A few reviews with dual 295's and 3X285 tests confirm that they are still the bottleneck (rather than cpu limitations) when it comes to high resolution max AA/AF Crysis testing.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.