Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-20-09, 05:42 PM   #1
Top Story
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to Top Story
Default Getting SLI to run properly

I'm having trouble getting my comp to recognize my second grapchics card and I think I've followed the directions from my manual for my motherboard. My specs are: 680i SLI NVidia MoBo, 4 gigs of ram, 2 9800 gt's, core 2 quad 6600, Windows XP, 800w power supply. I went to SLI Zone from the NVidia website and they only offer new drivers for triple and quad SLI on Vista only. I dont know what else to do and I dont want to have to get rid of the card, so please help!
Top Story is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-09, 05:49 PM   #2
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Getting SLI to run properly

Hey bud . Does it show two display adapters in your 'Device Manager'?
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-09, 05:56 PM   #3
Top Story
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to Top Story
Default Re: Getting SLI to run properly

Nah, only one, but i even called geek squad and they said that it sometimes shows up as just one display adapter.
Top Story is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-09, 05:59 PM   #4
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: Getting SLI to run properly

Geek Squad lied to you. Are both cards of same clock speed and brand? It should not matter but just asking? You sure both cards are same models?

Go and download Nvidia drivers here:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp_181.20_whql.html

assuming you have 32bit Windows XP.

Install drivers and you should be ok.
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-09, 06:05 PM   #5
Top Story
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to Top Story
Default Re: Getting SLI to run properly

both cards are same exact brand and model - 9800 gt superclocked edition - and i havent tweaked them yet just in case they had to be the same to run together. I do have windows 32bit and geek squad hasnt helped me once it seems, Ive called them numerous times and they havent been able to help once. A little off subject, but my hard drive died and I dont know how to get my files off of it without going to best buy and paying them $160 to do it, any help on that? Im downloading the driver now, I'll let you know what happens.
Top Story is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-09, 06:08 PM   #6
Top Story
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to Top Story
Default Re: Getting SLI to run properly

I've already installed this update and it didnt help at all. Now i know that they both work because i have interchanged them and they both display over the monitor.
Top Story is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-09, 06:58 PM   #7
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Getting SLI to run properly

Have you tried just putting one card in at a time, and in different slots?

Also, when running in SLI, neither card should be in the middle PCI-Ex slot, you know that right? Just making sure

Out of interest, what motherboard is it?
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-09, 07:04 PM   #8
Top Story
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to Top Story
Default Re: Getting SLI to run properly

I have not tried putting them in one at a time, and i put them in the outter most pci-e slots, the connector is too long to put the cards right next to each other. The motherboard is 680i SLI.
Top Story is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-20-09, 07:25 PM   #9
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Getting SLI to run properly

right click on your desktop and select "Nvidia Control Panel" and check through the settings in the control panel. Make sure you have selected "Enable SLI"???

Do you have the proper chip set drivers for your motherboard installed?
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-09, 07:36 PM   #10
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Getting SLI to run properly

I would say you need to make sure your power supply can properly handle both. Also check all power connectors.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-09, 07:39 PM   #11
Top Story
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to Top Story
Default Re: Getting SLI to run properly

i have ntune installed so i know how to get to the control panel, but it doesnt give me the option to enable sli. in the 3d settings it says - adjust manage settings with preview, manage 3d settings, set PhysX configuration. I know it should say it there because my manual says so, but it just doesnt. I went to nVidia's site and got the latest drivers for my MoBo, I dont know why it just wont recognize them together.
Top Story is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-09, 07:40 PM   #12
Top Story
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to Top Story
Default Re: Getting SLI to run properly

shouldnt 800w be able to handle everything?
Top Story is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
680 GTX SLI + 560 Physx bench for those interested gerardfraser NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 06-20-12 04:34 AM
Can you run two different GTX-670' in SLI john19055 NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 06-13-12 12:04 PM
Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL drivers DSC NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 5 05-29-12 10:12 PM
Getting the proprietary nvidia driver to run with Debian 3.0 r0 (woody) Katchina404 NVIDIA Linux 9 01-12-03 08:49 AM
On The 333 Boards Does Anyone Run At 166fsb john19055 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 22 07-30-02 07:39 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.