Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-20-09, 11:53 PM   #1
mforget
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Default VDPAU Overlay Not working on TV-0

hi,
i am experiencing the following problem .

1) my computer , connected using dvi-to-hdmi to a sony tv: mplayer vdpau 100% working

2) same computer,connected using the COMPONENT (or svideo) dongle: vdpau works, but only supports "blitting" (no overlay) which means that there is big tearing.

(i am not using 2 monitor at the same time... only tv connected and reboot done)


is there a known solution?

note1: i know i am not using mpeg accelerations, and only -vo vdpau (with or without -vc doesnt change anythign)

note2: Option "UseDisplayDevice" "TV" (or TV-0) seems to be the suggested solution, but it doesn't seem to work for me...

note3:
notice the :
VDPAU nvidia: Error detected 1002 35 15
VDPAU nvidia: Error detected 2 183
below, which i guess is when the overlay has an issue, so we fall-back to blitting which is unwatchable because of vsync/tearing.


-thanks


my configuration
----------------------------------
ubuntu intrepid.
nvidia 180.22
mplayer-vdpau



/etc/X11/xorg.conf
(there is a lot of stuff because i really tried to disable anything that could get in the way of the overlay surface)
-----------------------------------
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "Unknown"
HorizSync 28.0 - 33.0
VertRefresh 43.0 - 72.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 8400 GS"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "TV"
Option "ModeValidation" "AllowNon60HzDFPModes, NoMaxPClkCheck, NoEdidMaxPClkCheck, AllowInterlacedModes, NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck"
Option "UseDisplayDevice" "TV"
Option "IgnoreEDID" "true"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "NoLogo" "True"
#Option "Overlay" "True"
#Option "OverlayDefaultVisual" "True"
Option "NoPowerConnectorCheck" "True"
Option "RandRRotation" "False"
Option "TwinView" "False"
Option "NoTwinViewXineramaInfo" "True"
Option "DynamicTwinView" "False"
Option "metamodes" "1280x720 +0+0"
Option "ModeDebug" "True"
Option "TVStandard" "HD720p"
Option "TVOverScan" "1.00000"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Disable"
EndSection

mplayer logs
------------------------------

root@divaos:~/nvidia-settings-1.0# mplayer /import/divahdmedia/VIDEO/R/ROBYN_WITH\ EVERY\ HEARTBEAT.MP4 -vo vdpau -geometry 800x400+1+1 -noborder
MPlayer dev-SVN-r28045-4.3.2 (C) 2000-2008 MPlayer Team
CPU: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU E1200 @ 1.60GHz (Family: 6, Model: 15, Stepping: 13)
CPUflags: MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 0 3DNow2: 0 SSE: 1 SSE2: 1
Compiled with runtime CPU detection.
Can't open joystick device /dev/input/js0: No such file or directory
Can't init input joystick
mplayer: could not connect to socket
mplayer: No such file or directory
Failed to open LIRC support. You will not be able to use your remote control.

Playing /import/divahdmedia/VIDEO/R/ROBYN_WITH EVERY HEARTBEAT.MP4.
libavformat file format detected.
[lavf] Video stream found, -vid 0
[lavf] Audio stream found, -aid 1
VIDEO: [mp4v] 720x480 24bpp 29.970 fps 0.0 kbps ( 0.0 kbyte/s)
================================================== ========================
Opening video decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg's libavcodec codec family
Selected video codec: [ffodivx] vfm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg MPEG-4)
================================================== ========================
================================================== ========================
Opening audio decoder: [mp3lib] MPEG layer-2, layer-3
AUDIO: 44100 Hz, 2 ch, s16le, 256.0 kbit/18.14% (ratio: 32000->176400)
Selected audio codec: [mp3] afm: mp3lib (mp3lib MPEG layer-2, layer-3)
================================================== ========================
AO: [oss] 44100Hz 2ch s16le (2 bytes per sample)
Starting playback...


MPlayer interrupted by signal 2 in module: play_audio
VDec: vo config request - 720 x 480 (preferred colorspace: Planar YV12)
VDec: using Planar YV12 as output csp (no 0)
Movie-Aspect is 1.50:1 - prescaling to correct movie aspect.
VO: [vdpau] 720x480 => 720x480 Planar YV12
VDPAU capture: Enabled
vdp_imp_device_create_x11(0x9dd28f8, 0, -, -)
-> 0, 1, 0xb53100d0
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 5, -)
-> 0, 0xb52ff220
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 9, -)
-> 0, 0xb5301c60
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 10, -)
-> 0, 0xb52ff150
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 13, -)
-> 0, 0xb5306bb0
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 12, -)
-> 0, 0xb53065d0
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 24, -)
-> 0, 0xb53071c0
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 22, -)
-> 0, 0xb5305570
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 18, -)
-> 0, 0xb53013c0
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 19, -)
-> 0, 0xb52ff080
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 46, -)
-> 0, 0xb5303f90
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 47, -)
-> 0, 0xb5305390
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 53, -)
-> 0, 0xb52fee10
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 54, -)
-> 0, 0xb53058d0
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 55, -)
-> 0, 0xb52fed40
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 56, -)
-> 0, 0xb53002b0
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 57, -)
-> 0, 0xb52fec70
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 63, -)
-> 0, 0xb52feb60
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 64, -)
-> 0, 0xb5300020
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 4096, -)
-> 0, 0xb52ffd60
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 37, -)
-> 0, 0xb5300950
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 38, -)
-> 0, 0xb52feee0
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 40, -)
-> 0, 0xb5302760
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 65, -)
-> 0, 0xb52ffea0
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 33, -)
-> 0, 0xb5306240
vdp_get_proc_address(1, 23, -)
-> 0, 0xb5307620
vdp_presentation_queue_target_create_x11(1, 6291457, -)
-> 0, 2
vdp_presentation_queue_create(1, 2, -)
VDPAU nvidia: Error detected 1002 35 15
VDPAU nvidia: Backtrace:
01: /usr/lib/libvdpau_nvidia.so [0xb530dd0e]
02: /usr/lib/libvdpau_nvidia.so [0xb530ebf9]
03: /usr/lib/libvdpau_nvidia.so [0xb53240d1]
04: /usr/lib/libvdpau_nvidia.so [0xb531c189]
05: /usr/lib/libvdpau_nvidia.so [0xb531b91b]
06: /usr/lib/libvdpau_nvidia.so [0xb5313b10]
07: /usr/lib/libvdpau_trace.so [0xb5300371]
08: mplayer [0x80d8e64]
VDPAU nvidia: Error detected 2 183
VDPAU nvidia: Backtrace:
01: /usr/lib/libvdpau_nvidia.so [0xb530dd0e]
02: /usr/lib/libvdpau_nvidia.so [0xb530ddd9]
03: /usr/lib/libvdpau_nvidia.so [0xb531c1c9]
04: /usr/lib/libvdpau_nvidia.so [0xb531b91b]
05: /usr/lib/libvdpau_nvidia.so [0xb5313b10]
06: /usr/lib/libvdpau_trace.so [0xb5300371]
07: mplayer [0x80d8e64]
-> 0, 3
vdp_video_surface_create(1, 0, 720, 480, -)
-> 0, 4
vdp_video_mixer_create(1, 0, NULL, 3, {0, 1, 2}, {720, 480, 0}, -)
-> 0, 5
vdp_output_surface_create(1, 0, 1280, 800, -)
-> 0, 6
vdp_output_surface_create(1, 0, 1280, 800, -)
-> 0, 7
vdp_output_surface_create(1, 0, 1280, 800, -)
-> 0, 8
vdp_video_surface_put_bits_y_cb_cr(4, 1, {0xb51e4040, 0xb5238640, 0xb524d7c0}, {720, 360, 360}, )
-> 0
vdp_presentation_queue_block_until_surface_idle(3, 6, -)
-> 0, 0
vdp_video_mixer_render(5, 4294967295, NULL, 2, 0, NULL, 4, 0, NULL, NULL, 6, {0, 0, 1280, 720}, {0, 0, 800, 400}, 0, NULL)
-> 0
vdp_presentation_queue_display(3, 6, 1280, 720, 0)
-> 0
vdp_presentation_queue_destroy(3) 0.000 0/ 0 ??% ??% ??,?% 2 0
-> 0
vdp_presentation_queue_target_destroy(2)
-> 0
vdp_video_mixer_destroy(5)
-> 0
vdp_output_surface_destroy(6)
-> 0
vdp_output_surface_destroy(7)
-> 0
vdp_output_surface_destroy(8)
-> 0
vdp_video_surface_destroy(4)
-> 0
vdp_device_destroy(1)
-> 0
mforget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-09, 05:48 AM   #2
Fandorin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: VDPAU Overlay Not working on TV-0

Will be solved in the next release.

Have a look here:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...48#post1897448
Fandorin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-09, 01:08 PM   #3
quadtree
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 34
Default Re: VDPAU Overlay Not working on TV-0

Quote:
Originally Posted by mforget View Post
hi,
i am experiencing the following problem .

1) my computer , connected using dvi-to-hdmi to a sony tv: mplayer vdpau 100% working

2) same computer,connected using the COMPONENT (or svideo) dongle: vdpau works, but only supports "blitting" (no overlay) which means that there is big tearing.

(i am not using 2 monitor at the same time... only tv connected and reboot done)


is there a known solution?
mforget,

I don't have a solution, but thanks for posting this. I have a very similar problem, but I hadn't tried using a connection other than the HDTV dongle w/ component out. Like you, overlays work fine when I connect to a computer monitor via DVI or when I hook up to my TV via VGA. So at least I have a workaround now.
quadtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-09, 01:15 PM   #4
Stephen Warren
Moderator
 
Stephen Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: VDPAU Overlay Not working on TV-0

Yes, I believe we've solved your issue and the next driver should fix this.

However, I just want to confirm one thing: The bug we fixed only occurs when you're using interlaced display modes. Is anyone on this thread not using interlaced output when seeing the issue?
Stephen Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-09, 02:32 PM   #5
quadtree
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 34
Default Re: VDPAU Overlay Not working on TV-0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Warren View Post
Yes, I believe we've solved your issue and the next driver should fix this.

However, I just want to confirm one thing: The bug we fixed only occurs when you're using interlaced display modes. Is anyone on this thread not using interlaced output when seeing the issue?
I've only been using non-interlaced output, at least I think. I have:

Option "TVStandard" "HD720p"

in the Device section of my xorg.conf.
quadtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-09, 02:59 PM   #6
mforget
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: VDPAU Overlay Not working on TV-0

i can confirm that we have the same result when
Option "TVStandard" "HD720p" and HD1080i (there is no change in overlay behavior)
both use blitter

it seems that since the tv-0 SUPPORTS INTERLACE (even if i am setting a PROGRESSIVE MODE), the overlay does not work.







from the xorg.log
(--) NVIDIA(0): Interlaced video modes are supported on this GPU
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validating Mode "1280x720":
(II) NVIDIA(0): 1280 x 720 @ 60 Hz
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode Source: NVIDIA Predefined
(II) NVIDIA(0): Pixel Clock : 74.18 MHz
(II) NVIDIA(0): HRes, HSyncStart : 1280, 1344
(II) NVIDIA(0): HSyncEnd, HTotal : 1352, 1648
(II) NVIDIA(0): VRes, VSyncStart : 720, 725
(II) NVIDIA(0): VSyncEnd, VTotal : 730, 750
(II) NVIDIA(0): H/V Polarity : -/-
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0): BestFit Scaled 1280x720
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0): Horizontal Taps 0
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0): Vertical Taps 0
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0): Base SuperSample 1
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0): Base Depth 32
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0): Distributed Rendering 1
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0): Overlay Depth 16
(II) NVIDIA(0): Mode is valid.


(II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "1280x720+0+0"
mforget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-09, 03:09 PM   #7
mforget
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: VDPAU Overlay Not working on TV-0

after doing some more testing on different TVs...

it sounds to me like we are merging 2 very different issues.


issue 1 : overlay is active, but blank when connected to interlaced tv.
------------------------------------------------------
USING DVI or HDMI (DFP-0)

scenario 1.1 : my G86, connected to sony 720p TV (using 720p resolution) = WORKS

scenario 1.2: connected to other cheap TV autodetected to 1080i, (still DVI) =
the overlay starts, but i only get a green screen (colorkey)

>> this seem to be the FIX that Fandorin was proposing <<

note : in this scenario 1.2, overlay is ACTIVE (i get a green screen), the driver does not fall-back to the blitter interface

issue 2: overlay NOT ACTIVE on TV-0
------------------------------------------------------
in any scenario connected to TV-0 (dongle) in composite, component, 720p, 1080i ... whatever

the overlay does not start at all, driver select the blitter interface.
mforget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-09, 03:14 PM   #8
Stephen Warren
Moderator
 
Stephen Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: VDPAU Overlay Not working on TV-0

Quote:
Originally Posted by mforget View Post
it sounds to me like we are merging 2 very different issues.
Yes, I agree. I'll look into this one.
Stephen Warren is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-21-09, 03:48 PM   #9
quadtree
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 34
Default Re: VDPAU Overlay Not working on TV-0

Quote:
Originally Posted by mforget View Post
after doing some more testing on different TVs...

it sounds to me like we are merging 2 very different issues.
Sounds right to me as well. My TV is 720p and I've never seen the first issue.
quadtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-09, 02:39 PM   #10
Stephen Warren
Moderator
 
Stephen Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: VDPAU Overlay Not working on TV-0

@mforget,

Can you double-check this with 180.25. I don't think the issue is fixed, but I want to confirm that you see the following error messages (with VDPAU_NVIDIA_DEBUG=3):

Code:
VDPAU nvidia: Error detected 1002 32 12
VDPAU nvidia: Error detected 2 183
Thanks.
Stephen Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-09, 03:55 PM   #11
Stephen Warren
Moderator
 
Stephen Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: VDPAU Overlay Not working on TV-0

I repro'd the problem using component output, and it'll be fixed in the next driver release.
Stephen Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xorg locks-up with newest nvidia drivers w/ vdpau. theroot NVIDIA Linux 1 06-24-12 12:04 PM
Tony Hawk devs working on Call of Duty News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 11:30 AM
Nvidia 3123 not working on Mandrake 8.2 UP with Geforce 440 MMX tariqf NVIDIA Linux 1 09-17-02 09:22 AM
TV-out not working nomatter what driver.. Dr_Gigolo NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 11 09-11-02 12:11 PM
Overlay Freeze on video mirroring PeQuE NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 1 09-06-02 06:26 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.