Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-28-09, 06:58 AM   #1
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Help with RMA...

To make it short.

  • A Razer Copperhead started to malfunction.
  • I requested RMA number from Razer
  • After a bit of time I got the replacement
  • It happened to be faulty too
  • So I send an e-mail to Razer saying that the replacement is not functioning as it should
  • After a few e-mails there and back the message was "we are on it"
  • They have been "on it" for almost 3 months now.

Anyone know how to make any progress? I have tried Consumer Direct (UK), but since the company (Razer) is based outside the UK they (CD) can not help. They have suggested contacting the European Consumer Center by phone.

I have now given an answer to the question almost, but right now I can not phone the ECC but it looks like the only option.

So the real question is: have any of you ever been in a similar situation, have you resolved it and how if so?
__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-09, 08:53 AM   #2
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Help with RMA...

Sorry to hear about your troubles. While any hardware RMAs I've had have gone smoothly (eVGA, Logitech, and Western Digital support are top notch), your thread is of particular interest to me as I'm looking for a mouse upgrade of my own. I've been looking at Razer products (Habu and DeathAdder) and had sent the company an e-mail with some product questions. It took them 24 hours to even acknowledge that they received my e-mail; the message said that they'd respond within 24 hours and we're past that deadline with no response. Now, based on your problems, I think I'll be steering well clear of Razer and sticking with Logitech. Their support has been great whenever I've needed it.

I realize this diatribe doesn't help you, but it sure as heck helped me, so thanks.

Side note, I realize that the Habu has an MS badge on it but I've read nightmare support stories where customers were endlessly bounced back between MS and Razer.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-09, 09:40 AM   #3
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: Help with RMA...

Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnotaku View Post
Sorry to hear about your troubles. While any hardware RMAs I've had have gone smoothly (eVGA, Logitech, and Western Digital support are top notch), your thread is of particular interest to me as I'm looking for a mouse upgrade of my own. I've been looking at Razer products (Habu and DeathAdder) and had sent the company an e-mail with some product questions. It took them 24 hours to even acknowledge that they received my e-mail; the message said that they'd respond within 24 hours and we're past that deadline with no response. Now, based on your problems, I think I'll be steering well clear of Razer and sticking with Logitech. Their support has been great whenever I've needed it.

I realize this diatribe doesn't help you, but it sure as heck helped me, so thanks.

Side note, I realize that the Habu has an MS badge on it but I've read nightmare support stories where customers were endlessly bounced back between MS and Razer.
Ouch...

... and yes, you are welcome.

You mention the "we will reply within 24 hours" e-mail. Oh I've had a few of those. :/

I mean with the initial RMA request they were pretty good - seemed like human letters and the replies were quite fast - a few hours or so. But with this 2nd RMA request it looks like they are ignoring it. To put ir in a "rough" way.
__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-09, 02:44 PM   #4
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: Help with RMA...

And update with a bump!

I have received an e-mail telling me that a replacement will be sent out by the end of this week at the latest, they also said that I can keep the current mouse.

I have took it out of the packaging and had a glance/feel and the right mouse button is pushed in, almost unclickable. I also tried to take some pictures of it, but I could not get any good ones, which would show the button.
__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-09, 08:16 AM   #5
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: Help with RMA...

I have received the mouse today.

Now I have two Razer Copperhead mice, with the same problem.

__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-09, 01:18 PM   #6
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: Help with RMA...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Butter Bandit View Post
Did all the mice have the same problem?

If so it must just be a design flaw, and there won't be anything they can do about it
A design flaw? Well... no, not really. I don't know many mice which are designed to be broken. Think about it.

The first Copperhead that I've had for almost 2 years was not like that, the one I've tried in a shop was not like that. So now I have two faulty mice.
__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-09, 07:47 AM   #7
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: Help with RMA...

UPDATE!!!!

I have received the 3rd mouse and even though the box felt more rigid and the mouse buttons were more responsive this time around, the RMB was still about 50/50 and did not have a definite response. I told that to Razer and they said that they can't send anymore replacements as this latest one has passed the "quality control"...

I wonder whether the replacements are genuine new mice or not... it certainly does not seem so right now.

I think they also implied that the previous two mice have also passed the quality control. Well, talk about poor QC then, ehhh?

I wonder, now what?
__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-09, 08:46 AM   #8
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,004
Default Re: Help with RMA...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Koko56 View Post
I wonder, now what?
Well now it's time to give up on these idiots and buy a mouse from another company.
__________________
Maybe tomorrow I'll wanna settle down, until tomorrow I'll just keep moving on...
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-24-09, 01:03 PM   #9
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: Help with RMA...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Starscream View Post
Well now it's time to give up on these idiots and buy a mouse from another company.
I think out of all, I prefer the Copperhead.
__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-09, 04:30 PM   #10
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Help with RMA...

sell it on ebay before it fails on you like the previous 2

also i have a deathadder which i now use at work and is excellent but for home gaming i have a Roccat Kone and have heard reports on the middle wheel breaking, luckily mine seems ok still after about 5 months or so now, it squeeks ever so slightly when i scroll though (yeah i know mice are meant to :P)

great mouse still
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-09, 06:02 PM   #11
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Help with RMA...

This whole saga makes me glad I decided to go with the G9.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-09, 02:01 PM   #12
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: Help with RMA...

Quote:
Originally Posted by wysiwyg View Post
sell it on ebay before it fails on you like the previous 2

also i have a deathadder which i now use at work and is excellent but for home gaming i have a Roccat Kone and have heard reports on the middle wheel breaking, luckily mine seems ok still after about 5 months or so now, it squeeks ever so slightly when i scroll though (yeah i know mice are meant to :P)

great mouse still
Haha!

As for selling it on ebay... meh - I'm would not like to do that to people.
Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnotaku View Post
This whole saga makes me glad I decided to go with the G9.
Hey, the actual working-good-mouse I've had (the very first one) was great!
__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Going on my third RMA with eVGA! DoinkyBottoms NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 3 09-13-02 07:10 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.