Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-30-02, 08:28 AM   #1
JamesDax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 442
Send a message via MSN to JamesDax
Default btw, should 0x or 1x AF be the default setting in the 40.41 drivers

just wondering.
__________________
He who lives the longest will know the most.

eMachine W2686 (upgraded) c/
Albatron KM51G
Athlon64 3000+(Venice) Socket 754 2.0Ghz
Corsair XMS 1GB 2x512Mb DDR 400
80Gb Hard Drive (ATA 133/7200rpm)
DVD/CDRW Combo Drive
7-in-4 Media reader
eVGA GeForce 7600GS
Artic-Cooling Arctic Fan 3 TC (80mm case fan)
XION 400 Watt PSU
Pixie 950 19" Monitor
Windows XP HE SP2
JamesDax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-02, 09:18 AM   #2
Uttar
Registered User
 
Uttar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,354
Send a message via AIM to Uttar Send a message via Yahoo to Uttar
Default Re: btw, should 0x or 1x AF be the default setting in the 40.41 drivers

Quote:
Originally posted by JamesDax
just wondering.
I'm personally VERY unhappy of nVidia D3D Aniso options!

First, the default is 0x. And that's ridiculous - it SHOULD be 1x because 0x is from pre-Voodoo days.

Second, there's no way to let the application determine it. That's very annoying for 2D in 3D games using 2D sprites ( working on one right now, and icky, is it ugly with 1x! It *needs* 0x )


Uttar
Uttar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-02, 09:38 AM   #3
nin_fragile14
Fat Tuna
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 509
Default

In most 3dgames, use 1x. 0x looks like garbage, and was just a lame technique used by nvidia to raise 3dmark scores. Or you can just switch back to the 30.82 drivers and not worry about that stuff.
__________________
2.66 P4 @ 3.0 Ghz / Geforce 6800 GT @ 410/1080/ 768 mb Samsung DDR333 @ 374 mhz / Abit IS7 / XP Pro / NEC 1760NX LCD
nin_fragile14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-02, 10:18 AM   #4
PreservedSwine
I'm always hungry
 
PreservedSwine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 548
Default

Oh my Goodness, these drivers are lame!

A setting of "0" and the card does NO tri-linear, or even bi-linear filtering- at all..none..zip,...zero...nada.. It reverts back to old Point Sampling....A huge step backwards.

And what are the benefits of Point Sampling?

You can get Lower Image Quality, while decreasing your framerates in games, all to acheive higher synthetic benchmark scores. What a joke


Ironically, Nvidia is the 1st to take a step backwards in technology. They should be ashamed trying to pass this sh*t off


Check out this link- it's awsome ( althogh in German) it has graphs, and a very cool picture to illustrate the changes, jsut scroll down and "mouse" overe it...

http://www.3dcenter.org/artikel/2002/08-30.php

Last edited by PreservedSwine; 08-30-02 at 10:21 AM.
PreservedSwine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-02, 11:22 AM   #5
jsg2021
Programmer
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Posts: 23
Default

hmm, you know... 0x doesn't look all that bad when pared with QCAA and Texture sharpening.
jsg2021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-02, 01:50 PM   #6
Uttar
Registered User
 
Uttar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,354
Send a message via AIM to Uttar Send a message via Yahoo to Uttar
Default

That's because "texture sharpening" simply changes that setting that puts that at a higher value. Most likely 1 :P

And, PreservedSwine, please, let's not go TOO far.
This is simply a BUG. I'd personally think that nVidia goal was to make "0x" equivalent to "Determined by application" .
After all, logically, the application default is the performance-quality option that the programmers who MADE the game found best.

Probably a bug, keep in mind this is a BETA.


Uttar
Uttar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-02, 01:54 PM   #7
JamesDax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 442
Send a message via MSN to JamesDax
Default

I have to agree. Morrowind with QCAA, texture sharpening, and 0x AF looks pretty damn good. And runs smooth to.
__________________
He who lives the longest will know the most.

eMachine W2686 (upgraded) c/
Albatron KM51G
Athlon64 3000+(Venice) Socket 754 2.0Ghz
Corsair XMS 1GB 2x512Mb DDR 400
80Gb Hard Drive (ATA 133/7200rpm)
DVD/CDRW Combo Drive
7-in-4 Media reader
eVGA GeForce 7600GS
Artic-Cooling Arctic Fan 3 TC (80mm case fan)
XION 400 Watt PSU
Pixie 950 19" Monitor
Windows XP HE SP2
JamesDax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-02, 02:22 PM   #8
Uttar
Registered User
 
Uttar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,354
Send a message via AIM to Uttar Send a message via Yahoo to Uttar
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JamesDax
I have to agree. Morrowind with QCAA, texture sharpening, and 0x AF looks pretty damn good. And runs smooth to.
As i said, that's because 0x AF + texture sharpening *is* 1x AF. So it's like if you enabled 1x AF!


Uttar
Uttar is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-30-02, 02:42 PM   #9
jsg2021
Programmer
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Oklahoma, USA
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Uttar


As i said, that's because 0x AF + texture sharpening *is* 1x AF. So it's like if you enabled 1x AF!


Uttar
I don't think so, i just ran some test and 0x AF + texture sharpening is faster than 1x AF... and, they look a little different. Texture sharpening doesn't necessarily mean Anisotropic flittering.

jsg2021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-02, 06:14 PM   #10
Nv40
Agent-Fx
 
Nv40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: everywhere
Posts: 2,216
Default

i think it will be better for Nvidia than they remove the
0x settings from their tab ,a "bad" choice,and give one more setting
10x or 12x .. ,it will not be smooth at all ,but i would really
like to play with this settings at least the gamer will have
the oportunity to play with some settings to get higher IQ ,
more good choices is always better ...
Nv40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-02, 09:31 PM   #11
Polyphemus
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I'm a utter, complete noob. So all the flashing textures in games is caused by this bug?

Thanks in advance,
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-02, 09:45 PM   #12
Gargr
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 195
Default

why is it called "Texture Anisotropic Setting

0x = Point Sampling
1x = Bilinear/Trilinear app pref.
2x 4x 8x = Aniso filtering

they should make it "AF Setting - off _ _ 2x _ _ 4x _ _ 8x"
Gargr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cisco backpedals after uproar, drops cloud from default router setting News Archived News Items 0 07-06-12 01:20 AM
Radeon 9700 not all that? sancheuz Other Desktop Graphics Cards 200 10-12-02 10:31 PM
Error messages... HELP!!!! Imperito NVIDIA Linux 3 09-24-02 11:46 PM
Nvidia GF4 MX 440 + Mandrake tomchristopher NVIDIA Linux 3 08-18-02 10:42 AM
nVidia drivers + Red Hat Linux 7.3 Error404 NVIDIA Linux 17 08-16-02 12:34 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.