Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-26-10, 07:12 PM   #1
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Help! Im getting a Disk Boot Failure

I restarted my PC due to changes and now I am getting a Disk Boot Failure, it was working fine all day. No clue what to do. I tried Startup Recovery using the Windows 7 install disk and Im getting nowhere.

Im currently downloading some disk tools but I really doubt its the disk, I think my MBR got screwed up some how and now the PC can't find windows.

Any ideas?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-10, 08:06 PM   #2
trivium nate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,023
Default Re: Help! Im getting a Disk Boot Failure

that happened to me with my old motherboard I tried everything I tried diff drives diff cords diff slots tried repairing windows tried clearing my bios it turned out to be the sata chip on my mobo going bad

im sure you've checked to see if they are properly plugged in
__________________
CM-HAF-932//AMD Phenom-II-X4-965-BE-Deneb-3.4 GHz-Quad Core//CorsairH50
ASRock 770 EXTREME3 Mobo//EVGA GTX-480(1536MB GDDR5)-Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme+cooler
180GB SSD//3TB//G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB//DVD-RW//blu-Ray//1000 Watt Corsair PSU
42"Vizio TV-1920x1080-1080P-120Hertz//Win 7 Ultimate(64)//XBox360-pc controller
Saitek Eclipse 2 keyboard//Razer DeathAdder Mouse//250gb-Xbox 360//160gb-PS3
trivium nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-10, 08:17 PM   #3
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Help! Im getting a Disk Boot Failure

1) did you update bios?
2) did you change boot up order?
3) do you have USB/eSATA drive plugged in? in some werid cases USB flash drive can screw up boot order
4) what did windows 7 recovery tell you?
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-10, 08:30 PM   #4
trivium nate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,023
Default Re: Help! Im getting a Disk Boot Failure

try plugging the drives into another pc
__________________
CM-HAF-932//AMD Phenom-II-X4-965-BE-Deneb-3.4 GHz-Quad Core//CorsairH50
ASRock 770 EXTREME3 Mobo//EVGA GTX-480(1536MB GDDR5)-Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme+cooler
180GB SSD//3TB//G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB//DVD-RW//blu-Ray//1000 Watt Corsair PSU
42"Vizio TV-1920x1080-1080P-120Hertz//Win 7 Ultimate(64)//XBox360-pc controller
Saitek Eclipse 2 keyboard//Razer DeathAdder Mouse//250gb-Xbox 360//160gb-PS3
trivium nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-10, 09:05 PM   #5
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Help! Im getting a Disk Boot Failure

I finally got it fixed, had to mess with partition activity and run setup fix like 5 times. It looked like MBR got curropt.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-10, 10:33 PM   #6
Elvin Presler
Registered User
 
Elvin Presler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 633
Default Re: Help! Im getting a Disk Boot Failure

FYI: On one of my mainboards, the sata connectors worked like the old IDE primary master/slave and secondary master/slave. With 2 drives you want primary master and secondary master, not primary master and slave.

So let's say I had 4 sata ports to connect to for the sake of argument (1, 2, 3, and 4). If I connected my hard drive to 1 and my DVDRW drive to 2...they shared a channel with the hard drive as master and the DVDRW as slave, and I always had issues with my disks. CD's locked up when reading, my hard drive would simply stop/lockup until launching anything that was not already in memory would just stall forever. I would reboot and it would behave as if the hard drive were corrupted "No disks found", etc. Power down and unplug-replug the power supply then reboot and it was fine again.

If I connected the hard drive to 1, skip 2 and connect the DVDRW to 3, one was on channel 1 and the other channel 2 (both as master) and never had another problem. It took me months to figure that one out. In theory it should not have even been a problem. In reality...it was a huge problem until I figured out what was going on.
Elvin Presler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-10, 10:34 PM   #7
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Help! Im getting a Disk Boot Failure

Thing is the issue was brought up just out of the blue, no hardware was changed or touched at all.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-10, 10:39 PM   #8
trivium nate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,023
Default Re: Help! Im getting a Disk Boot Failure

well cool that you got it fixed
__________________
CM-HAF-932//AMD Phenom-II-X4-965-BE-Deneb-3.4 GHz-Quad Core//CorsairH50
ASRock 770 EXTREME3 Mobo//EVGA GTX-480(1536MB GDDR5)-Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme+cooler
180GB SSD//3TB//G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB//DVD-RW//blu-Ray//1000 Watt Corsair PSU
42"Vizio TV-1920x1080-1080P-120Hertz//Win 7 Ultimate(64)//XBox360-pc controller
Saitek Eclipse 2 keyboard//Razer DeathAdder Mouse//250gb-Xbox 360//160gb-PS3
trivium nate is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-26-10, 10:41 PM   #9
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Help! Im getting a Disk Boot Failure

Yeah but got my panicking like crazy... would have lost a **** load of data if I weren't able to recover the drive.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-10, 10:45 PM   #10
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Help! Im getting a Disk Boot Failure

you still should figure out why was your MBR corrupted in first place
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-10, 10:47 PM   #11
Elvin Presler
Registered User
 
Elvin Presler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 633
Default Re: Help! Im getting a Disk Boot Failure

I would still suggest checking what I mentioned to avoid it possibly happening again. My issues were random as hell when I had that situation so I thought I'd fixed it 5 times over then a week later, BAM! Same thing. Man I was zero filling and swapping drives from my other pc, reinstalling windows and all sorts of stuff trying to get it right. All it was was the board didn't like to run master/slave.

Just watch when it boots up and detects drives to be sure they are all on their own separate channels....unless you just have a boatload of drives in raid or something and don't have the free resources for it.
Elvin Presler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-10, 11:27 PM   #12
trivium nate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,023
Default Re: Help! Im getting a Disk Boot Failure

yeah i panicked n crap when i had to send my mobo in
__________________
CM-HAF-932//AMD Phenom-II-X4-965-BE-Deneb-3.4 GHz-Quad Core//CorsairH50
ASRock 770 EXTREME3 Mobo//EVGA GTX-480(1536MB GDDR5)-Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme+cooler
180GB SSD//3TB//G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB//DVD-RW//blu-Ray//1000 Watt Corsair PSU
42"Vizio TV-1920x1080-1080P-120Hertz//Win 7 Ultimate(64)//XBox360-pc controller
Saitek Eclipse 2 keyboard//Razer DeathAdder Mouse//250gb-Xbox 360//160gb-PS3
trivium nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.