Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-09-09, 01:16 PM   #1
J-Mag
Weapon of MassConsumption
 
J-Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,245
Default 24hz in DX10 via HDMI

DX9 games run fine at 60hz, but launching a Dx10 game causes my TV to lower the refresh to 24hz... I have seen that this is a relatively common issue with HDTVs regardless of video card brand. Some claim setting the display output to 59hz solves this. Unfortunately, the solution doesn't work for me. Anyone have any suggestions?

Currently running the 181.22 Vista 64bit on a 260gtx 216.
J-Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-09, 01:22 PM   #2
WeReWoLf
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,015
Send a message via MSN to WeReWoLf
Default Re: 24hz in DX10 via HDMI

When I enable Vsync in Crysis Warhead it drops my fps to 24 on my TV (essentially making it 24hz), turn off Vsync it runs much better. Yet to try it in DX9 mode to see if it happens. DX10 Bioshock , Farcry 2 and Lost Planet run @ 60hz fine, with and without Vsync.
WeReWoLf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-09, 02:34 PM   #3
J-Mag
Weapon of MassConsumption
 
J-Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,245
Default Re: 24hz in DX10 via HDMI

Quote:
Originally Posted by WeReWoLf View Post
When I enable Vsync in Crysis Warhead it drops my fps to 24 on my TV (essentially making it 24hz), turn off Vsync it runs much better.
I should have stated I only tried this with Warhead and Crysis Wars, so it could be engine specific. However in my situation, it's not just the fps that's down it's the actual refresh rate...
J-Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-09, 02:48 PM   #4
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: 24hz in DX10 via HDMI

Set your HDTV as "1080p HDTV" and NOT "1080p24 HDTV" in the NVIDIA Control Panel.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-09, 02:50 PM   #5
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: 24hz in DX10 via HDMI

Just add the right command to your shortcut/config and everything should be fine!
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-09, 02:53 PM   #6
J-Mag
Weapon of MassConsumption
 
J-Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,245
Default Re: 24hz in DX10 via HDMI

Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelGraves13 View Post
Set your HDTV as "1080p HDTV" and NOT "1080p24 HDTV" in the NVIDIA Control Panel.
Hmm, I don't think I ever switched this from the default, thanks for the suggestion.
J-Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-09, 02:54 PM   #7
J-Mag
Weapon of MassConsumption
 
J-Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,245
Default Re: 24hz in DX10 via HDMI

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toss3 View Post
Just add the right command to your shortcut/config and everything should be fine!
What command are you speaking of?
J-Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-09, 12:22 AM   #8
WeReWoLf
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,015
Send a message via MSN to WeReWoLf
Default Re: 24hz in DX10 via HDMI

Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelGraves13 View Post
Set your HDTV as "1080p HDTV" and NOT "1080p24 HDTV" in the NVIDIA Control Panel.
Mine has been set to 1080p HDTV since the word go. Still does it in Crysis Warhead.
WeReWoLf is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-11-09, 01:37 PM   #9
J-Mag
Weapon of MassConsumption
 
J-Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,245
Default Re: 24hz in DX10 via HDMI

Quote:
Originally Posted by WeReWoLf View Post
Mine has been set to 1080p HDTV since the word go. Still does it in Crysis Warhead.
Yeah I just tested Far Cry 2 on Dx10 and it works fine, so it must be Crysis Warhead/Wars specifically...
J-Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-09, 07:32 PM   #10
turdhat
Registered User
 
turdhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 379
Default Re: 24hz in DX10 via HDMI

Thinking of going 1080p from my 720p dlp to get ready for all the 3d 120hz stuff. How big is your screen ? Do you have any overscan ? Is the text too small to read on some web pages ?
__________________
MSI P67GD55
Intel i7 2600k @ 4.8ghz 1.35v, 1.40v full load
Cooler Master Hyper 212
Gigabyte 580 @945/2232
4 Gigs Ripjaw @ 1600
Antec (a good one) 650w
A Partridge in a pear tree.
turdhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-09, 07:39 PM   #11
WeReWoLf
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,015
Send a message via MSN to WeReWoLf
Default Re: 24hz in DX10 via HDMI

42" LCD. No overscan, Text is fine.
WeReWoLf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IOGEAR 3D Complete+ 4-Port HDMI Switcher with 2D/3D Video Processor News Archived News Items 0 06-28-12 05:40 PM
Upgrade from 290.10 to 295.49 on GeForce 8300 = no hdmi audio + overscan tbubel NVIDIA Linux 2 06-15-12 03:55 AM
Blu-ray 3D Movie Playback With PC on a 3D HDTV Using HDMI 1.4 News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 03:30 AM
Dual monitor config w/o HDMI avs234 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-11-12 11:23 PM
HDMI audio ELD weirdness RockHound NVIDIA Linux 0 05-11-12 03:45 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.