Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-03-03, 01:20 PM   #1
sq4you
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: albany, NY
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to sq4you
Default Black Screen FIXED!

I too was having the black screen issues (ie stalling on X startup)

i then realized that my computer was not stalling, it was just taking a REALLY long time to start X. I added the following line to my DEVICE section in my XFree86 config file:


Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "DFP, TV"

this prevents it probing for digital flat panels and TV outputs. the following is taken directly from the README:

Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "string"
This option tells the NVIDIA kernel module to completely
ignore the indicated classes of display devices when
checking what display devices are connected. You may
specify a comma-separated list containing any of "CRT",
"DFP", and "TV".

For example:

Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "DFP, TV"

will cause the NVIDIA driver to not attempt to detect
if any flatpanels or TVs are connected.

This option is not normally necessary; however, some video
BIOSes contain incorrect information about what display
devices may be connected, or what i2c port should be
used for detection. These errors can cause long delays
in starting X. If you are experiencing such delays, you
may be able to avoid this by telling the NVIDIA driver to
ignore display devices which you know are not connected.

NOTE: anything attached to a 15 pin VGA connector is
regarded by the driver as a CRT. "DFP" should only be
used to refer to flatpanels connected via a DVI port.

i highly recommend that all of you try this out, possibly with different string values (depending on which output device you are using). I think most people are assuming their X is stalling, when in fact its just wasting A LOT of time probing for the various devices.
sq4you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-03, 04:54 PM   #2
davej
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4
Smile

Thank you, thank you, thank you.

I've been tearing my hair out with this for ages and your suggestion did the trick. It works fine now.


dave j
davej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-03, 10:22 PM   #3
sq4you
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: albany, NY
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to sq4you
Default

glad to have been of help...im surprised less people have responded as positively as you. i honestly think this is the solution for almost everyone who was having the "black screen problem"
sq4you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-03, 12:00 PM   #4
davej
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4
Default

It's amazing how hard it is to notice things in readme files isn't it.

I think the mention of other display devices makes people switch off and not notice what is really being said.

The (other) really annoying thing is that a forum for mini-itx motherboards I lurk on has discussions of a similar option in their X drivers and I never connected the two.
davej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-03, 12:13 PM   #5
Dreoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston Area, Texas
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to Dreoth Send a message via Yahoo to Dreoth
Default

This doesn't work for me.
Dreoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-03, 04:55 AM   #6
tsubasa
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: France ( Angouleme )
Posts: 105
Default

me too always black screen with my G3 TI500 prophet series by hercules
tsubasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-03, 04:56 AM   #7
tsubasa
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: France ( Angouleme )
Posts: 105
Default

i have never try the 31.23, u think it will work on a g3ti500 and a nforce2 mobo ? if yes i will test it
tsubasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-03, 06:58 AM   #8
tsubasa
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: France ( Angouleme )
Posts: 105
Default re

IT WORKING !!!!!! I HAVE NEVER TRI 31.23 , I HAVE TRIED IT TODAY AND IT WORK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Shame On UUUU
tsubasa is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-06-03, 12:31 PM   #9
sq4you
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: albany, NY
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to sq4you
Default

Dreoth: whats the issue with urs.. like what do the log files say etc etc.
sq4you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-03, 04:00 PM   #10
Dreoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston Area, Texas
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to Dreoth Send a message via Yahoo to Dreoth
Default

Log files show absolutely nothing, the latest driver does work but it is extremely buggy and crashes a lot. So I'm sticking with the one thats stable. On any driver that works for me, this fix still does not work. This bug exists even for me on Debian and Gentoo.

Also, I do not and will not disable my agp, I play games and would like to use it. :P

Adding/Removing framebuffer stuff in the kernel also does nothing. There was a trick with the program NVTV but that only worked once, after that it came back. So.... I guess I'm waiting for better drivers.

GF3 Ti 500
Asus a7v8x KT400 Chipset
Gentoo Linux (Switched from Debian)
linux-2.4.21-rc2 (contains the AGP support for KT400)

In my X Config (not pasting all of it.)

Section "Module"
# Load "GLcore"
Load "bitmap"
Load "dbe"
Load "ddc"
# Load "dri"
Load "extmod"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
Load "int10"
Load "record"
Load "speedo"
Load "type1"
Load "vbe"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Generic Video Card"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "NvAGP" "3"
Option "HWCursor" "true"
Option "CursorShadow" "true"
Option "NoLogo" "true"
Option "RenderAccel" "true"
Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" "DFP, TV"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT"
Option "TwinView" "false"
EndSection
Dreoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-03, 05:10 PM   #11
bwkaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,262
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dreoth
Also, I do not and will not disable my agp, I play games and would like to use it. :P
So... what makes you think you need AGP for games?

If your game is even using AGP, then it's already being slowed down. Programs only use the AGP bus when they can't store all the texture data required on the physical video RAM. Turning off AGP will have no effect on anything that doesn't use it! And if you have 128MB or more of video RAM (or even >=32MB, with older games like UT), you won't be using it.

Quote:
Section "Module"
# Load "GLcore"
Load "bitmap"
Load "dbe"
Load "ddc"
# Load "dri"
Load "extmod"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx"
Load "int10"
Load "record"
Load "speedo"
Load "type1"
Load "vbe"
EndSection
Why do you have all those unnecessary modules loading? You don't need half of them.

Get rid of bitmap, dbe, ddc, int10, record, and vbe. extmod is a collection of extensions, so that's good to have. glx is the nVidia GLX implementation, so you want that. freetype, speedo, and type1 are font renderers, so keep them too. But the rest of that is pretty much useless crap.
__________________
Registered Linux User #219692
bwkaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-03, 06:22 PM   #12
Dreoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston Area, Texas
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to Dreoth Send a message via Yahoo to Dreoth
Default

I play games like UT2003 often, AGP DOES effect my gameplay. I know because I tried turning it off as a work around then trying to play my games. I'd rather keep it on.

And as to the extra modules, they aren't were not hurting anything, commenting them out doesn't make the bug go away.

I'd rather see the issue resolved, not worked around.

I'll wait for the next driver now. Just wanted to point out that this posted fix does not work for me, and most likely others.
Dreoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GT240M - black screen with newer drivers > 275.33 and win 7 doktor5000 NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series 1 07-08-12 11:17 AM
[9800gt] Xorg black screen after installing nvidia driver HacKurx NVIDIA Linux 1 06-07-12 01:29 PM
Black screen after switching between graphical virtual consoles five times rrr-wtf NVIDIA Linux 1 05-21-12 04:40 PM
Black screen and lockup on startx. redmoose NVIDIA Linux 4 09-18-02 11:53 AM
kernel 2.4.19 and 2960 -> black screen osterhase NVIDIA Linux 7 08-22-02 06:24 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.