Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Networking And Security

Newegg Daily Deals

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-09, 10:40 AM   #1
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Router and Port Forwarding Help

So I got a netgear router right now and well I have hit a wall with it. It only allows me to port forward a max of 15 clients and well I need more... Since Port Forwarding only allows a single PC alot of those options I need doubled since my desktop sometimes runs the same applications and well as of right now I have just been logging in and updating the IP to the current PC Im using but that has become annoying. I have been messing with Port Triggering but don't know much about it, like can it handle a range of ports?

If anyone has an easy solution for my problem I would appreciate the input.
 
Old 05-12-09, 11:06 AM   #2
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Router and Port Forwarding Help

If your router is on the following list, I would use the WRT firmware since it gives you many more options.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Supported_Devices
Q is offline  
Old 05-12-09, 12:16 PM   #3
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Router and Port Forwarding Help

Nope, Not supported. I have the WPN824V2.
 
Old 05-13-09, 01:53 AM   #4
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Router and Port Forwarding Help

Time to ditch the old Netgear |MagNuS|. I swtched my Netgear DG834PN to modem only mode, then got a cheap Buffalo router put WRT on it and my network is much easier to manage.
crainger is offline  
Old 05-13-09, 08:06 AM   #5
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Router and Port Forwarding Help

I'm going to give you another answer that you don't want to hear, MAGUS:

Build a router.

I spent 200 on brand new equipment for mine. Any PC that you can throw a few network cards in will be fine. Grab a copy of IPCOP or PFSENSE (what I run at home) and have at it. It gives you nearly unlimited expansion and control over your network. I would highly recommend that you at least download a Virtual Appliance or install the OS in a VM to check it out.

To attempt to give you some "useful" feedback...
Port Triggering varies from router to router. My old router used to do ranges for port triggering just fine. I actually had to use Port Triggering in lieu of Port Forwarding because I ran into a similar situation. It was a PITA to set up the rules, though.
Q is offline  
Old 07-31-10, 06:31 AM   #6
HaydenHarnet
Registered User
 
HaydenHarnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Router and Port Forwarding Help

get router with dd-wrt support , it will make things easier
__________________
Reviewgist : wireless router reviews

Last edited by HaydenHarnet; 08-02-10 at 06:49 AM.
HaydenHarnet is offline  
Old 07-31-10, 10:20 PM   #7
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Router and Port Forwarding Help

Build a small firewall/router via a small VIA or Intel Atom build, use something like PFSENSE. Or heck, get a new router that will do what you want.
six_storm is offline  
Old 08-02-10, 12:30 PM   #8
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Router and Port Forwarding Help

Stop bumping old threads hayden.
ViN86 is offline  

Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Port forwarding with a virgin super hub. ATOJAR Networking And Security 12 05-07-12 04:34 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.