Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

View Poll Results: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?
Yes! 114 95.80%
No! 5 4.20%
Voters: 119. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-05-09, 08:40 AM   #97
sittingpenguin
Registered User
 
sittingpenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Julia Augusta Taurinorum
Posts: 42
Default Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

Powermizer works for me too, the VT problem got worse though: in my case I no longer have black VTs, this time around when trying to switch VTs the mouse cursor disappears and the x server freezes, I have to power off the machine.

I reported and attached updated bug report in the thread "9600M GT won't throttle up under load".

Edit: same happens when trying to log out from the session, now I need to reboot to switch user. Ouch!
sittingpenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-09, 09:59 AM   #98
Marcos.MM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Wink Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

Acer Aspire 6930, gpu: Nvidia GeForce 9600M GS, os: Slackware 12, kernel 2.6.27.7 - powermizer works with beta 185.18.08 driver. Thanx.
Marcos.MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-09, 12:10 PM   #99
sittingpenguin
Registered User
 
sittingpenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Julia Augusta Taurinorum
Posts: 42
Default Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

To those celebrating their resurrected powermizer: please tell us wether you get the x server freeze/crash when trying to switch virtual terminals or log out the current user.
sittingpenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-09, 12:42 PM   #100
Techno_man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

There are some problems for X crashes. 4 ex when I disable and re-enable Compiz or when I change VT with CTRL-ALT-FX
But I can finally remove WinDOS!!

What about overclocking?? I can only downclock my card and then I can't get again upper freq
Techno_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-09, 12:58 PM   #101
quetzyg
Linux Power User!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: /home/quetzyg
Posts: 63
Thumbs up Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sittingpenguin View Post
To those celebrating their resurrected powermizer: please tell us wether you get the x server freeze/crash when trying to switch virtual terminals or log out the current user.
My X server works fine after switching to and from the VT's. I'm using a GeForce 9600M GT w/ 512MB.

Some specs:
Linux: 2.6.29.1
xorg-server: 1.6.1
NVidia Linux driver: 185.18.08

The black terminal problem persists, though. But that's a different story...
quetzyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-09, 01:27 PM   #102
sittingpenguin
Registered User
 
sittingpenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Julia Augusta Taurinorum
Posts: 42
Default Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Techno_man View Post
What about overclocking?? I can only downclock my card and then I can't get again upper freq
I'm not sure if I understand the question and I'm too old to game, but for overclocking NVClock should do.
sittingpenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-09, 01:50 PM   #103
Techno_man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sittingpenguin View Post
I'm not sure if I understand the question and I'm too old to game, but for overclocking NVClock should do.
My 3D frequencies are 500/800.
Well, enabling CoolBits, I can only decrease them. So, I can set them to 400/700 for example, but then I canno't re-set to 500/800 or 450/750
Techno_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-09, 03:27 PM   #104
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sittingpenguin View Post
To those celebrating their resurrected powermizer: please tell us wether you get the x server freeze/crash when trying to switch virtual terminals or log out the current user.
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=132495
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-08-09, 10:02 AM   #105
sittingpenguin
Registered User
 
sittingpenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Julia Augusta Taurinorum
Posts: 42
Default Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran View Post
I see everyone in that thread and elsewere is reporting the X server crashing and automatically restarting; in my case, running Fedora 11 64bit and compiz, it freezes, only way out being to power off the machine (probably ssh into it to kill the Xserver would do as well).

Recently the kernel was upgraded to 2.6.29.2 and xorg was also among the updates, so I reinstalled 180.18.08 cleanly once again and the problem persists.
sittingpenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-09, 02:41 PM   #106
skektek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Default Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mooninite View Post
185.18.08 has been released with a ChangeLog line of:

"Fixed a bug that caused some performance levels to be disabled on certain GeForce 9 series notebooks."

I hope this fixes the bug for you folks.
185.18.08 fixes PowerMizer. Performance level scales on demand, all the way up to level 3 530/800 (yeah!). But X cashes on suspend to RAM/disk and when Compositing/Desktop Effects are enabled in KDE 4.2. Also X sometimes hangs during reboot

Mandriva 2009.1 x64
9800m GS
x.org 1.6.1
kernel 2.6.29.1
skektek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-09, 03:46 PM   #107
C7M
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lviv, Ukraine
Posts: 6
Send a message via Skype™ to C7M
Default Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by skektek View Post
185.18.08 fixes PowerMizer. Performance level scales on demand, all the way up to level 3 530/800 (yeah!). But X cashes on suspend to RAM/disk and when Compositing/Desktop Effects are enabled in KDE 4.2. Also X sometimes hangs during reboot

Mandriva 2009.1 x64
9800m GS
x.org 1.6.1
kernel 2.6.29.1
Same problem.
Also, X crash when trying to switch from Compiz window manager to Metacity, every time.
Arch Linux 2009.2 x64
GF 9300M GS
Xorg 1.6.1
Kernel 2.6.29.1
Gnome 2.26.1
Compiz 0.8.2-2
Driver 185.18.08
Btw, many thanks for fixing powermizer
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (38.2 KB, 95 views)
C7M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Redhat 8.0 NVIDIA works - INSTRUCTIONS STEEL1 NVIDIA Linux 267 04-15-03 06:48 PM
TwinView in RedHat 8 nerfherder64 NVIDIA Linux 5 10-07-02 07:19 PM
Xtacy t14600, Redhat 7.3.. X but no logo. Rob C. NVIDIA Linux 8 08-12-02 09:28 AM
Dual Display with main CRT, and secondary TV-out BlackDogg NVIDIA Linux 3 08-10-02 09:52 AM
RedHAT didn't like nVidia GeForce 4 MX 440 alfa2k1 NVIDIA Linux 13 08-09-02 05:06 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.