Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-22-09, 09:16 PM   #1
Llamalama
Registered User
 
Llamalama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 134
Default PCIE1.0 to PCIE 2.0

I recently bought the 280 and since my MB uses PCIE 1.0, would going to a PCIE 2.0 board make a noticable difference? If I do upgrade I'm thinking these options.

http://www.giga-byte.com/Products/Mo...ProductID=3012

http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?l1...67&modelmenu=1
__________________
Maximus III - Intel 875K@4ghz- 8 Gigs DDR3 1600 -2 x GTX 480-Corsair 1000W PSU
Llamalama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-09, 09:17 PM   #2
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: PCIE1.0 to PCIE 2.0

I don't think its worth it to upgrade just for PCI-E 2.0. I don't think it really makes any difference.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-09, 09:22 PM   #3
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: PCIE1.0 to PCIE 2.0

I didn't notice any difference with the 260
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-09, 06:14 PM   #4
shabby
Forcefed GXP
 
shabby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: PCIE1.0 to PCIE 2.0

Mine was a 1000x faster with pcie2...
__________________
2500k/Asus P67-Pro/8gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3/X25-M/p190
shabby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-09, 06:52 PM   #5
iron99
GPL Is Still King
 
iron99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 181
Default Re: PCIE1.0 to PCIE 2.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by shabby View Post
Mine was a 1000x faster with pcie2...
Worthless post....-1.

Your time mustn't be of any value to yourself or anyone.
__________________
AMD Phenom 1090T @ 3.8 On H2O\ Asus M4A89TD Pro/USB3.0\CORSAIR XMS3 8GB\RealSSD C300 128GB SataIII (OS)2xWD 600 GB(1 Apps. and Games/1 My Docs)WD 1.5TB for backup\ 480 GTX @825/2000/1.113V on H2O\Dell 2405\350Watt 5.1 Sound\1000watt single rail PSU\Logitech MX518 and G15 / ECCI Trackstar 6000 / Frex H-Shifter+\Windows 7 Professional 64-bit\My Favorite games - FallOut 3 with PFEE Mod
iron99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-09, 07:38 PM   #6
Medion
 
Medion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Barksdale AFB, La
Posts: 1,238
Default Re: PCIE1.0 to PCIE 2.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by iron99 View Post
Worthless post....-1.

Your time mustn't be of any value to yourself or anyone.
His mobo is also PCI-E 1.0.
Medion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-09, 10:26 PM   #7
Llamalama
Registered User
 
Llamalama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 134
Default Re: PCIE1.0 to PCIE 2.0

Thanks guys. I think I'll hang on to what I have at the moment and save for a "real" upgrade.
__________________
Maximus III - Intel 875K@4ghz- 8 Gigs DDR3 1600 -2 x GTX 480-Corsair 1000W PSU
Llamalama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-09, 06:40 AM   #8
FragMeister
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 13
Default Re: PCIE1.0 to PCIE 2.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Medion View Post
His mobo is also PCI-E 1.0.
lol - that's funny
__________________
Never rub another mans rhubarb
FragMeister is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(PR) Eurocom Adds GeForce GTX 680M as Option to Neptune 2.0 and Racer 2.0 News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:30 AM
OGL 2.0 standard shading language is NOT Cg! JohnsonLKD NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 4 09-19-02 12:14 AM
Wait for PCI-X 2.0? Ramshambo2001 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 2 09-10-02 04:29 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.