Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-24-09, 11:00 PM   #1
kantlivelong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 48
Default 180.35 breaks terminal

Just installed 180.35 and my ctrl+c ctrl+d modifiers do not work in xterm,gnome-terminal,etc..

downgraded to 180.29 and works..


cmon!
kantlivelong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-09, 11:08 PM   #2
mooninite
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 477
Default Re: 180.35 breaks terminal

Uh... I don't see how an X11 driver affects keyboard input, but I'm on 180.35 and my CTRL+C, etc. function correctly in gnome-terminal and xterm.
mooninite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-09, 11:13 PM   #3
BassKnight
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: 180.35 breaks terminal

I don't have problems neither in xfce4-terminal, xterm or uxterm.
BassKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-09, 11:18 PM   #4
kantlivelong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 48
Default Re: 180.35 breaks terminal

not sure.. but ive gone back and forth 3 times.. same problem
kantlivelong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-09, 12:07 AM   #5
mlampard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: South Australia
Posts: 30
Smile Re: 180.35 breaks terminal

I encountered the exact same issue, but it seems to be a kde4 issue - logging in as a new user resolved the symptoms.
mlampard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-09, 01:18 AM   #6
woelfel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: 180.35 breaks terminal

I have exactly the same problem + logging out of KDE is not possible.
woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-09, 01:23 AM   #7
mlampard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: South Australia
Posts: 30
Default Re: 180.35 breaks terminal

I'm trying to narrow down the cause of the issue on my system. Is anyone who is experiencing the issue running something other than KDE4?
mlampard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-09, 03:08 AM   #8
mlampard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: South Australia
Posts: 30
Default Re: 180.35 breaks terminal

For me at least, not having a terminal open at startup (via the kde session manager) works around the issue. A manually opened terminal works fine then. I don't understand how the new driver can affect the session manager in that way though..
mlampard is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-25-09, 05:40 AM   #9
kvaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 44
Default Re: 180.35 breaks terminal

The same on my R61. After upgrading to 180.35 i can't stop program in terminal using ctrl+c
kvaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-09, 05:44 AM   #10
mlampard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: South Australia
Posts: 30
Default Re: 180.35 breaks terminal

Quote:
Originally Posted by kvaster View Post
The same on my R61. After upgrading to 180.35 i can't stop program in terminal using ctrl+c
are you running kde4? how are you opening your terminal?
mlampard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-09, 06:38 AM   #11
dillzz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 55
Default Re: 180.35 breaks terminal

I am experiencing the same thing. Kubuntu 8.04 64bit KDE 3.5.10 with 180.35. Terminal breaks and system becomes unresponsive. Go to screensaver options, highlight opengl preview and it won't change previews and locks. Downgraded and back to normal. I will try to get a capture and bug report when I get home.
dillzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-09, 07:11 AM   #12
kantlivelong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 48
Default Re: 180.35 breaks terminal

Hah! So im not crazy


Im using gnome though
kantlivelong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gigabyte Breaks Ivy Bridge and DDR3 Overclocking World Records News Archived News Items 0 05-30-12 05:00 PM
Chip Shot: Intel Breaks the Top 10 on "The Gartner Supply Chain Top 25" List News Archived News Items 0 05-26-12 06:00 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.