Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-28-09, 06:37 PM   #1
mgolisch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Default gtx 260 TVOverscan not working

Hi,

i have connected my CRT-TV using SVIDEO connector to my gtx 260 videocard.
But the Image is bigger than the tvscreen.There is quite a huge amount of the image cropped off, making it annoying to watch videos on it. With my previous setup(same tv + fx 5200) i was able to set the TVoverscan parameter in xorg.conf to correct that, but that doenst seem to have any effect.I also tried setting tvovercan using nvidia-settings but its the same.
Doesnt the drive support that feature anymore? Or is it a limitation of the TVencoder used in the gtx 260?Only solution so far for seeing the whole image/picture is switching my TV into 16:9 mode, at the cost of wasted space on the screen due to the black borders added on top and bottom.
Is there any solution to this?

thx in advance

Michael
mgolisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-09, 01:33 PM   #2
ap90033
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: gtx 260 TVOverscan not working

That is a GREAT question, and now we have had a few Months to think about it, I wonder if any of these linux genius guys could enlighten us. That would be wonderful...
ap90033 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-09, 12:33 AM   #3
Dragorep
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 98
Default Re: gtx 260 TVOverscan not working

I understand the answer is that when we gained vdpau we lost overscan correction, which is disappointing to take away what we had....

When I consider vdpau is still not stable it seems we have lost out twice...and for what?

The time to take away overscanning correction would be when there are no more fixed overscanning TV's.... This will be many years away. Please correct me if this is not correct.
Dragorep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-09, 07:03 AM   #4
ZombieRyushu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: gtx 260 TVOverscan not working

I have this issue as well.
ZombieRyushu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-09, 07:04 AM   #5
ZombieRyushu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: gtx 260 TVOverscan not working

I have this issue as well with my 8400.
ZombieRyushu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-09, 07:17 AM   #6
Dragorep
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 98
Default Re: gtx 260 TVOverscan not working

I understand any card that is running 180+ drivers will have this issue?

That pretty much means any card that can run those drivers - for a list see ftp://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Li...ppendix-a.html

This thread is not well named given the wide range of cards effected.

It might be better named something like "NVIDIA Gives VDPAU and takes Away Overscan Adjustment "

For these reasons many people would appreciate hearing if NVIDIA has plans to re-implement Linux Driver Overscan adjustment please.
Dragorep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-09, 01:22 AM   #7
utumno
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: gtx 260 TVOverscan not working

I am using drivers 185.18.36.

I have 2 cards: a GeForce 7100 GS and a 8400 GS.

the 7100 works great, but it lacks VDPAU and, most importantly for me, CUDA.
So I bought the 8400 to play with CUDA. That also works great, except that... I lost the overscanning.

With 7100 I am able to launch 'nvidia-settings' , go to GPU-0->TV-0 and be able to regulate 'TVOverScan' and see the results on my TV in realtime. With the 8400, this option is completely gone from the UI, and if I try to use it in xorg.conf, seems like it gets ignored.

That sucks because the default value for OverScan is much too high and a large portion of my screen gets chopped off.

NVidia guys, please re-add OverScan support to 8x cards!!
utumno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-09, 01:27 AM   #8
Dragorep
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 98
Default Re: gtx 260 TVOverscan not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by utumno View Post
I am using drivers 185.18.36.

NVidia guys, please re-add OverScan support to 8x cards!!
Guess what, they have heard us, did it in 190.36, and widened its scope in 190.40...so how about that!
Dragorep is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-18-09, 08:00 AM   #9
utumno
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: gtx 260 TVOverscan not working

utumno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-09, 09:13 AM   #10
utumno
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: gtx 260 TVOverscan not working

Well... Hmm. I have installed 190.36 , (from Ubuntu PPA) and not only I don't see the 'OverScan' slider in nvidia-settings in case of 8400 GS , but even with 7100 I cannot see it now ??

Let me try the official 190.40 from here...
utumno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-09, 09:24 AM   #11
utumno
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 9
Default Re: gtx 260 TVOverscan not working

Ok cool 190.40 has it
utumno is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Product Spotlight ' EVGA GTX 670 Review Round Up News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 1 05-11-12 01:15 AM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 02:50 PM
GALAXY Launches the GeForce GTX 670 and GTX 670 GC! News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:28 AM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:28 AM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 09:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.