Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-01-09, 07:27 PM   #145
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

This game needs a patch soon...the demo looks so much better
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-09, 09:49 AM   #146
Crow_Nest
Ace Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 1,418
Send a message via MSN to Crow_Nest
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Just played the demo and never finished it. Im all for the horror but the game just requires too much hardware power. Looks like i'll have to pass.
__________________
Desktop
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Intel i7 2700K @ 3.5 GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 670 OC 2GB |
| G.Skill RipJawsX PC3 12800 4GB x 2 | Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer | Intel SSD 520 120GB SSD |
| Hitachi 1TB SATA3 HDD | Asus P8Z68-V/GEN3 | Cooler Master Silent Pro M 700W |
| Cooler Master Centurion 5 II Casing | Samsung SyncMaster XL2370 |


Laptop : Lenovo IdeaPad Y450
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 2.2 GHz | NVIDIA GeForce G110M 256MB |
| 4GB DDR3 SDRAM | Western Digital 320GB | 14.1' LED Backlit Screen |


http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=73666&dateline=135279  2183
Crow_Nest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-09, 03:01 PM   #147
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

It's now on STEAM!
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-09, 12:58 PM   #148
AdamK47
 
AdamK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinci, OH
Posts: 984
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

It's a great game, but it does have a feel and look that's rough around the edges. For the most part performance isn't an issue for me since I have a Core i7 @ 3.8GHz and two overclocked GTX 280s in SLI. I have all settings maxed @ 1920x1080. It looks great, but does dip to around 30 FPS at times. I can't imagine this game being playable at those settings on any single card setup.
AdamK47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-09, 06:17 PM   #149
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamK47 View Post
I have all settings maxed @ 1920x1080. It looks great, but does dip to around 30 FPS at times. I can't imagine this game being playable at those settings on any single card setup.
I play it on a single GTX 260 with a Q660 at 1920x1200 with everything maxed except on Shader Model 3.0.

I get decent frames, especially for something so slow moving (at least at the start). 30-40fps probably. If the action really heats up later on I might need to tone some other stuff down.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-09, 03:03 AM   #150
JaylumX
Something Else
 
JaylumX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Somewhere Else
Posts: 374
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Does physx work in SM3.0 render mode or is it just only 4.0 mode?
__________________
Half the fun is discovering it yourself

i5 760 @ 4.0 | P7P55D-E | 8GB DDR3 | 60 & 120GB SSD - 1TB SATA 2 | HD 7950 @ 1200/6300 | HDAV 1.3 | HD598

Xbox 360 120GB | PS3 40GB | Wii 8GB | Sony KDL-32EX723BU
JaylumX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-09, 04:13 PM   #151
ATi
RooR
 
ATi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaylumX View Post
Does physx work in SM3.0 render mode or is it just only 4.0 mode?
both
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K @4.3
ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0)
msi GTX295
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 2 x 4GB 1648
HD1.5tb
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
corsair620HX
Windows7 64 home premium
Dell LED G2210
ATi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-09, 07:18 PM   #152
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaylumX View Post
Does physx work in SM3.0 render mode or is it just only 4.0 mode?
Keep in mind you don't get the dynamic fluid and luminousity effects with Shader 3.0, and instead you get simple textures. You won't see water flooding the floor, or water drops, etc. Since the water effects are one of the main features you are missing a lot by not using shader 4.

It's hard to see in the screenshots but I posted about it here. What you can't see is the flood of water on the floor under 4.0, and under 3.0 the floor is totally dry.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-11-09, 07:20 PM   #153
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

The PhysX patch has apparently not been abandoned, and on 5-8 it was said it will be available "soon". Keep in mind within the software industry "soon" ussually means "less than a year away".

http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showpos...94&postcount=7
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-09, 08:19 AM   #154
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Did I miss something, or does the retail version of this game not have any copy protection? It installed quickly and has not required the CD to be in the drive when launched.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-09, 12:42 PM   #155
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

If you bought an EVGA card after May 1st, you can get the PhysX version for free
http://www.evga.com/articles/00471/
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-09, 03:15 AM   #156
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Here's a few favorites which I've posted in other threads. A cool feature that I just noticed is that the intensity of your flash light beam varies with battery temperature.







__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
X Failed to load NVdriver c00lr4c3r NVIDIA Linux 13 10-22-02 01:44 PM
Error messages... HELP!!!! Imperito NVIDIA Linux 3 09-24-02 10:46 PM
GForce drivers installed...but dont work tomfullery NVIDIA Linux 6 09-22-02 08:23 AM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 10:16 PM
RH7.3 and nForce - can't find the module dmw400 NVIDIA Linux 4 08-05-02 12:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.