Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-13-09, 11:29 AM   #157
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Patch
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-09, 02:03 PM   #158
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Indeed, where is it? It was announced a long time ago...

Beautiful shots sillyeagle! Make me want to play the game even more
Thanks man. I think Jakup is telling us the EVGA version has the patch included, and while I can see why they would withhold it until the EVGA version is ready, I don't know why they would still be withholding it.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-09, 03:54 PM   #159
AdamK47
 
AdamK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinci, OH
Posts: 984
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by sillyeagle View Post
Keep in mind you don't get the dynamic fluid and luminousity effects with Shader 3.0, and instead you get simple textures. You won't see water flooding the floor, or water drops, etc. Since the water effects are one of the main features you are missing a lot by not using shader 4.

It's hard to see in the screenshots but I posted about it here. What you can't see is the flood of water on the floor under 4.0, and under 3.0 the floor is totally dry.
I wish they used that effect more in the game. I've only seen one room with water drops and pooling so far. It is a pretty cool watching the hundreds of water drops splash on the floor and start pooling.
AdamK47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-09, 08:57 PM   #160
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by sillyeagle View Post
Thanks man. I think Jakup is telling us the EVGA version has the patch included, and while I can see why they would withhold it until the EVGA version is ready, I don't know why they would still be withholding it.
I am really not sure about the release of the patch for the retail version, but I can tell you that the EVGA full version has it.
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-09, 10:11 AM   #161
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Is it normal to get 4fps then have it jump to 50fps just by turning around or moving a few feet? I have all the settings to there highest, Physix is also set at max. Check my sig for my system.

Thanks!
__________________
Antec Nine Hundred case. Core I-7 920 @ 3.56GHz, Noctua NH-U12P Cooler, EVGA 01G-P3-1180-AR GeForce GTX-285 1GB, EVGA GT-240 Superclocked 512Mb used as a Physx card, DFI LANPARTY JR X58-T3H6, OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1600 7-7-7-18, Intel X25-V SSD, used as a boot drive, 2X Seagate 500Gig 32MB Cache 7200RPM in RAID 0, Logitec G-15 keyboard, Logitech MX-518 Mouse, CH Combatstick 568, Xboc Controller, LG L227WTG-PF 22" LCD Monitor 1680x1050. Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit. Speakers: KRK Rokit8 studio monitors.

http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/media/customer.jpg
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-09, 10:56 AM   #162
tornadog
Keeper of the Faith
 
tornadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,446
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Thanks EVGA. I was in 2 minds about the game after the demo, but for free, I will surely try it out!!!!

What r ur settings SillyEagle. Mine is all blurry and sh*t. I need ti to look smooth and sharp like yours!
__________________
i7 950 @ 4.2Ghz w/ Venomous-X, Asus Sabertooth x58, 8gb DDR3 GSkill 1600Mhz,MSI N670 PE, Win 7 Ult. x64, Samsung PN50C7000, Pioneer VSX 920-K, Polk Monitor 5.0 Speakers, Bic H100 Sub
tornadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-09, 02:02 PM   #163
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by tornadog View Post
What r ur settings SillyEagle. Mine is all blurry and sh*t. I need ti to look smooth and sharp like yours!
Make sure your desktop resolution is set the same as your in-game resolution. If I still have my desktop at 1280 when gaming at 1600x1200 it will be all blurry. Once my desktop is set to 1600 it's totally sharp.

I've been playing with all the settings maxed out most of the time, though it will drop to 20fps in some rooms. If I feel like I need more frames I'll turn off filtering, or drop to 1280x960, which gives me a huge performance gain.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-09, 02:17 PM   #164
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Hey guys, take a look at this load of crap. As suspected they are intentionally withholding the patch after they initially promised it at the time of release. Seems to me this is the fault of EVGA, that they selfishly want to force users to buy their cards in order to get the patched version. EVGA is normally a good company, but this stunt to total BS. 1C gains nothing by withholding the patch, so I'm quite sure EVGA's marketing deal with 1C is to blame for this. I wish 1C would get some negative press for not delivering on their promise. Maybe that would stop this kind of stuff in the future.

http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showthread.php?t=7547
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-14-09, 02:20 PM   #165
Ywap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 627
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by musman View Post
Is it normal to get 4fps then have it jump to 50fps just by turning around or moving a few feet? I have all the settings to there highest, Physix is also set at max. Check my sig for my system.

Thanks!
I have given up on this game for a while. As soon as something happens i get hickups/hard drive loading and the framerate is all over the place.

The game itself might be good but the performance make it impossible for me to enjoy it. Maybe this time next year.....
__________________
i7 2600k - Msi P67A-GD55 - Noctua NH-D14 - 8gb Corsair 1600mhz - Gigabyte GTX 580 - Corsair 600t - Corsair TX 850w - Windows 7 64-bit
Ywap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-09, 03:28 PM   #166
JohnDio
Registered User
 
JohnDio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

FYI, the patch just adds some more PhysX effects. Performance wise, it will be the same. This really sucks, especially if you are an ATI card owner!
JohnDio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-09, 03:39 PM   #167
MaxFX
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 580
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

And it should add 3D Vision support to!
Aleast thats what they said before so I cant frikking wait, give it to me allready
MaxFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-09, 04:19 PM   #168
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

I don't blame Evga...its 1C that don't have the balls to release the patch.

I bought a dumb PhysX card for this POS game on the 30th from Evga and I cant even get a free copy
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
X Failed to load NVdriver c00lr4c3r NVIDIA Linux 13 10-22-02 01:44 PM
Error messages... HELP!!!! Imperito NVIDIA Linux 3 09-24-02 10:46 PM
GForce drivers installed...but dont work tomfullery NVIDIA Linux 6 09-22-02 08:23 AM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 10:16 PM
RH7.3 and nForce - can't find the module dmw400 NVIDIA Linux 4 08-05-02 12:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.