Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-19-09, 04:14 AM   #61
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike89 View Post
Dunno what to make of this game from the screenshots. Looks rather bland with not much detail. Characters don't look very good. I hope the game looks better than those screenshots represent.
Maybe you could call it bland, but I have only played it for about 2 hours. If you let the atmosphere take over you, it might be quite good.
__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-09, 11:19 AM   #62
AdamK47
 
AdamK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinci, OH
Posts: 984
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

The tech demo was very impressive and ran well with a Core i7 & GTX 280 SLI. I'll be picking this one up.
AdamK47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-09, 08:06 PM   #63
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamK47 View Post
ran well with a Core i7 & GTX 280 SLI.
I would certainly hope so.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-09, 10:41 PM   #64
styles-T
-========-
 
styles-T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Smallville
Posts: 492
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike89 View Post
Dunno what to make of this game from the screenshots. Looks rather bland with not much detail. Characters don't look very good. I hope the game looks better than those screenshots represent.
I just dl'd the Techdemo. This game looks awesome. I'm definitely buying this one when its released.

Avg FPS : 35
Min : 22
Max : 67

Adding an extra card for Physx is about an extra 10FPS it seems.
__________________
♪♫♪♫ ASUS P6T | I7 920 @ 3.6GHZ | 6GB OCZ PC3-12800 | EVGA GTX570 | CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W |Antec 900 ♪♫♪♫
styles-T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-09, 06:47 AM   #65
MaxFX
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 580
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Thats correct and what I have said many times, with my 8800GT 512Mb it's typical 10 more fps and do we need it, without it brings my GTX 285 to it's knees!
pHysX FTW
MaxFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-09, 06:58 AM   #66
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Can you turn physics off? I didn't see the option in the demo.

I really don't care about physics as much as I care about other things (AA, native res, etc.).
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-09, 09:39 AM   #67
Logical
Registered User
 
Logical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Let the environment capture you....lol

I really dont see what the big deal is with this game it really isnt that good at all...so much so, since the day i bought it i havent played it since.

If you have the tech demo then dont bother with the game..you aint missing much. Biggest waste of my money this year.


BTW turn the physics off and your left with a game that that wouldnt look out of place 3 years ago.
Logical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-09, 12:39 PM   #68
MaxFX
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 580
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
Can you turn physics off? I didn't see the option in the demo.

I really don't care about physics as much as I care about other things (AA, native res, etc.).
Yepp you can turn of the physics in the game but I have not tested without it.

Now when I have a GTX 285 i can finaly enjoy AA to, earlier with only the 8800GT I cant and of course not in 1920*1200. so it feels nice to finaly have some AA again
MaxFX is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-20-09, 01:34 PM   #69
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Logical View Post
BTW turn the physics off and your left with a game that that wouldnt look out of place 3 years ago.
The tech demo looked rather stunning in my opinion.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-09, 04:11 AM   #70
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

Just tried to run the tech demo. Nzone says it's for XP and Vista but after downloading and trying to install it, I get a message saying it's for Vista only.

Is this going to be a Vista only game?
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-09, 07:20 AM   #71
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

game is pretty demanding, but I have a fairly old machine, some rooms aren't very well optimised, like I get 40 in some rooms and 15 in others. It's fairly playable at 20+ because it's so slow paced.

I like it though, good atmosphere nice pacing, good jump scares. The mental echoes are cool I think, they all seem quite different really, some are short while others are more involved. The welder guy is kinda freaky.

Some mag gave this 40% which is complete rubbish. I'd rate it closer to 80.
__________________
.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-09, 08:25 AM   #72
Dreamweavernoob
Desperate code
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 790
Default Re: Cryostasis Full Version Thread

It looks lovely but it rapes your system.

Quad core 45nm @ 3.6ghz
4gb 1000mhz 2x2
gtx 295

@ 1920x1200 top quality = rapage. I was only getting 30fps and that kept plummeting down to the teens when I opened a door
__________________
If you attack a prostitute, is it rape or merely shoplifting?
Dreamweavernoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
X Failed to load NVdriver c00lr4c3r NVIDIA Linux 13 10-22-02 02:44 PM
Error messages... HELP!!!! Imperito NVIDIA Linux 3 09-24-02 11:46 PM
GForce drivers installed...but dont work tomfullery NVIDIA Linux 6 09-22-02 09:23 AM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 11:16 PM
RH7.3 and nForce - can't find the module dmw400 NVIDIA Linux 4 08-05-02 01:14 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.