Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-27-02, 10:32 PM   #1
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default I think Morrowind deserves another thread

I just ran it now with max aniso and -3.0 LOD and 8x aniso and it runs perfect in towns at 1152x864. No slowdown. As soon as you enable AA it kills the framerate lolz to unplayable levels in towns.
I'll stick to high res and sharpest quality with NO AA for now.
I will update my homepage with pics (doing it now as I type). Framerate never once diped below 35fps with my current settings which actually is amazing. This game runs damn good. Also I have my viewing range half way.

Just updated my site with a pic.
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR

Last edited by Kruno; 07-27-02 at 10:57 PM.
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 01:23 AM   #2
druga runda
Zeus Gromovnik
 
druga runda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Gerbilizator
Posts: 374
Default

It surely deserves another thread.

But you are running at what 2.7ghz?

My poor XP 1500+ always keeps over 20 FPS in towns with view at ~1/3 But hey, it is still bearable for a great game.

And why don't you run at 1600x1200, not much of a difference to me. 1-2 FPS. Even though i went down to 1024x768 as I am normally around 26, 27 fps so those 1-2 mean something to me. But 1600x1200 looks much better.

GFti200 220/500
256mb ram
druga runda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 01:45 AM   #3
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

Err Dude! I am running roughly around 1.8gig. You know 1 way of ganing framrate is to close of al things in bg like explorer and other services in XP and overclock your video card to extremes. Unless it is going 20fps on my system but feels like it's moving at 30fps+.
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 07:59 AM   #4
DIMA
Registered User
 
DIMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 78
Send a message via ICQ to DIMA
Default

The game is really a system hog!!!!

__________________
P4 2ghz
512mb RDRAM
GF4 TI4600
DIMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 08:33 AM   #5
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default

Hence my tweak works brilliantly. I made a post before the NvNews cataclysm about how to maximise performance through leaving the most minimum things running. I'm pretty sure not many if anyone had followed my advice. People wonder how I get better frame rate then them when their system is above mine is pretty obvious. Tweak the living crip out of your system. Also enable quadratic lighting in the Morrowind ini file.

Best tweak sites:

www.tweak3d.net
www.3dspotlight.com
www.majorgeeks.com
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 08:48 AM   #6
vampireuk
**** Holster
 
vampireuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: The armoury
Posts: 2,813
Send a message via AIM to vampireuk
Default

The background on your site is pretty cool
vampireuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 08:58 AM   #7
Kruno
TypeDef's assistant
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,641
Send a message via ICQ to Kruno Send a message via AIM to Kruno
Default


You seen my site. YAY! People look at my site. thanks
__________________
"Never before has any voice dared to utter the words of that tongue in Imladris, Mr. Anderson" - Elrond LOTR
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 11:27 AM   #8
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,005
Default

I played morrow wind a little yesterday but didn't get into that much. Maybe because it seems to be running a little slow on my video card (voltage modded Kyro 2 running at 190mhz). Is there a way to show the fps in game?

edit - about 5 seconds after I posted this I saw the showfps line in the morrowind ini file. heh.

Last edited by Starscream; 07-28-02 at 01:04 PM.
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-28-02, 11:30 AM   #9
PCarr78
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 505
Default

KILER, can you post a pic of MW running at those settings?
PCarr78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 12:35 PM   #10
prydah
WC3 - DOTA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: in your mind's eye...
Posts: 28
Default morrowind finally runs better...

with the new (well not-so-new) first official patch, morrowind runs great

and that was patched and tested before i upgraded to my ti 4200.

but with the ti 4200, i finally got to see the water and water reflections correctly and its awesome!
__________________
duron 1.2ghz
siluro 4200 64mb
win2k pro
prydah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 12:54 PM   #11
PCarr78
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 505
Default

prydah what's ur comp?
PCarr78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-02, 02:17 PM   #12
prydah
WC3 - DOTA
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: in your mind's eye...
Posts: 28
Smile

cpu: duron 1.2ghz
mobo: a7v
ram: 512mb
gpu: siluro ti4200
gpu drivers: 28.32
sound: sblive value
os: w2k sp2
directx: 8.1b

morrowind version: 1.1.0605
settings: high-quality (everthing i can think of maxed within the .ini and in-game settings menus)

morrowind is much more playable now since the official patch even before i upgraded my graphics card.


i wanna try all the new mods they got out for the game now like the jedi mod and the beast of burden mod where u can have all your loot lugged around by that one semi-domestic beast (forgot its name already lol!) like in dungeon siege u can buy a pack mule to carry your extra things
__________________
duron 1.2ghz
siluro 4200 64mb
win2k pro
prydah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Morrowind Overhaul 3.0 mod out now News Archived News Items 0 10-01-12 11:00 AM
** Official Dark Souls Thread *** FastRedPonyCar Gaming Central 8 09-11-12 03:42 PM
Fitness Thread Mr Bigman Open Forum 2 08-30-12 01:57 AM
Thread deletion. PCarr78 Feedback Forum 9 09-23-02 08:25 PM
Official Grand Theft Auto 3 thread volt Gaming Central 6 08-01-02 07:04 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.