Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-17-09, 03:13 AM   #13
packermann
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 47
Default Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics

Lenovo R61, Quadro NVS140

a) no BIOS option
b) nvidia-settings show 512MB, nvclock shows 128MB, X.org shows 512MB
packermann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-09, 03:28 AM   #14
Fackamato
User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 366
Default Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics

Dell Inspiron 1520, 8600M GT 256MB DDR2

a) no
b) Card is speced at 256MB, but windows shows 512MB available.
Fackamato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-09, 07:47 AM   #15
zim2dive
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 145
Default Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics

I had (sold) an Acer X1200 with 8200 IGP. The BIOS offered

- Auto
- 128M
- 256M

as options.
zim2dive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-09, 08:14 AM   #16
teox78
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics

Acer 6930G , GeForce 9300M GS

a) no
b) Card is speced at 256MB, but nvidia-settings shows 512MB available.
teox78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-09, 08:42 AM   #17
quetzyg
Linux Power User!
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: /home/quetzyg
Posts: 63
Default Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics

MSI laptop GX620 with a GeForce 9600M GT

a) No BIOS options are available.
b) The card has 512MB of RAM
quetzyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-09, 08:46 AM   #18
cthulhu
Great Old One
 
cthulhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 124
Default Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics

Asus U6V w/ 9300M GS
256MB Video memory (confirmed with nvclock)
No bios option
nvidia-settings and Xorg.0.log both report 512MB memory
__________________
Desktop: Asus P5B Deluxe, Core2Duo E8500, 2GB Corsair 800MHz CL4, Gigabyte GTX460 1024MB
HTPC: Asus P5B-E, Core2Duo 6300, 1GB Corsair 533MHz, Asus 9500GT w/ 512MB DDR3
Server: Gigabyte D510UD, Atom D510, 2GB Corsair 800MHz, Hauppauge NOVA-T500 dual DVB-T tuner, 4x 2TB Samsung F3EG (RAID5)
Laptop: Asus U6V, Core2Duo P8400, 3GB DDR2, 9300M GS
OS on all: Gentoo Linux

Bought a computer bundled with windows? Don't want to use windows? Demand a refund!
cthulhu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-09, 09:00 AM   #19
BassKnight
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics

Zotac Geforce 8200

a) yes
b) 64MB, 128MB, 256MB, 512MB
BassKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-09, 09:45 AM   #20
ledoc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 330
Default Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics

Thinkpad with fx570m:
no bios option, nvidia-settings says 512mb (and nothing about turbocache something!), nvclock 256mb.
(Like I knew what 'turbocache' is..)
ledoc is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-17-09, 10:07 AM   #21
groovy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics

Sony VAIO VGN-AR71S; 8600M GT

a) no BIOS option
b) nvidia-settings show 512MB, nvclock shows 256MB
groovy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-09, 10:39 AM   #22
Flyser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics

Thinkpad R61, Quaddro NVS140-M
a) no
b) 128 MB dedicated video ram and up to 384 MB turbomemory (=512MB)

If I understand the whole vdpau with turbomemory problem correctly, then the difficulty is that the memory is not statically allocated. So what about a configuration key in the xorg.conf device section to select the amount of memory that is statically allocated on xserver startup?
Flyser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-09, 10:51 AM   #23
Fackamato
User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 366
Default Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics

Not just that. Turbomemory is SLOW. IIRC it's completely unusable for any acceleration stuff.
Fackamato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-09, 11:32 AM   #24
twoborg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Poll: VDPAU, turbocache and *integrated* graphics

XFX GeForce 8200 AMD SOCKET 940 DDR2 (MI-A78S-8209)

Auto/32/64/128/256/512/Disabled

(Auto shows 512 to nvidia-settings, but 256 to nvclock. Setting it to 512 shows 512 in both applications)

Last edited by twoborg; 03-17-09 at 11:44 AM. Reason: Added note regarding nvclock after reading another post
twoborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.