Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-20-09, 04:39 PM   #1
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Last Remnant PC activation issues

WOW what a big screw up.

The PC version of The Last Remnant, which launches today in Europe, cannot be played nor installed as far as we - and a Eurogamer reader with the same problem (and an entire Steam forum with the same problem) - can ascertain.

The problem revolves around Steam, with which the game needs to be activated using a registration code found on the back of the manual.

Any attempt to do so, however, is met by the following message: "The Last Remnant has not been officially released, and cannot be unlocked at this time. Please check Steam news to find out the release time. Steam will notify you when the game becomes unlocked."

Worryingly, The Last Remnant is not due for launch on Steam until 9th April, when it will become the first Square Enix game on the digital distribution service.

Square Enix was unavailable to tell us whether we will have to wait until then to activate and play the game. We'll keep chasing them. It's not like we can sit here playing the game after all.

Thanks to Eurogamer reader John Garbutt for pointing this out.


http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/th...playable-on-pc


Will they have to wait till April 9th?
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-09, 04:47 PM   #2
Medion
 
Medion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Barksdale AFB, La
Posts: 1,238
Default Re: Last Remnant PC activation issues

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...58&postcount=2

Quote:
From what I've read, and not played, it was an average to above average console RPG with some technical issues. If you prefer console RPGs, there are few on the PC, so it might be worth getting. However, keep in mind that Square has a horrid record with PC ports, even with games that didn't have issues on the consoles. I'd cautiously wait on some reviews for the PC version.
Seriously, NEVER touch a PC game made by Square. FF7 PC was so bad, it actually overshadowed all of the glitches with Sin (they were released within a month of each other). FF8 was so bad, not even the JRPG PC crowd would touch it. FF11 was relatively bug free, but was the most literal PS2 port seen at the time, so it had all kinds of configuration issues, and poor performance.
Medion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-09, 04:51 PM   #3
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Last Remnant PC activation issues

ok, But this activation issue is actually Steam fault, it has nothing to do with coding. They can't play the game because steam has it locked down till April 9th.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-09, 04:59 PM   #4
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Last Remnant PC activation issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Medion View Post
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...58&postcount=2



Seriously, NEVER touch a PC game made by Square. FF7 PC was so bad, it actually overshadowed all of the glitches with Sin (they were released within a month of each other). FF8 was so bad, not even the JRPG PC crowd would touch it. FF11 was relatively bug free, but was the most literal PS2 port seen at the time, so it had all kinds of configuration issues, and poor performance.
Actually Square never had anything to do with the Final Fantasy 7 port, both it and 8 were handled by Eidos. Final Fantasy XI was done pretty well on the PC, it really only fails in regards to controls.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-09, 05:11 PM   #5
Mangler
DRM is your friend
 
Mangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 200
Default Re: Last Remnant PC activation issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
WOW what a big screw up.

The PC version of The Last Remnant, which launches today in Europe, cannot be played nor installed as far as we - and a Eurogamer reader with the same problem (and an entire Steam forum with the same problem) - can ascertain.

The problem revolves around Steam, with which the game needs to be activated using a registration code found on the back of the manual.

Any attempt to do so, however, is met by the following message: "The Last Remnant has not been officially released, and cannot be unlocked at this time. Please check Steam news to find out the release time. Steam will notify you when the game becomes unlocked."

Worryingly, The Last Remnant is not due for launch on Steam until 9th April, when it will become the first Square Enix game on the digital distribution service.

Square Enix was unavailable to tell us whether we will have to wait until then to activate and play the game. We'll keep chasing them. It's not like we can sit here playing the game after all.

Thanks to Eurogamer reader John Garbutt for pointing this out.


http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/th...playable-on-pc


Will they have to wait till April 9th?
My copy works, maybe they tried to activate the game too early?
Mangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-09, 05:24 PM   #6
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Last Remnant PC activation issues

Yeah, this happened with Empire Total War and Saint's Row 2 and some other games, but was quickly corrected afterward.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-09, 07:25 PM   #7
Medion
 
Medion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Barksdale AFB, La
Posts: 1,238
Default Re: Last Remnant PC activation issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
Actually Square never had anything to do with the Final Fantasy 7 port, both it and 8 were handled by Eidos. Final Fantasy XI was done pretty well on the PC, it really only fails in regards to controls.
Incorrect. Eidos handled the US publishing of the port, but the port was done in house at Square. However, Square did request help from some people at 3Dfx early in the development, as well as some outside help for DirectX programming.

Eidos wasn't even the publisher for FF8 PC, EA was. That was around the time that Square and EA made a publishing agreement, where EA would publish Square games in the US, and vice versa.
Medion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-09, 07:45 PM   #8
jeffmd
Has a vegetation fetish
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,816
Default Re: Last Remnant PC activation issues

The PC version of last remnant is a beautiful game.
__________________
_________________________________________________
Mobo: EVGA 122-ck-nf68 680i sli, CPU: C2D Quad 6600, Video: EVGA GTX 460 1gb SC, Sound: X-fi gaming, Windows 7, Antec P180b,Thermalright Ultra-120 HSF, Antec TruPower TP3-650, 4 Gigs RAM
jeffmd is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-20-09, 09:05 PM   #9
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Last Remnant PC activation issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Medion View Post
Incorrect. Eidos handled the US publishing of the port, but the port was done in house at Square. However, Square did request help from some people at 3Dfx early in the development, as well as some outside help for DirectX programming.

Eidos wasn't even the publisher for FF8 PC, EA was. That was around the time that Square and EA made a publishing agreement, where EA would publish Square games in the US, and vice versa.
They requested help from 3DFX then ditched the Glide support right before launch. :: Bad move as the Glide version ran so much much smoother.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-09, 03:55 AM   #10
Medion
 
Medion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Barksdale AFB, La
Posts: 1,238
Default Re: Last Remnant PC activation issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
They requested help from 3DFX then ditched the Glide support right before launch. :: Bad move as the Glide version ran so much much smoother.
Yup. When they released that first playable demo, it was beautiful. When the retail game came out, I was pissed because of all the changes. It was the worst case of demo tweaking I had ever seen. Off the top of my head, here were the things changed for retail, from the first demo.

-Music changed to MIDI
-Direct3D only
-they forgot to include the proper video codec, so many people had issues with FMV (I was one of them)
Medion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-09, 09:30 AM   #11
bardiche
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Last Remnant PC activation issues

hi guys i know this might be a bit off topic but

does this game include any other sort of drm such as SecuROm or limited number of game activations in the retial boxed copy

can someone who has the retail copy confirm this :P

many thanks
bardiche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-09, 11:00 AM   #12
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Last Remnant PC activation issues

It uses Steam, the most intrusive DRM out there (but people love it).
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVNET device not present, delaying activation robothefan NVIDIA Linux 4 10-01-02 09:43 PM
Strange RedHat 7.3 issues with A7N266-C nforceuser NVIDIA Linux 8 09-27-02 03:16 PM
Overclocking issues... mcortz_2000 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 5 09-16-02 03:41 PM
Is there a Microsoft patch for the refresh rate issues yet? Zarich NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 22 08-24-02 01:02 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.