Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-01-09, 02:44 PM   #13
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

x-fi forte is great, reason why i grabbed x-fi prelude (PCI) because I have two PCI slots that are not being used.

PCI-E version would prevent me going SLI, if i ever would choose that route.

board has 3 PCI-E 16x, and 1 PCI-E 1x, problem is that PCI-E 1x is covered by the video card, that leads me with 3 PCI-E, one being used by video card of course, and second being used right now by Silicon Image 2 port esata card. Just have one PCI-E free.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-09, 02:50 PM   #14
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

thats why i went with the gigabyte for the extra ports
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-09, 03:08 PM   #15
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

Have you sold that X-Fi already?
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 8gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-09, 05:04 PM   #16
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

its gathering dust atm
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-09, 05:35 PM   #17
Amaury
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 465
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

your're a not a true leet gamer until you have the fatality titanium plutonium kryptonite extreme edition x-fi. gotta love "creative" marketing huh?
Amaury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-09, 12:28 AM   #18
Lazaredz
Giggitty
 
Lazaredz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 685
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

I just recently put my X-Fi back into my machine after a year with onboard. Took it out due to LOTRO issues at launch and tossed it back in cause I wanted to play Doom 3 and Quake IV again. Forgot how good a dedicated sound card can sound.
__________________
MAIN: P180B, Q6600 @ 3.2, Asus P5B Deluxe, Mushkin Redline DDR2 1000 4GB (2x2), Evga 8800 GTX (660/1900), WD Raptor 150GB, WD 2500KS, Plextor 755SA, Seasonic M12 700.

Mobil: Sager 9261, Q6600, Unknown P965 MB, 4GB (2x2) PC2 6400, 7950 Go, Azalia Sound System, Hitachi 100GB 7200 RPM, Optiarc 8X DVD RW +/-, BIG ARSE BRICK PSU!!!!
Lazaredz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-09, 08:06 AM   #19
jass
Registered User
 
jass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Eire
Posts: 49
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

I remembered I saw a good comparison between onboard and X-Fi sound cards.
Found that link now:
http://www.insidehw.com/Reviews/Mult...up/Page-7.html
It seems that although onboard sound has improved it is still not as good as dedicated cards like the X-Fi.
__________________
Specs change but the wattage remains the same.
jass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-09, 08:12 AM   #20
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jass View Post
I remembered I saw a good comparison between onboard and X-Fi sound cards.
Found that link now:
http://www.insidehw.com/Reviews/Mult...up/Page-7.html
It seems that although onboard sound has improved it is still not as good as dedicated cards like the X-Fi.
truth is every dedicated hardware is better then onboard.

would that be video, sound, lan, hdd controller, etc..
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-06-09, 08:37 AM   #21
Thunderbolt56
Gladiusdoctori
 
Thunderbolt56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 198
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

Timely thread. I just finished doing all the same research as I'm building a new rig as well and was wondering the same thing. I've never run without a dedicated sound card myself either (except in my laptop), and was passively hoping things had changed for onboard sound. In fact they have, but not to the point that ANY power user would find it acceptable.

I got this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829102021
Thunderbolt56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-09, 08:48 AM   #22
Crow_Nest
Ace Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 1,418
Send a message via MSN to Crow_Nest
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

Been using my xtremegamer for several months and i havent run into any problems. Quite satisfied with it so far.

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger View Post
The gamer isn't a "real" x-fi though is it?
According to wiki all of the x-fi soundcards are in fact full working x-fi's with the exception of the XtremeAudio. The XA is a rebranded audigy SE and it also lacks basic hardware acceleration like the SB Live! 24-bit.
__________________
Desktop
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Intel i7 2700K @ 3.5 GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 670 OC 2GB |
| G.Skill RipJawsX PC3 12800 4GB x 2 | Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer | Intel SSD 520 120GB SSD |
| Hitachi 1TB SATA3 HDD | Asus P8Z68-V/GEN3 | Cooler Master Silent Pro M 700W |
| Cooler Master Centurion 5 II Casing | Samsung SyncMaster XL2370 |


Laptop : Lenovo IdeaPad Y450
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 2.2 GHz | NVIDIA GeForce G110M 256MB |
| 4GB DDR3 SDRAM | Western Digital 320GB | 14.1' LED Backlit Screen |


http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=73666&dateline=135279  2183
Crow_Nest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-09, 09:00 AM   #23
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

I had gone back to onboard for a while, but couldn't really stand it. The difference between it and my old X-Fi XtremeGamer was quite huge. I was thinking of trying the Asus Xonar but instead bought an Auzentech X-Fi Prelude on Fleabay for less than $100. It works great using a modified X-Fi driver pack compiled by daniel_k, as the ones from Auzentech include a really old version of ALchemy.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-09, 09:09 AM   #24
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

you don't have to use the alchemy from auzen, just install the latest version from creative
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-31-02 12:59 AM
Got a Hercules sound card, read here plz! Fluke General Hardware 32 09-30-02 09:50 AM
The NV Sound Card Poll saturnotaku General Hardware 19 09-10-02 09:47 AM
Error! Linux cannot find my nVidia integrated sound card! Please help! targatop NVIDIA Linux 1 09-08-02 05:55 PM
Need a truly DOS compatible sound card. Switch General Hardware 11 09-06-02 11:35 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.