Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-06-09, 08:14 AM   #25
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

nm
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-09, 08:21 AM   #26
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
you don't have to use the alchemy from auzen, just install the latest version from creative
If you try to install it separately, it will tell you that you don't have a supported sound card. The daniel_k pack works around it.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-09, 09:55 AM   #27
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

just installed the support pack 1.1 just to check it out.

found few problems,

encoder tab in audio console is missing DTS settings
encoder tab in audio console lets you sellect DDL, but there are no settings.
settings speakers in speaker tab has no affect on windows settings, i set 5.1 in audio console, but windows stayed in stereo
2.20 daniel_k driver didn't install, kept getitng device can't start error

found these issues in less then 5 minutes, something tells me there will be more.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-09, 10:21 AM   #28
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

screw this, will build my own custom pack, wish me luck
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-09, 10:53 AM   #29
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
screw this, will build my own custom pack, wish me luck
Good luck and don't forget to share it once you're done.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-09, 10:58 AM   #30
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

i only have prelude, so not sure if it will work on other cards

x-fi prelude driver is base, updated to latest Alchemy (newer then daniel_k), updated to latest console launcher (newer then daniek_K), kept auzentech audio console (better DDL/DTS Support), added THX console,
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-09, 11:04 AM   #31
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
i only have prelude, so not sure if it will work on other cards

x-fi prelude driver is base, updated to latest Alchemy (newer then daniel_k), updated to latest console launcher (newer then daniek_K), kept auzentech audio console (better DDL/DTS Support), added THX console,
Cool. Please be sure to share this once you're done.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-09, 11:07 AM   #32
Phyre
Registered User
 
Phyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Central Louisiana
Posts: 323
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

I just recently went from Vista 32 to Vista 64. I had an X-Fi, but the thing popped and crackled like a mad man in V64. So, I bought an Auzentech Prelude. It worked fine; I couldn't believe it.

Things worked fine for several months. Then, I was getting "Login process has failed to create the security options dialog" this Friday. The sound was just fine. So, I said fook it and uninstalled Vista. I was too lazy to uninstall two sticks of RAM to reinstall Vista, so I'm using XP 32 again.
Phyre is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-06-09, 11:34 AM   #33
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.



all done , there is no fancy all-in-one installer, THX console needs to be installed seperatly, plus there are two more apps that some might might useful.

for example auto mode switcher, and sound blaster enchancements for speaker properties (note that these enchancements will install second control panel from creative)
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-09, 03:12 PM   #34
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
i only have prelude, so not sure if it will work on other cards

x-fi prelude driver is base, updated to latest Alchemy (newer then daniel_k), updated to latest console launcher (newer then daniek_K), kept auzentech audio console (better DDL/DTS Support), added THX console,
will it work with my forte?
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-09, 04:15 PM   #35
jeffmd
Has a vegetation fetish
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,816
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

nekro, I think you installed to much. ^^ I just download the web drivers, gives me all the functionality, none of the bloat or fancy windows.
__________________
_________________________________________________
Mobo: EVGA 122-ck-nf68 680i sli, CPU: C2D Quad 6600, Video: EVGA GTX 460 1gb SC, Sound: X-fi gaming, Windows 7, Antec P180b,Thermalright Ultra-120 HSF, Antec TruPower TP3-650, 4 Gigs RAM
jeffmd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-09, 04:49 PM   #36
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Does the X-Fi sound card cause any probems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmd View Post
nekro, I think you installed to much. ^^ I just download the web drivers, gives me all the functionality, none of the bloat or fancy windows.
you can't adjust bass redirection, very imporatnt, no bass gain, can't adjust satellite dB and a lot more.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-30-02 11:59 PM
Got a Hercules sound card, read here plz! Fluke General Hardware 32 09-30-02 08:50 AM
The NV Sound Card Poll saturnotaku General Hardware 19 09-10-02 08:47 AM
Error! Linux cannot find my nVidia integrated sound card! Please help! targatop NVIDIA Linux 1 09-08-02 04:55 PM
Need a truly DOS compatible sound card. Switch General Hardware 11 09-06-02 10:35 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.