Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-06-09, 03:48 AM   #1
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Stormrise?...

Wow...this game looks like it got hammered at reviews..

gamespot gave it a 2, seems like the control system/pathing was the main reason for its raiting.
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-09, 03:54 AM   #2
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: Stormrise?...

__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-09, 08:11 PM   #3
jeong
GRS is MDS
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Take a guess
Posts: 152
Default Re: Stormrise?...

lol, I found the voice acting quite cheesy. Graphics aren't half bad, but didn't give me a very good 1st impression overall.
__________________

J1 \ J2

CPU: i7 940 @ 3.34GHz \ QX6700 @ 2.66GHz
Mobo: EVGA x58 SLI E758 \ Asus nforce 590i
RAM: OCZ DDR3 1600MHz 12GB @ 9-9-9-24 \ Micron DDR2 667MHz 4GB @ 5-5-5-15
HDD: 4TB WD C (2x Black, 1x Green) \ 4.5TB WD C (2x Black, 2x Green)
GPU: EVGA Geforce GTX 295 quad SLI \ BFG Geforce 8800 GTX
M & K: L NEW! G19 & G500 \ G15 & G5
SC: Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro
Headset: NEW! ATH-AD900 \ SS 5H V2 USB
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1200w \ CM RPP 750w
Case: A1200 \ Dell XPS 710
LCD: Dell U2410 H-IPS + LG L246WP-BN 24" P-MVA \ LG W2243T-PF 21.5" TN 1080p
OS: Genuine W7 x64 Pro \ "
Cooler: Megahalems + 2x Scythe S-F push/pull E/W
\ TRUE 120 + 1x tr push
jeong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-09, 09:48 PM   #4
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Stormrise?...

The whole point of the game was making RTS work with consoles... why they ported it to PC is a mystery.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-09, 09:51 PM   #5
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Stormrise?...

big failure
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-09, 10:51 PM   #6
RAY16
Defenestration Specialist
 
RAY16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Land of a Thousand Suns
Posts: 1,039
Default Re: Stormrise?...

Quote:
Originally Posted by NarcissistZero View Post
The whole point of the game was making RTS work with consoles... why they ported it to PC is a mystery.
Which is funny, because from what I've read it doesn't work on consoles either.
__________________
| Xbox/Games for Windows LIVE: NeoHumanity | Steam: RAY16 |
| Random Textual Nonsense | Random Visual Stimuli | Twitch.tv Stream |
RAY16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-09, 01:35 AM   #7
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Stormrise?...

Yeah. Big disappointment from the guys who just did Empire... What were they thinking?
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-09, 04:12 AM   #8
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: Stormrise?...

Consolized...
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-07-09, 05:56 AM   #9
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Stormrise?...

No, just plain crap to begin with IMHO.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-09, 06:41 AM   #10
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Stormrise?...

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
No, just plain crap to begin with IMHO.
Yessir... I never even looked at console scores, it did horribly there too. I just thought the console controls were terrible on PC, but here the whole game sucks on all platforms.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-09, 06:46 AM   #11
Buio
Registered User
 
Buio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,092
Default Re: Stormrise?...

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
Yeah. Big disappointment from the guys who just did Empire... What were they thinking?
As the game was release so close to Empire, it wouldn't be hard to guess that it was different studio that did the game. It might tarnish their reputation though, but CA has done console games before like Viking: Battle for Asgard.

And many who play Empire consider it a big disappointment too. It's so buggy with a lot of crash problems, and the AI has so big flaws it affects the whole campaign. It was released probably 6 months or more too early, likely because Sega has financial problems. And seeing how the game has sold like crazy they probably got the money they wanted.

The glowing reviews that Empire got is also hilarious. IGN gave it 9.5/10 calling the game incredible without a single mention about bugs or big AI problems.

On one hand they give a good but flawed game incredible praise
http://www.metacritic.com/games/plat...empiretotalwar
and on the other they sink a flawed game
http://www.metacritic.com/games/plat...x360/stormrise
Buio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-09, 11:04 AM   #12
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Stormrise?...

They should have just allocated resources to making Empire Total War a better game than making this crap. Every review I've seen says the controls are crap and the camera in the game is like looking for something in the back of a refridgerator.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.