Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-07-09, 01:46 PM   #1
caldas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 62
Default Xonar D2X and World of Warcraft

Hello all!
Already installed the new beta drivers but the world of warcraft canīt use hardware sound of xonar yet
look the log of wow:

3/27 08:35:42.874 => Version 3.0.9 (9551) Feb 3 2009
3/27 08:35:42.874
3/27 08:35:42.882 => Setting up Game Sound:
3/27 08:35:42.882 - SESound Engine Init
3/27 08:35:42.882 - FMOD Memory Init
3/27 08:35:42.882 - FMOD System Create
3/27 08:35:42.926 - FMOD version 00040907 detected
3/27 08:35:42.926 - Hardware is ENABLED
3/27 08:35:42.929 - Reverb is ENABLED
3/27 08:35:42.957 - 4 Output drivers detected
3/27 08:35:42.957 --- [0] System Default
3/27 08:35:43.011 --- [1] Speakers (ASUS Xonar D2X Audio Device)
3/27 08:35:43.066 --- [2] Digital Output (ASUS Xonar D2X Audio Device)
3/27 08:35:43.119 --- [3] Speakers (ASUS Xonar D2X Converter)
3/27 08:35:43.335 - Using [1] Speakers (ASUS Xonar D2X Audio Device) for Game Output
3/27 08:35:43.335 - 64 Channels Requested.
3/27 08:35:43.335 - Querying Sound Driver for Available Hardware Channels.
3/27 08:35:43.378 - Sound Driver Reports: 0 Hardware Channels Available.
3/27 08:35:43.378 -################################################## #########################################
3/27 08:35:43.380 -# NOTICE: Insufficient Available Hardware Channels.
3/27 08:35:43.380 -# World of Warcraft Requires At Least 12 Hardware Channels to Function Properly in Hardware Mode.
3/27 08:35:43.380 -# Enabling Software Channels.
3/27 08:35:43.380 -################################################## #########################################
3/27 08:35:43.380 - Using 64 channels.
3/27 08:35:43.440 - DSPBufferSize = AUTO DETECT
3/27 08:35:43.440 - Detected Control Panel Speaker Mode = 5.1
3/27 08:35:43.440 - Setting WoW Speaker Mode to 5.1
3/27 08:35:43.474 - FMOD System Init OK!
3/27 08:35:43.474 => Game Sound is ready.



I turned on and off the DS3D GX without diference

In software mode I have no problems. look the log file:

3/27 19:45:50.152 => Version 3.0.9 (9551) Feb 3 2009
3/27 19:45:50.152
3/27 19:45:50.152 => Setting up Game Sound:
3/27 19:45:50.152 - SESound Engine Init
3/27 19:45:50.152 - FMOD Memory Init
3/27 19:45:50.152 - FMOD System Create
3/27 19:45:50.200 - FMOD version 00040907 detected
3/27 19:45:50.200 - Hardware is DISABLED
3/27 19:45:50.200 - Reverb is ENABLED
3/27 19:45:50.228 - 4 Output drivers detected
3/27 19:45:50.229 --- [0] System Default
3/27 19:45:50.283 --- [1] Speakers (ASUS Xonar D2X Audio Device)
3/27 19:45:50.334 --- [2] Digital Output (ASUS Xonar D2X Audio Device)
3/27 19:45:50.387 --- [3] Speakers (ASUS Xonar D2X Converter)
3/27 19:45:50.606 - Using [1] Speakers (ASUS Xonar D2X Audio Device) for Game Output
3/27 19:45:50.606 - Using 64 channels.
3/27 19:45:50.663 - DSPBufferSize = AUTO DETECT
3/27 19:45:50.665 - Detected Control Panel Speaker Mode = 5.1
3/27 19:45:50.665 - Setting WoW Speaker Mode to 5.1
3/27 19:45:50.698 - FMOD System Init OK!
3/27 19:45:50.698 => Game Sound is ready.

Any help ?
caldas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-09, 02:08 PM   #2
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Xonar D2X and World of Warcraft

not 100% but the c-media chip on Xonar doesn't support hardware sound acceleration. It can emulate EAX 3-4-5, but it all done in software.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-09, 02:14 PM   #3
caldas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 62
Default Re: Xonar D2X and World of Warcraft

But this chip support OpenAL 1.1 and ASIO 2.0, evidence that it has hardware sound acceleration, right?
: /
caldas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-09, 10:05 AM   #4
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Xonar D2X and World of Warcraft

You won't get hardware audio in Vista unless you use ALchemy.

If you are using XP, it should work, but WoW doesn't use OpenAL, it uses FMOD software and EAX if it finds it. EAX in XP is hardware for Creative cards.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-09, 06:10 AM   #5
caldas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 62
Default Re: Xonar D2X and World of Warcraft

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaboze View Post
You won't get hardware audio in Vista unless you use ALchemy.

If you are using XP, it should work, but WoW doesn't use OpenAL, it uses FMOD software and EAX if it finds it. EAX in XP is hardware for Creative cards.

But the Asus Xonar have DS3D GX, this should be a translator to EAX.
caldas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-09, 10:04 AM   #6
jass
Registered User
 
jass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Eire
Posts: 49
Default Re: Xonar D2X and World of Warcraft

Quote:
Originally Posted by caldas View Post
But the Asus Xonar have DS3D GX, this should be a translator to EAX.
DS3D GX is a fake eax. Asus were to cheap to licence eax hd from creative like auzentech did. They tried to reverse engineer it but they failed. That is just another proof they did.
__________________
Specs change but the wattage remains the same.
jass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-09, 12:04 PM   #7
Medion
 
Medion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Barksdale AFB, La
Posts: 1,238
Default Re: Xonar D2X and World of Warcraft

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaboze View Post
You won't get hardware audio in Vista unless you use ALchemy.

If you are using XP, it should work, but WoW doesn't use OpenAL, it uses FMOD software and EAX if it finds it. EAX in XP is hardware for Creative cards.
They dropped the EAX support when they redid the sound engine last year. There was a huge uproar from the X-Fi crowd when it happened.
Medion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-09, 08:59 PM   #8
caldas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 62
Default Re: Xonar D2X and World of Warcraft

Hello everybody! I would like to say that the last update ( see below) made the world of warcraft using hardware sound finally!

Version 1.0
Description Patch file for Xonar serial audio cards
1. Fix the game "Command&Conquer:The First Decade" won''t start with comitability mode.
2. Fix the game " World of Warcraft" may hang sometimes.
3. Please install the latest driver first and then install this patch file.



File Size 345.62 (KBytes) 2009/06/16 update


Look the wow logs sound:

6/17 22:46:43.742 => Version 3.1.3 (9947) May 26 2009
6/17 22:46:43.753
6/17 22:46:43.753 => Setting up Game Sound:
6/17 22:46:43.753 - SESound Engine Init
6/17 22:46:43.753 - FMOD Memory Init
6/17 22:46:43.759 - FMOD System Create
6/17 22:46:44.105 - FMOD version 00040907 detected
6/17 22:46:44.105 - Hardware is ENABLED
6/17 22:46:44.120 - Reverb is ENABLED
6/17 22:46:44.138 - 4 Output drivers detected
6/17 22:46:44.138 --- [0] System Default
6/17 22:46:44.166 --- [1] Speakers (ASUS Xonar D2X Audio Device)
6/17 22:46:44.198 --- [2] Digital Output (ASUS Xonar D2X Audio Device)
6/17 22:46:44.229 --- [3] Speakers (ASUS Xonar D2X Converter)
6/17 22:46:44.289 - Using [0] System Default for Game Output
6/17 22:46:44.290 - 64 Channels Requested.
6/17 22:46:44.290 - Querying Sound Driver for Available Hardware Channels.
6/17 22:46:44.327 - Sound Driver Reports: 128 Hardware Channels Available.
6/17 22:46:44.327 - Using 64 channels.
6/17 22:46:44.369 - DSPBufferSize = AUTO DETECT
6/17 22:46:44.369 - Detected Control Panel Speaker Mode = STEREO
6/17 22:46:44.369 - Setting WoW Speaker Mode to STEREO
6/17 22:46:44.388 - FMOD System Init OK!
6/17 22:46:44.388 => Game Sound is ready.


ps: wow running at compatibility mode ( WinXP )
caldas is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-18-09, 02:32 AM   #9
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: Xonar D2X and World of Warcraft

This is a WoW update or a Xonar driver update?
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-09, 04:14 AM   #10
weevil
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 208
Default Re: Xonar D2X and World of Warcraft

Thanks caldas!

http://drivers.softpedia.com/progDow...oad-80259.html
weevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-09, 06:08 AM   #11
caldas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 62
Default Re: Xonar D2X and World of Warcraft

Quote:
Originally Posted by LordJuanlo View Post
This is a WoW update or a Xonar driver update?
Xonar ! ( Asus update)
caldas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-09, 10:34 AM   #12
akgfan01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: Xonar D2X and World of Warcraft

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
not 100% but the c-media chip on Xonar doesn't support hardware sound acceleration. It can emulate EAX 3-4-5, but it all done in software.
So what?
1. No new game use EAX any more
2. Alchemy is also a software translator for EAX to OpenAL
3. GX2.5 is providing EAX without a dent to your performance
4. GX2.5 is way easier to use than Alchemy, no need for additional utility or support list, simply press the GX button and global support for all games...


Creative has many things that didn't work out or work well..
Ex.
RAM on soundcard --> dead technology
CMSS3D --> not as good as Dolby Headphone
EAX --> dying technology


They used to be a really good audio solution provider, just now Asus is doing better for true user benefits in PC audio area.
akgfan01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Đ1998 - 2014, nV News.