Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-09, 08:30 PM   #1
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,982
Default Graphics reaching CGI quality using CryENGINE2, Amazing!!

Scene rendered in realtime...







Ingame using Cryengine2 . . .


Omfg, all i can say...
__________________
R.I.P Stage6 | per haud Justiciá illic exsisto haud pacís...
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-09, 08:32 PM   #2
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Graphics reaching CGI quality using CryENGINE2, Amazing!!

Looks like Blade Runner.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-09, 08:34 PM   #3
WeReWoLf
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,015
Send a message via MSN to WeReWoLf
Default Re: Graphics reaching CGI quality using CryENGINE2, Amazing!!

Needs more AA
WeReWoLf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-09, 08:35 PM   #4
jAkUp
eat. sleep. overclock.
 
jAkUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chino, California
Posts: 17,744
Default Re: Graphics reaching CGI quality using CryENGINE2, Amazing!!

Wow... what is that from??
__________________
965xe || evga x58 classified || 3x evga gtx 480 || 6gb g.skill || win7 x64
jAkUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-09, 08:44 PM   #5
m3dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Graphics reaching CGI quality using CryENGINE2, Amazing!!

realtime? post it running with fraps than.
m3dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-09, 08:51 PM   #6
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Graphics reaching CGI quality using CryENGINE2, Amazing!!

I dout it would be playable like that. Any engine could look almost CGI at the highest possible settings, remember those Demo videos of the Unreal Engine 3 running at realtime.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-09, 08:53 PM   #7
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Graphics reaching CGI quality using CryENGINE2, Amazing!!

That is definitely Bladerunner. The first pic is of the Bradbury Building from the movie (and the 1997 game), the second pic is the Yukon Hotel and that's obviously the police cruiser from BR.

Where did this come from!?

A real 3D Bladerunner game running on Cryengine 2 would probably make me pee myself with excitement.

...!
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-09, 08:55 PM   #8
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: Graphics reaching CGI quality using CryENGINE2, Amazing!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jAkUp View Post
Wow... what is that from??
Q was right, it's the scene from Blade Runner It's actually a short project of recreating a movie scene from that movie blade runner but in realtime. And struggling to make it as close as possible to the original.

It's a contest actually, and here's some links of interest:

http://events.game-artist.net/scene_...ovie/index.php
http://www.game-artist.net/forums/sc...on-thread.html

Blade runner project:
http://www.game-artist.net/forums/sc...eplicants.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by m3dude View Post
realtime? post it running with fraps than.
Yes it's rendered in realtime using cryengine2.. A short movie is coming soon

Even if you wouldn't get quite playable FPS with settings cranked all that high as the pictures witch would require using 3x3 or 4x4 SSAA via nHancer it would be working, and would be looking like this. Just wait for some better cards from nVidia and you'll see that before this year has ended you'll get reasonable FPS using the right setup

There's no more reason for you to keep denying the crysis screens i post... Just face it, Ce2 is phenomenal, fantastic and ABSOLUTELY PHENOMENAL!
__________________
R.I.P Stage6 | per haud Justiciá illic exsisto haud pacís...
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-08-09, 08:55 PM   #9
Sobbsy
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia, QLD
Posts: 396
Default Re: Graphics reaching CGI quality using CryENGINE2, Amazing!!

*edit* Post time quantum temporal crossover. Never mind.

Looks sexy. Where does it say on any of those links that this is done in CryEngine 2? I must be missing it.
__________________
Q6600 G0 @ 3.42ghz
8gb Corsair Something-o-rather
HD6870 Crossfire
Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6
Soundblaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
850w Antec TruePower Quattro
Sobbsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-09, 08:58 PM   #10
OldOfEvil
Parrots + Xanax =
 
OldOfEvil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 662
Default Re: Graphics reaching CGI quality using CryENGINE2, Amazing!!

I'd really like to see this in motion. Games these days are getting to the point where well taken screenshots can never do the game justice.

The depth of field effect looks rather abrupt.



Quote:
That is definitely Bladerunner.

Where did this come from!?

A real 3D Bladerunner game running on Cryengine 2 would probably make me pee myself with excitement.

...!
My sentiments as well. They could get Harrison Ford to do voice over, he is still alive!
__________________
i5 3570k | Sabertooth z77 | GTX 680 (320.49) | 16GB DDR2 | Win7 x64 Pro
OldOfEvil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-09, 09:00 PM   #11
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: Graphics reaching CGI quality using CryENGINE2, Amazing!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sobbsy View Post
And what is the source of these screenshots? A forum perhaps?
Look above

Also, here's some of the amazing models/texturing they've done:







Here's the scene in Wireframe

__________________
R.I.P Stage6 | per haud Justiciá illic exsisto haud pacís...
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-09, 09:07 PM   #12
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Graphics reaching CGI quality using CryENGINE2, Amazing!!

Ow... its not a game?

That sucks.

Looks amazing though. They'll win that contest for sure.

Hopefully a publisher sees this and hires them to make an open world Bladerunner RPG for the PC.

/dreaming
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thoughts from console owners on NVIDIA's GEFORCE GRID MikeC Console World 11 05-27-12 09:43 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.