Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-02-02, 02:10 AM   #265
JonathanM
Crazy Canuck
 
JonathanM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 173
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mr. Blue


I went through every single page in this thread and never once does it mention enabling the OpenGL and Direct3D settings for Anisotropic filtering, etc..

I would appreciate it if someone could point me to this info without being rude or obnoxious.

-M
But overclocking was mentioned wasn't it? Missing those OpenGL or D3D panel seems to be some sort of weird happening on your end, but it seems like you're getting there...
__________________
That's Crazy!
JonathanM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-02, 07:33 AM   #266
bodhibkb
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Here's what I got when testing
3dmark2000se:
23.11 scored 5897
29.42 scored 5677
30.82 scored 5661
40.41 scored 5701

Dr.Hardware2000e
23.11 scored 200 on the BitBlt MPx/s
29.42 scored 155
30.82 scored 153
40.41 scored 153.

my system:
PIII 800mhz o/c to 1.07mhz
512 meg ram
geforce3 Ti200 engine 200mhz memory 400mhz
Windows XP Pro
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-02, 11:06 AM   #267
JohnsonLKD
Henry stauf
 
JohnsonLKD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: BC
Posts: 88
Default

Well, I just installed it!

Game works relly find with quincnuxx AA and the texture sharpning enabled. (Tray icon)

I see no differences, but faster...
__________________
Toshiba M40 - PM1.8Ghz Centrino set / 2GB RAM - DDR1 (pirate) / 80GB Toshiba 2.5" HDD / GF go 6600 128MB PCI-E x16 / Intel 915 / Toshiba DVD+-RW / SB Audigy 2 NX / Samaung SM715v

Toshiba PPC e830 - 2x 1GB SD / 2.2GB Magicstor CF2 MHDD / BT / WiFi
JohnsonLKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-02, 03:48 PM   #268
cricket
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JonathanM
My assumptions were correct... the new driver layout doesn't need the nvqtwk.dll any more.

I recommend a clean installation over theses drivers rather than just installing over the previous revisions (although I know most people do that anyways.. ) It's still too early for me. hehe
if the "nvqtwk.dll" file is not needed...how do i remove it?
also: is a clean installation done this way? ( control panels/add/remove nvidia display adapters..then reboot and install new ones..?? or am i missing a step or something?
spec's areell Demension 8200 P4 2.26GHz with 533MHz system bus/ 512K L2 Cache ~256MB PC800 RDRAM~80GB Ultra ATA/100 Hard Drive~128MB DDR NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4600~with 30.82 driver's~24x/10x/40x CD-RW Drive Harman Kardon HK-395 Speakers with Subwoofer ~Sound Blaster Live~ WinXP Home edition
__________________
MY RIG Built By Self:
P4-3.0GHZ/800FSB (Northwood) + ZALMAN CNP7000(ALL COPPER) HSF
INTEL 865PERLL Board
1GB (2 X 512MB) Kingston HyperX (KHX3200AKB/1GR (2-3-2-6)
XFX NVIDIA 7600GT AGP (256MB) (@ 580Mhz Core-1.5Ghz Memory Speeds)
80 GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 (8Mb Cache)
WINXP HOME ED -w/Vista Transformation Pack 6
ANTEC SLK 3700 BQE CASE
Nec ND-1100A DVD/RW Drive
CD Drive
7 in 1 Multimedia Card reader For My SD Digital Camera Pictures
cricket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-02, 03:52 PM   #269
sebazve
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Montevideo, Uruguay
Posts: 421
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cricket

if the "nvqtwk.dll" file is not needed...how do i remove it?
also: is a clean installation done this way? ( control panels/add/remove nvidia display adapters..then reboot and install new ones..?? or am i missing a step or something?
spec's areell Demension 8200 P4 2.26GHz with 533MHz system bus/ 512K L2 Cache ~256MB PC800 RDRAM~80GB Ultra ATA/100 Hard Drive~128MB DDR NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4600~with 30.82 driver's~24x/10x/40x CD-RW Drive Harman Kardon HK-395 Speakers with Subwoofer ~Sound Blaster Live~ WinXP Home edition
i uninstalled the drivers from control panel, reboot and then installed the new ones and everythin worked just fine.
sebazve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-02, 04:04 PM   #270
cricket
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mr. Blue


Dave,

Thanks for the post. However, I believe that something here is wrong with my setup. I just bought a new Dell Dimension 8200 witwh GF4Ti4200. I get these settings (after Det. 4 is installed):


-GeForce4ti 4200
- nView Display Mode
- 3D AntiAlias Settings
- Overlay Control
- NVRotate
- Clock Frequencies
- AGP Settings

So this is my dilema! I got the Clock Frequencies and AGP settings by using the script Coolbits. I need to somehow enable:

OpenGL Settings
Direct3D Settings
Desktop Utilities

I suspect that this Dell configuration is somehow blocking these from the registry.

Any further help would be appreciated..

-M
the same thing has happened to me MRblue...have you found a way to enable direct3d and opengl settings yet? i have very similar system specs as you and have same problem when installing 40.41's.it would be nice to be able to get to direct3d settings for the refresh rates but i tried 2 times and cant get it to show either. my specs are Dell Demension 8200 P4 2.26GHz with 533MHz system bus/ 512K L2 Cache ~256MB PC800 RDRAM~80GB Ultra ATA/100 Hard Drive~128MB DDR NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4600~with 30.82 driver's~24x/10x/40x CD-RW Drive Harman Kardon HK-395 Speakers with Subwoofer ~Sound Blaster Live~ WinXP Home edition.
how i installed 40.41's was went to add/remove progams..removed nvidia display ...rebooted.....my system went to some 2945 drivers or something ...then i installed the 4041's, but no direct3d panel or opengl panel. i can get the patch for the overclocking from guru but it still didnt give me direct3d. also was wondering why after uninstalling my nvidia drivers does system reboot and then go to these 2945? how can i get it to go to standard display adapters? or is the 2945 it? ive installed other drivers before these with no problems doing it that way. it may be best to wait for the official 40xx's from nvidia but i still may not be able to see the direct3d and opengl tabs.
__________________
MY RIG Built By Self:
P4-3.0GHZ/800FSB (Northwood) + ZALMAN CNP7000(ALL COPPER) HSF
INTEL 865PERLL Board
1GB (2 X 512MB) Kingston HyperX (KHX3200AKB/1GR (2-3-2-6)
XFX NVIDIA 7600GT AGP (256MB) (@ 580Mhz Core-1.5Ghz Memory Speeds)
80 GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 (8Mb Cache)
WINXP HOME ED -w/Vista Transformation Pack 6
ANTEC SLK 3700 BQE CASE
Nec ND-1100A DVD/RW Drive
CD Drive
7 in 1 Multimedia Card reader For My SD Digital Camera Pictures
cricket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-02, 04:42 PM   #271
Mr. Blue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cricket

the same thing has happened to me MRblue...have you found a way to enable direct3d and opengl settings yet? i have very similar system specs as you and have same problem when installing 40.41's.it would be nice to be able to get to direct3d settings for the refresh rates but i tried 2 times and cant get it to show either. my specs are Dell Demension 8200 P4 2.26GHz with 533MHz system bus/ 512K L2 Cache ~256MB PC800 RDRAM~80GB Ultra ATA/100 Hard Drive~128MB DDR NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4600~with 30.82 driver's~24x/10x/40x CD-RW Drive Harman Kardon HK-395 Speakers with Subwoofer ~Sound Blaster Live~ WinXP Home edition.
how i installed 40.41's was went to add/remove progams..removed nvidia display ...rebooted.....my system went to some 2945 drivers or something ...then i installed the 4041's, but no direct3d panel or opengl panel. i can get the patch for the overclocking from guru but it still didnt give me direct3d. also was wondering why after uninstalling my nvidia drivers does system reboot and then go to these 2945? how can i get it to go to standard display adapters? or is the 2945 it? ive installed other drivers before these with no problems doing it that way. it may be best to wait for the official 40xx's from nvidia but i still may not be able to see the direct3d and opengl tabs.
Glad to see I'm not the only one!

Yea, I've done this many times and there doesn't seem to be any definition of OpenGL or Direct3d settings in the registry (which is the problem). I've decided to wait for someone to come up with a solution if possible. Its not THAT important that I get these settings since I'm only concerned with the Anisotropic settings (all other settings can be retrieved).

The refresh rate can be solved by a program called 'reforce'. It will allow you to set refresh for every resolution mode your card supports and use that across every platform (GL or D3d). It works great for my GL games and Q3-engine games.

-M
Mr. Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-02, 06:07 PM   #272
cricket
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mr. Blue


Glad to see I'm not the only one!
by the way what monitor do u have? im using the 17inch e771 model
Yea, I've done this many times and there doesn't seem to be any definition of OpenGL or Direct3d settings in the registry (which is the problem). I've decided to wait for someone to come up with a solution if possible. Its not THAT important that I get these settings since I'm only concerned with the Anisotropic settings (all other settings can be retrieved).

The refresh rate can be solved by a program called 'reforce'. It will allow you to set refresh for every resolution mode your card supports and use that across every platform (GL or D3d). It works great for my GL games and Q3-engine games.

-M
so you have not found an answer to enabling direct3d and opengl with 4041"s? did u have a problem getting rid of nvqtwk.dll file that had a previous version # next to it other than the 4041 in additional properties after installing 4041"s?
i tried reforce...but after installing it, my battlefield1942 demo wont run( i think bf1942 demo needs 60mhz for some strange reason..i read something like that. also my other games get dragging graphics in them. like the sky's view/background start dragging all over the place and games become impossible to play with these visual mess up's. i have problems with reforce in halflife mod Day of defeat/quake 3 seems too dark/and a few other problems that r similiar to these. maybe it is just me...i mean to i just set reforce to default setting's or do i need specific settings for specific screen sizes? i play at 800x600 at 100 sometime"s 85mhz mhz or 1024x768 x 85mhz.
what do you set your 800x600 and 1024x768 at?(using the reforce tool)
__________________
MY RIG Built By Self:
P4-3.0GHZ/800FSB (Northwood) + ZALMAN CNP7000(ALL COPPER) HSF
INTEL 865PERLL Board
1GB (2 X 512MB) Kingston HyperX (KHX3200AKB/1GR (2-3-2-6)
XFX NVIDIA 7600GT AGP (256MB) (@ 580Mhz Core-1.5Ghz Memory Speeds)
80 GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 (8Mb Cache)
WINXP HOME ED -w/Vista Transformation Pack 6
ANTEC SLK 3700 BQE CASE
Nec ND-1100A DVD/RW Drive
CD Drive
7 in 1 Multimedia Card reader For My SD Digital Camera Pictures

Last edited by cricket; 09-02-02 at 06:11 PM.
cricket is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-02-02, 06:23 PM   #273
Mr. Blue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cricket
so you have not found an answer to enabling direct3d and opengl with 4041"s? did u have a problem getting rid of nvqtwk.dll file that had a previous version # next to it other than the 4041 in additional properties after installing 4041"s?
I still have 29.11 beside the nvqtwk.dll drivers. I'll see about copying this to override the older one.

Quote:

i tried reforce...but after installing it, my battlefield1942 demo wont run( i think bf1942 demo needs 60mhz for some strange reason..i read something like that. also my other games get dragging graphics in them. like the sky's view/background start dragging all over the place and games become impossible to play with these visual mess up's. i have problems with reforce in halflife mod Day of defeat/quake 3 seems too dark/and a few other problems that r similiar to these. maybe it is just me...i mean to i just set reforce to default setting's or do i need specific settings for specific screen sizes? i play at 800x600 at 100 sometime"s 85mhz mhz or 1024x768 x 85mhz.
what do you set your 800x600 and 1024x768 at?(using the reforce tool)
I have a 17" LCD so I use the max Hz for all resolutions (75Hz). The only games I've tested are the ones I'm currently playing (Jedi Knight 2, NWN, The Thing, and Spiderman).

I am not getting too dark areas with JK2 (a Q3-engine game). I am also using 4x FSAA with Enable Sharp Texturing. I only want the Anisotropic settings now, but they aren't important.

-M

Last edited by Mr. Blue; 09-02-02 at 06:26 PM.
Mr. Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-02, 06:54 PM   #274
cricket
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 353
Default

i got rid of the "nvqtwk.dll" file by going to c/windows/system32 folder...found the file and put it in recycle bin. i think i read in an earlier post in these forums that the nvqtwk.dll file was not needed for the 4041 drivers. by the way..i saw a movie of" the thing "in a gameplay like movie mpeg file movie format. how is the full version? is it worth the money? i was wondering that maybe our computers are so new that if we installed some older drivers that have the direct3d and opengl included with them,then uninstalled them and reinstalled the 4041's maybe the direct3d and opengl tabs would show up ???? it makes no sense why they arent there,although since ive had this computer(since 6-5-02) i dont ever recall those tabs ever being there. my cpu came with geforce4ti4600 and the 2942 drivers originally.then i went to 2980's...then the 3082's then the 4041's....currently im using the 4041 but if i find problems again im back to 3082's untill they release whql drivers on nvidia site
__________________
MY RIG Built By Self:
P4-3.0GHZ/800FSB (Northwood) + ZALMAN CNP7000(ALL COPPER) HSF
INTEL 865PERLL Board
1GB (2 X 512MB) Kingston HyperX (KHX3200AKB/1GR (2-3-2-6)
XFX NVIDIA 7600GT AGP (256MB) (@ 580Mhz Core-1.5Ghz Memory Speeds)
80 GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 (8Mb Cache)
WINXP HOME ED -w/Vista Transformation Pack 6
ANTEC SLK 3700 BQE CASE
Nec ND-1100A DVD/RW Drive
CD Drive
7 in 1 Multimedia Card reader For My SD Digital Camera Pictures
cricket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-02, 08:38 PM   #275
Mr. Blue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cricket
i got rid of the "nvqtwk.dll" file by going to c/windows/system32 folder...found the file and put it in recycle bin. i think i read in an earlier post in these forums that the nvqtwk.dll file was not needed for the 4041 drivers. by the way..i saw a movie of" the thing "in a gameplay like movie mpeg file movie format. how is the full version? is it worth the money? i was wondering that maybe our computers are so new that if we installed some older drivers that have the direct3d and opengl included with them,then uninstalled them and reinstalled the 4041's maybe the direct3d and opengl tabs would show up ???? it makes no sense why they arent there,although since ive had this computer(since 6-5-02) i dont ever recall those tabs ever being there. my cpu came with geforce4ti4600 and the 2942 drivers originally.then i went to 2980's...then the 3082's then the 4041's....currently im using the 4041 but if i find problems again im back to 3082's untill they release whql drivers on nvidia site
Well, since it has nothing to do with the D3d/OpenGL settings being seen, I'll just leave it.

I really can't say much about the Thing yet as I just started playing it yesterday. I hear its very short but so far, I'm liking it quite a bit. Not as scary as Resident Evil (which is my fav gothic-horror), but the atmosphere is cool.

I wouldn't mess with anything unless someone on this thread has the registry commands to enable those settings or Nvidia releases the final version of the drivers. I'm going to stick with the 40.41 drivers since there appears to be nothing else wrong with them. If I can squeeze a little more performance from the card, then its worth it.

Good Luck and I'll post here if I or someone else finds a solution for us Dell owners!

-M
Mr. Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-02, 09:20 PM   #276
exar
Registered User
 
exar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 50
Send a message via MSN to exar Send a message via Yahoo to exar
Default

Okay, I'm rather pleased with these drivers so far, but on performance only. It seems that a bunch of stuff is broken (i.e. o/c sliders), but the performance is outstanding. I just ran 3DM2k1SE, and got 6015 with the default 270/400 of my GF4 440MX when my previous best was 6005 with it o/c'd to 310/430. The previous default settings score was 5732.

That's all from here....off to try these babies out with some games.
exar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Max Payne 3 Feedback Thread Ghosthunter Gaming Central 94 10-05-12 06:00 AM
** Official Dark Souls Thread *** FastRedPonyCar Gaming Central 8 09-11-12 03:42 PM
Official detonator 40.71 feedback thread Crake NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 88 10-01-02 11:38 AM
Official Dentonator 40.52 feedback thread sh*tshot NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 62 09-26-02 05:43 PM
Official Grand Theft Auto 3 thread volt Gaming Central 6 08-01-02 07:04 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.