Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-05-09, 03:37 PM   #1
geisj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 18
Default HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI

I have an motherboard based on NVidia 8200.
M3N78-VM to be exact.

On initial boot the HDMI comes up and everything seems fine. I am using x86_64-180.22 driver.

However, once I change my LCD/HDMI to TV and then back to HDMI the screen is blank.
When I reboot my PC the BIOS screen how shows the video on the HDMI again.

Is something wrong in the driver that is not handling this switch of modes????

I have an ATI based motherboard that handles this just fine. I'd like the nvidia one to work.

What can you suggest?

Jerry
geisj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-09, 07:33 AM   #2
s0be
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 24
Default Re: HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI

First, this is not meant to be an insult, I've run into this...

is there a chance that dpms/powersave has blanked the screen? Have you tried pressing something on the keyboard?

Probably so, next, does your tv have a 'Status' dialog you can bring up that would show 720p/1080p/no signal?
s0be is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-09, 07:35 AM   #3
s0be
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 24
Default Re: HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI

(oh, and it must be hardware specific, unless it's the dpms/powersave issue, as I have an 8500gt w/hdmi and I switch back and forth all the time between it and my ps3 on my tv with no similar issue, aside from the powersave/screensaver issue)
s0be is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-09, 07:59 AM   #4
geisj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 18
Default Re: HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI

I have a Sharp Aquos 37 display.
I have dpms turned off. my PC output is always active...

I went through the menus of the TV and I cant find anything that shows what the current display
information is. When the NVIDIA PC boots it comes up in 1080p. I see that on the pop-up display on the LCD.

What else can I try/do?

Jerry
geisj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-09, 08:11 AM   #5
zim2dive
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 145
Default Re: HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI

Not sure if directly related, but I found that with my nvidia 8200, if I let the PC boot with the TV off, I could never get a picture (after turning the TV on). If I booted with the TV on, the machine could sleep and I'd always get a picture back (1080p TV via HDMI)
zim2dive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-09, 08:57 AM   #6
geisj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 18
Default Re: HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI

I tried doing the CTRL-ALT-F1 and I get no display.
I then tried going back to ALT-F7 and still no display.

Jerry
geisj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-09, 09:02 AM   #7
geisj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 18
Default Re: HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI

I ssh'ed into the box. did init 3, then startx -- -logverbose 10.
This was in the log file after that.

(==) NVIDIA(0): Video key set to default value of 0x101fe
(II) NVIDIA(0): Support for GLX with the Damage and Composite X extensions is
(II) NVIDIA(0): enabled.
(II) NVIDIA(GPU-0): No display devices connected; falling back to: CRT-0
(WW) NVIDIA(GPU-0): Unable to read EDID for display device CRT-0
(II) NVIDIA(0): NVIDIA GPU GeForce 8200 (C77) at PCI:2:0:0 (GPU-0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): Memory: 524288 kBytes
(II) NVIDIA(0): GPU RAM Type: DDR2
(--) NVIDIA(0): VideoBIOS: 62.77.19.00.00


Now what?

Jerry
geisj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-09, 05:44 PM   #8
s0be
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 24
Default Re: HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI

I have an aquos 32 inch 1080p, and don't have this problem. On my controller, it's 'display' (between source and light at the top of the controller) to see what it detects. I can have the tv off or on, on a different input, and whatnot, before or after booting the system. I've never found a setup that didn't work. Chance of a flakey hdmi cable? Is it straight hdmi or dvi to hdmi?
s0be is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-07-09, 08:46 AM   #9
zim2dive
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 145
Default Re: HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI

Quote:
Originally Posted by s0be View Post
I have an aquos 32 inch 1080p, and don't have this problem. On my controller, it's 'display' (between source and light at the top of the controller) to see what it detects. I can have the tv off or on, on a different input, and whatnot, before or after booting the system. I've never found a setup that didn't work. Chance of a flakey hdmi cable? Is it straight hdmi or dvi to hdmi?
Not sure who you were asking.. in my case, I was using straight HDMI to my 47" LCD.

Seems like if it doesn't find the LCD info at boot time, it won't try again, and/or boot and decides there is no display (then) and can't tell (later) when the LCD is on.

Or it could be a trait of linux (Ubuntu 8.10), I don;t know. Guess I can try booting in windows and see what happens there.
zim2dive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-09, 07:20 AM   #10
geisj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 18
Default Re: HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI

I am straight HDMI to HDMI its only 6 feet long.
Dont think the cable is the problem. That same cable works in a motherboard with ATI chipset.

If I use a DVI to HDMI converter it works. However, thats not what I am trying to do
I want sound over HDMI also.

Jerry
geisj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-09, 10:06 PM   #11
geisj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 18
Default Re: HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI

Sounds like there are BIG problems with this issue:

http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?...Language=en-us

How do we get some support?

Jerry
geisj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-09, 11:27 AM   #12
John Giddens
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: HDMI works initially but wont work after changing to TV and then back to HDMI

I have the same issue and it is extremly annoying to have to reboot
every time after switching from tv to pc

http://xbmc.org/forum/showthread.php?t=49072

here is some info on how i have mine set up
John Giddens is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.