Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Legacy Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-15-03, 11:28 PM   #1
elven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3
Default Tweaking nvidia TNT2

Hi. Need some advice if its possible. I found these programs for tweaking nvidia tnt2 graphic cards at http://www.pchardware.ro/Download/index.php?catid=8 and was wondering what your thoughts are. Are they realiable? I downlaoded two programs but I'm sorta a bit reluctant to install them..

Don't ask why I'm still using TNT2, because I'll just answer by saying that I cant afford to buy a new graphics card just yet

So am I taking the right steps here or should I try different ways of tweaking my graphics card? I have 256 megs of ram but only 896 mhz of cpu and my pc REALLY needs a performance boost.
elven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-03, 11:47 PM   #2
PlasmaSMP
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 5
Default

Even if you were able to overclock it 10-20%, it would be of no benefit in current games. Sorry.
__________________
2xXP1900 | Antec SX1200 w/ 400w | A7M266-D | 4x256MB Crucial DDR REG. @ 2-2-2 | WD 8MB 180GB, WD 8MB 120GB, Baracuda IV 80GB, 40GB | TX2 U133 | TX2 U100 | Audigy | Ti4800 320/700 | DVRA04 | W2KSP3 | CPD-G410R
PlasmaSMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-03, 12:13 AM   #3
Uttar
Registered User
 
Uttar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,354
Send a message via AIM to Uttar Send a message via Yahoo to Uttar
Default

Well, of course, if he can't buy a new GPU, then even a 10% boost might make the games he already can barely play work maybe pretty much alright. So even if it can't do miracle ( $60 for a GFFX 5200 would be a good buy IMO, but yes, $60 isn't nothing in many cases ) , well, it'd still be better than nothing!

And yes, NVMAX is a reliable program.


Uttar
Uttar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-03, 12:14 AM   #4
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default ...

that 10-20% may help in games like Unreal Tournament, Quake3, NOLF, Aliens vs. Predator, and NOLF, tho, just to name a few...

Any yweaks you can give that card will help... btw is that a PURE TNT2, or a TNT2 m64?

__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-03, 12:28 AM   #5
elven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3
Default

Hey, thanks for the replies guys.

I'm using Aladin TNT2 which is one of the earlier versions I think. So Ill have to get myself a new GC sooner or later. You're all right about that (about playing new games, I'll need a better card). But for the time being all I need is about 5-10% of extra performance boost to play NeverWinterNights and SoldierOfFortune.

Already Ive found this guide to be very usefull - http://www.planethardware.com/featur.../nvidia_tweak/ I have NView and never realized how easily performance can be improved by simply changing a few check-boxes. Also by adding an extra key in RegEdit to enable over-clocking was something a little extra which seemed to work well. AND I found that NView was configured at 32 bit default when it should be at 16 bit... so yeah. Alls good.

Thanks Utter, if I continue to experience probs I'll give NVmax a try.
elven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-03, 02:38 AM   #6
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

There really isn't much tweaking that can be done on a TNT2. The short answer is that you will have to tweak individual games, and lower settings until you find an acceptable mix of graphics quality and speed.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-03, 04:04 AM   #7
elven
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3
Default

Yep. After a lengthy period of gameplay, I came to realize that the tweaks were only good for 'loading times' between stages. Stages are loading much quicker. But the games are still running slow, or choppy.

Also, I tried installing NVmax but the installer keeps telling me that I need to install the latest detonar drivers (20 or higher), but I allready have Detonar 40 version 44.03 installed. Anyway...
elven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM
nvidia + 2.4.19 gentoo = messed up ulukay NVIDIA Linux 18 11-01-02 11:58 PM
NVidia - TNT2 M64 - X Hangs themann NVIDIA Linux 3 09-01-02 02:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.