Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-28-09, 07:02 AM   #1
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Only 2.5GB of RAM regestering on new PC :(

I just installed a new MB RAM & CPU. I'm using XP 32bit OS. Read Sig for system specifications.

XP 32bit is only showing 2.5Gb of RAM on my new build. Not sure why.. I have 6 Gigs installed. I know XP 32 will only recognize 4 or so. Any suggestions?

Thank You
__________________
Antec Nine Hundred case. Core I-7 920 @ 3.56GHz, Noctua NH-U12P Cooler, EVGA 01G-P3-1180-AR GeForce GTX-285 1GB, EVGA GT-240 Superclocked 512Mb used as a Physx card, DFI LANPARTY JR X58-T3H6, OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1600 7-7-7-18, Intel X25-V SSD, used as a boot drive, 2X Seagate 500Gig 32MB Cache 7200RPM in RAID 0, Logitec G-15 keyboard, Logitech MX-518 Mouse, CH Combatstick 568, Xboc Controller, LG L227WTG-PF 22" LCD Monitor 1680x1050. Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit. Speakers: KRK Rokit8 studio monitors.

http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/media/customer.jpg
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-09, 07:09 AM   #2
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Only 2.5GB of RAM regestering on new PC :(

It should recognize about 3.25 I believe... I would highly suggest moving to a 64bit version regardless of the reason for the erroneous reporting.

Where are you getting the reading from?
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-09, 07:21 AM   #3
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Only 2.5GB of RAM regestering on new PC :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcrox View Post
It should recognize about 3.25 I believe... I would highly suggest moving to a 64bit version regardless of the reason for the erroneous reporting.

Where are you getting the reading from?
I will be moving to Windows 7 64bit when it comes out.

I am getting that reading from right clicking on my computer and selecting proprieties.
__________________
Antec Nine Hundred case. Core I-7 920 @ 3.56GHz, Noctua NH-U12P Cooler, EVGA 01G-P3-1180-AR GeForce GTX-285 1GB, EVGA GT-240 Superclocked 512Mb used as a Physx card, DFI LANPARTY JR X58-T3H6, OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1600 7-7-7-18, Intel X25-V SSD, used as a boot drive, 2X Seagate 500Gig 32MB Cache 7200RPM in RAID 0, Logitec G-15 keyboard, Logitech MX-518 Mouse, CH Combatstick 568, Xboc Controller, LG L227WTG-PF 22" LCD Monitor 1680x1050. Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit. Speakers: KRK Rokit8 studio monitors.

http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/media/customer.jpg
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-09, 07:30 AM   #4
de><ta
prodigy
 
de><ta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA, NY
Posts: 1,100
Default Re: Only 2.5GB of RAM regestering on new PC :(

It is due to the 1GB being allocated to your video card.

Switch to a 64bit OS pronto.

edit: You should be seeing 3GB, since the limit is 4GB and ~500MB gets used for drivers etc. and 500MB gets used for the graphics RAM.
__________________
IBM T60p | Intel Core 2 Duo T7200 | 2GB PC2-5300 | ATi M X1700 256MB | 100GB 7200rpm SATA

///m-powered | Intel i7 920 | EVGA x58 | 6GB DD3 1600 | EVGA GTX 285 SSC | 150GB VelociRaptor

Drag racing is for fast cars. Autocrossing is for fast drivers.
de><ta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-09, 10:20 AM   #5
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Only 2.5GB of RAM regestering on new PC :(

check your motherboard documentation, some boards have a bios entry "memory hole remap" something a long those lines.

http://www.google.com/search?source=...=Google+Search
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-09, 12:11 PM   #6
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Only 2.5GB of RAM regestering on new PC :(

I had to set the "memory low Gap" in the bios from 1536 to 1024. now I am seeing 3.0Gb of RAM.

What is the memory low gap and what affect do these settings have? I googled it but its hard for a noob to sort through all the BS.
__________________
Antec Nine Hundred case. Core I-7 920 @ 3.56GHz, Noctua NH-U12P Cooler, EVGA 01G-P3-1180-AR GeForce GTX-285 1GB, EVGA GT-240 Superclocked 512Mb used as a Physx card, DFI LANPARTY JR X58-T3H6, OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1600 7-7-7-18, Intel X25-V SSD, used as a boot drive, 2X Seagate 500Gig 32MB Cache 7200RPM in RAID 0, Logitec G-15 keyboard, Logitech MX-518 Mouse, CH Combatstick 568, Xboc Controller, LG L227WTG-PF 22" LCD Monitor 1680x1050. Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit. Speakers: KRK Rokit8 studio monitors.

http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/media/customer.jpg
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-09, 02:31 PM   #7
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: Only 2.5GB of RAM regestering on new PC :(

32 bit has only ever shown me 2.93gb

+ 512mb =3442mb?
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-09, 06:34 PM   #8
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Only 2.5GB of RAM regestering on new PC :(

then you probably have that memory hole settings somewhere in bios as well.

just be aware changing that setting can often cause stability issues.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-29-09, 06:40 AM   #9
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Only 2.5GB of RAM regestering on new PC :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
then you probably have that memory hole settings somewhere in bios as well.

just be aware changing that setting can often cause stability issues.
Well you were right nekrosoft13, doing that really screwed up GTA4. All the graphics were turning black and there were all kinds of weird stuff going on. There is a Memory Hole gap setting in my bios but switching it on and off hasn't done anything that I can see.

Any other suggestions?

Thank You.
__________________
Antec Nine Hundred case. Core I-7 920 @ 3.56GHz, Noctua NH-U12P Cooler, EVGA 01G-P3-1180-AR GeForce GTX-285 1GB, EVGA GT-240 Superclocked 512Mb used as a Physx card, DFI LANPARTY JR X58-T3H6, OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1600 7-7-7-18, Intel X25-V SSD, used as a boot drive, 2X Seagate 500Gig 32MB Cache 7200RPM in RAID 0, Logitec G-15 keyboard, Logitech MX-518 Mouse, CH Combatstick 568, Xboc Controller, LG L227WTG-PF 22" LCD Monitor 1680x1050. Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit. Speakers: KRK Rokit8 studio monitors.

http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/media/customer.jpg
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-09, 06:57 AM   #10
Tr1cK
not coming back
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4,872
Default Re: Only 2.5GB of RAM regestering on new PC :(

Grab the Windows 7 64-bit beta to use until you can buy the release version of it.
Tr1cK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-09, 07:15 AM   #11
musman
I Derail Threads
 
musman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 976
Default Re: Only 2.5GB of RAM regestering on new PC :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tr1cK View Post
Grab the Windows 7 64-bit beta to use until you can buy the release version of it.
I have it on another HD. Anyone know when Windows 7 will be out on the market?
__________________
Antec Nine Hundred case. Core I-7 920 @ 3.56GHz, Noctua NH-U12P Cooler, EVGA 01G-P3-1180-AR GeForce GTX-285 1GB, EVGA GT-240 Superclocked 512Mb used as a Physx card, DFI LANPARTY JR X58-T3H6, OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1600 7-7-7-18, Intel X25-V SSD, used as a boot drive, 2X Seagate 500Gig 32MB Cache 7200RPM in RAID 0, Logitec G-15 keyboard, Logitech MX-518 Mouse, CH Combatstick 568, Xboc Controller, LG L227WTG-PF 22" LCD Monitor 1680x1050. Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit. Speakers: KRK Rokit8 studio monitors.

http://www.realenvironmentxtreme.com/media/customer.jpg
musman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-09, 11:18 AM   #12
Misfire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: Only 2.5GB of RAM regestering on new PC :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by musman View Post
I have it on another HD. Anyone know when Windows 7 will be out on the market?
Sometime next year I believe, but I recommend using Win7 now as it's quite stable to be used as a main. Been using it for months now and I love it.
__________________
Intel Core i7 930 @ 4Ghz
EVGA X58-SLI-LE
6 Gigs Crucial DDR3 Ram
MSI Geforce 560 TI Twin Frozr 1024MB @ 950/1800/2100
2.3 TB of Total Hard Drive Space
2 x Seagate 500GB 7200RPM HD
1 x Western Digital Caviar Black 1.0TB 7,200 HD
1 x Western Digital Raptor 74GB 10,000RPM HD
1 x Seagate 320GB 7200RPM HD
Misfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computex: ASUS Mars III Dual GTX 680 Card Comes With 8GB RAM News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 01:40 PM
Max Payne 3 system requirements updated, new PC screenshots released News Archived News Items 0 05-28-12 06:49 AM
Installed Ram Shows 4GB and it says 2.5GB are usable muelo1000 Microsoft Windows 7 29 05-01-12 10:08 AM
Program to Identify DDR RAM modules speeds MUYA General Hardware 4 10-11-02 11:41 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.