Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-30-09, 05:53 PM   #37
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
I thought that was just my low fps. Maybe not.
The gun being jerky seems to be related to the way they made mouse movement translate to the models in game. They didn't make it very fluid so it ends up looking jerky and causing the player model to vibrate.

Fallout 3, Oblivion and Morrowind have this same problem.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-09, 06:37 PM   #38
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
The gun being jerky seems to be related to the way they made mouse movement translate to the models in game. They didn't make it very fluid so it ends up looking jerky and causing the player model to vibrate.

Fallout 3, Oblivion and Morrowind have this same problem.
I never noticed it in Fallout 3, but right now that's really the only thing that makes me think I'll avoid this game. The combat just feels very disjointed, needlessly difficult just to keep a target in your sights.

Of course, my sight isn't what it used to be either.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-09, 08:12 PM   #39
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
I never noticed it in Fallout 3, but right now that's really the only thing that makes me think I'll avoid this game. The combat just feels very disjointed, needlessly difficult just to keep a target in your sights.

Of course, my sight isn't what it used to be either.
It does have kind of a sloppy feel to it, though I think its mostly related to performance.

Like I said in my other post, it isn't too bad because you don't desperately need to make every single shot count just to survive. That could change later in the game though, who knows.

If they made the aiming smoother and optimized the performance a bit I think the combat would be fine.

BTW, I just played through the demo a second time. This is a pretty cool game, even with its flaws.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-09, 08:49 PM   #40
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
It does have kind of a sloppy feel to it, though I think its mostly related to performance.

Like I said in my other post, it isn't too bad because you don't desperately need to make every single shot count just to survive. That could change later in the game though, who knows.

If they made the aiming smoother and optimized the performance a bit I think the combat would be fine.

BTW, I just played through the demo a second time. This is a pretty cool game, even with its flaws.
What settings are you playing at ? ......just curious.
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-09, 09:56 PM   #41
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

I installed in on Windows 7 and it won't even start lol. It just crashes.

I'll have to install it on Vista I guess . . .
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-09, 10:04 PM   #42
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

Quote:
Originally Posted by lee63 View Post
What settings are you playing at ? ......just curious.
SM 4.0, physx on, OpenAL on, all settings on except for AA, AF and both motion blur settings. I played it at 1600x1200 and didn't notice much performance difference from playing it at 1280x960 last night.

The performance is just strange. It gets really choppy some times but it never really feels smooth or unplayable regardless of settings.

I wonder if the game is actually hitting a CPU bottleneck. I remember reading some comments about the game not being multithreaded at all... which could definitely lead to inconsistent performance.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-09, 10:21 PM   #43
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

I played around with it. The graphics don't justify the poor performance and sloppy mouse feel.

I think I'll pass.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-09, 10:41 PM   #44
LT.Schaffer
Praise The Lord!
 
LT.Schaffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Chernarus
Posts: 1,960
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
SM 4.0, physx on, OpenAL on, all settings on except for AA, AF and both motion blur settings. I played it at 1600x1200 and didn't notice much performance difference from playing it at 1280x960 last night.

The performance is just strange. It gets really choppy some times but it never really feels smooth or unplayable regardless of settings.

I wonder if the game is actually hitting a CPU bottleneck. I remember reading some comments about the game not being multithreaded at all... which could definitely lead to inconsistent performance.
how do you enable the Shader 4 option? mine said "Your card does not support this option even though i have a GTX 260
__________________

Intel Q9650|Asus P5Q Pro Turbo|GTX 480|CM 690 II Advanced|Corsair Dominator 4GB|LG LE3500 32"|X-FI|Intel 80GB SSD|Win 7 64Bit
Nvidia Driver:310.70 WHQL


Dedicated LAN Coop Server
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500|Asus P5B Deluxe|BFG GTX 285|Antec 900|Kingston HyperX 2GB|Viewsonic VX2255WMB 22"|Win 7 32Bit







GOD BLESS AMERICA

I Proudly Support Our Troops

Current Game:Elder Scrolls V Skyrim
LT.Schaffer is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-30-09, 10:45 PM   #45
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
SM 4.0, physx on, OpenAL on, all settings on except for AA, AF and both motion blur settings. I played it at 1600x1200 and didn't notice much performance difference from playing it at 1280x960 last night.

The performance is just strange. It gets really choppy some times but it never really feels smooth or unplayable regardless of settings.

I wonder if the game is actually hitting a CPU bottleneck. I remember reading some comments about the game not being multithreaded at all... which could definitely lead to inconsistent performance.
Yeah the game is not multithreaded....which is dumb IMO. I dont have a smooth feel all, even with 70 fps +

I have a GTS 250 coming tomorrow for PhysX....hopefully it smooths it out a little, I really want to get into this game, but if it still runs choppy Ill pack up and wait for a couple of 300 cards
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-09, 10:50 PM   #46
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

Quote:
Originally Posted by LT.Schaffer View Post
how do you enable the Shader 4 option? mine said "Your card does not support this option even though i have a GTX 260
Are you on Vista or XP? SM 4.0 is DirectX10.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-09, 10:51 PM   #47
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

I'm pretty sure the mouse feel is designed to give the game a slower pace, to remove the superman feel you have in most games where you can zip around at insane speeds.

BTW the new Windows 7 driver gave me a massive performance boost. I went from 20 to 27fps in one particularly heavy hitting scene at 1600x1200, and from 27 to 40fps at 1280x960. All settings maxed other than anisotropic being off. I've got this 9600GT laying here, not sure if I'm going to open it though.


From limpkorn at evga forums....

http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.asp?m=100500272

Motherboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe
CPU: Core i7 920 @ 4.2Ghz
GPU: One EVGA GTX280 & Two EVGA GTX280's in SLI @ Stock & OC to 783 GPU 1620 Shader 1350 Memory.
PPU: CPU (Core i7 920 @ 4.2Ghz), GPU (Stock), GPU (783 GPU 1620 Shader 1350 Memory), EVGA 9800GT Stock
Memory: 3X2GB 1600MHZ OCZ Flex EX 7-7-7-24 1T
PSU: Ultra X3 1000Watt
HDD: Two Western Digital VelociRaptors 300GB 10K RPM HDD in Raid 0
OS: Windows Vista x64


Now I'm going to go in to good detail of what type of runs I did so there is no confusion on the chart below.

Stock GPU/CPU PhysX = 1 EVGA GTX280 at stock clocks and CPU processing Physx operations.

OC GPU/CPU PhysX = 1 EVGA GTX280 OC to above clocks and CPU processing Physx operations.

Stock GPU/GPU PhysX = 1 EVGA GTX280 at stock clocks and the same GPU processing Physx operations.

OC GPU/GPU PhysX = 1 EVGA GTX280 OC to above clocks and the same GPU processing Physx operations.

Stock GPU/PPU PhysX = 1 EVGA GTX280 at stock clocks and EVGA 9800GT processing Physx operations.

OC GPU/PPU PhysX =1 EVGA GTX280 OC to above clocks and EVGA 9800GT processing Physx operations.

Stock SLI GPU/CPU PhysX = 2 EVGA GTX280s in SLI at stock clocks and CPU processing Physx operations.

OC SLI GPU/CPU PhysX = 2 EVGA GTX280s in SLI OC to above clocks and CPU processing Physx operations.

Stock SLI GPU/GPU PhysX = 2 EVGA GTX280s in SLI at stock clocks and same GPU processing Physx operations.

OC SLI GPU/GPU PhysX = 2 EVGA GTX280s in SLI OC to above clocks and same GPU processing Physx operations.

Stock SLI GPU/PPU PhysX = 2 EVGA GTX280s in SLI at stock clocks and EVGA 9800GT processing Physx operations.

OC SLI GPU/PPU PhysX = 2 EVGA GTX280s in SLI OC to above clocks and EVGA 9800GT processing Physx operations.

__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-09, 11:30 PM   #48
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
Are you on Vista or XP? SM 4.0 is DirectX10.
Vista 64 I will have a couple of GTX 285s OCed and a GTS 250 for PhysX...not to mention a i920 @ 4GHz, if that doesn't run it well... I give up

Edit: my res is 1920x1200
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lego Batman 2?s Dynamic Demo News Gaming Headlines 0 06-20-12 02:40 AM
Seed If You Like It: Botanicula Demo News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 11:30 AM
Gratuitous Tank Battles Demo Rolls Into View News Gaming Headlines 0 06-13-12 11:30 AM
Det 40.41 with Codecreature + IDV SpeedTree Demo coolspotz NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 22 09-08-02 10:36 AM
BF1942 demo and Refresh Force cricket Gaming Central 2 09-04-02 10:29 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.