Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-01-09, 09:08 AM   #61
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
I'm tempted to try my old 7800GT as a PPU, there are mixed feedback on the web whether or not this will work.
GeForce PhysX only works on 8-Series and higher cards and won't work with an ATI card as your primary GPU.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-09, 09:15 AM   #62
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnotaku View Post
GeForce PhysX only works on 8-Series and higher cards and won't work with an ATI card as your primary GPU.
Ah, thanks sat.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-09, 02:43 PM   #63
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

I hope they actually release one. It's beginning to look like a scam, where they promise lots of PhysX effects, release a demo showcasing this with the promise you can experience it in the retail game, which is of course to prompt game and card sales. So far it looks like a load of crap. At the very least they have been misleading about the release of the patch.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-09, 05:14 PM   #64
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

This game runs absolutely flawless with a dedicated Physx card...even when my FPS dipped down to the 30s, there was no jerkyness at all.

Everything maxed out, DX10, AA + AF, 1920x1200 motion blur on camera blur on.

I reinstalled DirectX and no more black screens.

Setup: GTX285 Sli, GTS250 PhysX, i920 4GHz

Now they need to hurry the ***** up and patch the game

__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-09, 06:54 PM   #65
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

The graphics and PhysX are truly amazing

__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-09, 08:05 PM   #66
m3dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

wow it actually runs smooth on 2 285s in sli AND a gts 250 for physx while rendering mostly 10x10 feet rooms?
m3dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-09, 08:19 PM   #67
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

Quote:
Originally Posted by m3dude View Post
wow it actually runs smooth on 2 285s in sli AND a gts 250 for physx while rendering mostly 10x10 feet rooms?
Ive only gone out side once forgot to take a screenshot..but it ran great.
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-09, 08:36 PM   #68
JaylumX
Something Else
 
JaylumX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Somewhere Else
Posts: 374
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

I have an HD4870 running build 7100 64 bit version of Windows 7 using Catalyst 9.4. My motherboard is crossfire enabled as well. I understand that Windows 7 supports multiple vendor GFX cards on one system unlike Vista. If i was to get a 9600GT will i be able to use that for physix on my system to run this demo a bit better cause its a freaking hog.

Cheers
__________________
Half the fun is discovering it yourself

i5 760 @ 4.0 | P7P55D-E | 8GB DDR3 | 60 & 120GB SSD - 1TB SATA 2 | HD 7950 @ 1200/6300 | HDAV 1.3 | HD598

Xbox 360 120GB | PS3 40GB | Wii 8GB | Sony KDL-32EX723BU
JaylumX is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-01-09, 08:47 PM   #69
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

Quote:
Originally Posted by m3dude View Post
wow it actually runs smooth on 2 285s in sli AND a gts 250 for physx while rendering mostly 10x10 feet rooms?
Yeah, I feel what you're trying to say there.

Still, I think the base game now runs well in DX9 mode... if the patch adds physx I can turn that off and keep playing it at high frames, one assumes, so it doesn't NEED that kind of setup.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-09, 09:05 PM   #70
m3dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

i was under the impression it ran like molasses with or without physx
m3dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-09, 06:49 AM   #71
Ywap
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 627
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

Quote:
Originally Posted by m3dude View Post
i was under the impression it ran like molasses with or without physx
For me it run equally bad with or without a dedicated card. Maybe further on thatll change but ive decided to play this game when i have the hardware for it.
__________________
i7 2600k - Msi P67A-GD55 - Noctua NH-D14 - 8gb Corsair 1600mhz - Gigabyte GTX 580 - Corsair 600t - Corsair TX 850w - Windows 7 64-bit
Ywap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-09, 07:55 AM   #72
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Cryostasis Playable Demo!

I'm assumning you two are the "must play with max settings" type. I turned down a few things and the game runs smoothly, notably on DX9 without Physx.

Also I'm 90% sure the game is designed to be slower moving, sort of plodding. It's a survival horror game, not an FPS... I think that is tripping a lot of people up.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lego Batman 2?s Dynamic Demo News Gaming Headlines 0 06-20-12 02:40 AM
Seed If You Like It: Botanicula Demo News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 11:30 AM
Gratuitous Tank Battles Demo Rolls Into View News Gaming Headlines 0 06-13-12 11:30 AM
Det 40.41 with Codecreature + IDV SpeedTree Demo coolspotz NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 22 09-08-02 10:36 AM
BF1942 demo and Refresh Force cricket Gaming Central 2 09-04-02 10:29 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.