Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Old 05-04-09, 06:32 AM   #1
jayete2000

Default Problem with nVidia in SLI mode - Fedora 10 and Ubuntu 8.10

กกก Hi !!!

I just have a problem installing Linux (Fedora 10 and Ubuntu 8.10) on my system. I'm a beginner on Linux and I don't know a lot, only jumping from one directory to other using the console and not a lot of more. :-|

I installed Fedora Core 10 a few days ago and, reading how to install nVidia drivers, I thought that it could be as easy as to install another program (yum install -y a_program). I installed the drivers as the guides I found on internet said but, when I rebooted the computer, the system didn't started up. I saw the system starting up but, when it had to start up the graphic mode... it appeared black. I didn't see anything. I re-installed the Fedora again and searched new guides and I did it again (this time with the official nVidia drivers from nVidia site) and... after reboot, black again. :-|

I thought that may be Fedora 10 was too hard for me and I installed Ubuntu v8.10. It was as easy to install as Fedora and, after reboot it, it said that there were nVidia drivers available for me. I installed the nVidia that Ubuntu downloaded itself and, after installing them... black screen again! No graphics mode. :-(

I started to think that I was doing something really bad because last time I had Fedora 8 I was able to install and run the machine with the nVidia drivers I downloaded from Livna. And I installed Fedora 8 again, I installed the nVidia drivers as I did several months ago and... after reboot the computer a black screen again! :-|