Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-12-03, 12:27 AM   #1
Zeraw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to Zeraw
Thumbs down Geforce4 440SE No Color PAL-N TV OUT!

First, sorry about my english.

I'm using a Geforce4 440SE w/ Nvidia TV Decoder under linux 2.4.20.
My current driver version is 1.0-4363.
My current XFree86 version is 4.2.0
I configured XF86Config to operate in TwinView Clone mode, with Composite video ouput as default.
But, I can't get a color picture on my TV set in all resolutions (With PAL/PAL-N/PAL-J and PAL-NC)
Maybe a wrong Chroma Subcarrier frequency?
How can I fix it?

/etc/X11/XF86Config (device section)

Section "Device"
BoardName "AutoDetected"
Driver "nvidia"
Identifier "Device[0]"
VendorName "AutoDetected"
Option "NvAGP" "2"
Option "NoLogo" "1"
Option "TwinView"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "10-50"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "60"
Option "MetaModes" "1024x768, 1024x768; 800x600, 800x600; 640x480, 640x480;"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT, TV"
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-N"
Option "TvOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
EndSection

PD: Why I can't put 50hz as SecondMonitorVertRefresh?
Pal-N uses 50hz vert refresh.
PD2: What about Macrovision?

Thanks a lot.

Sebastian Wilwerth.

Last edited by Zeraw; 06-17-03 at 06:11 PM.
Zeraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-03, 04:55 AM   #2
schizo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Actually, you can get 50Hz output from the X11 drivers provided that you explicitly describe it in a modeline in your screen definition. The modeline should be either 800x600 or 640x480 @50Hz, I'd post mine here but I'm at work currently and my freevo box is nor turned on so I can't check it for you.

I think there was one posted to this forum a bit earlier on, search for it and you ought to find something.
schizo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-03, 12:14 AM   #3
Zeraw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to Zeraw
Thumbs down 50Hz but no color

I modified my config, to operate TV at 50hz, but I still can't get color in PAL mode.

Thanks for your reply.

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor"
HorizSync 30-90
VertRefresh 50-60
Option "DPMS"
Modeline "1024x768_TV" 48.16 1024 1048 1112 1216 768 768 769 791
Modeline "800x600_TV" 28.24 800 816 856 912 600 600 601 618
Modeline "640x480_TV" 17.62 640 648 672 712 480 480 481 494
Modeline "400x300_TV" 6.68 400 408 416 432 300 300 300 309
EndSection

Section "Device"
BoardName "AutoDetected"
Driver "nvidia"
Identifier "Device[0]"
VendorName "AutoDetected"
Option "NvAGP" "2"
Option "TwinView"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "Clone"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "10-50"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "50-60"
Option "MetaModes" "1024x768, 1024x768_TV; 800x600, 800x600_TV; 640x480, 640x480_TV; 400x300, 400x300_TV;"
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT, TV"
Option "TVStandard" "PAL-NC"
Option "TVOutFormat" "COMPOSITE"
Option "NoLogo" "1"
Option "DigitalVibrance" "0"
Option "NoBandWidthTest" "1"
Option "RenderAccel" "1"
Option "CursorShadow" "1"
Option "CursorShadowXOffset" "2"
Option "CursorShadowYOffset" "1"
Option "CursorShadowAlpha" "56"
EndSection
Zeraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-03, 04:53 AM   #4
schizo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Hmm, I see that you're using composite rather than SVHS/RGB, is your TV set to the composite input?

Also, how long is your composite cable and of what quality? I've seen setups where the input signal was too low for the TV to recognize as colour, hence displaying it in bw instead. Mind you this was using a SVHS connection and not composite but I wouldn't be surprised if the same might apply in your case.

If you're using a very long cable, you might want to test with a shorter cable (hence lowering the resistance and signal loss) just to test if this is your problem.

If none of this sounds plausible then I guess it must be a matter of incompatible signalling - you're sure that PAL-NG is the correct standard to use in your case, and that it's supported in the drivers? Personally I use PAL-B, which seems to be the 'standard' PAL mode; I live in Norway and I think 'G' is the flavour of choice here, but they are all lumped into the PAL-B mode in the X11 driver.

Anyway best of luck to you, cheers!
schizo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-03, 06:05 PM   #5
Zeraw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to Zeraw
Arrow

Thanks, for your reply

Yes, PAL-NC is the standard in my country (Argentina).
The driver supports it, and i tested it with all posibilities of PAL (PAL-N, PAL-G, .... , PAL-NC), but i can't get color anyway :-(
The cable "cannot be wrong?" because I can get color with the same cable and a TNT2 based board with nvtv program.
But, Impedance outputs of the cards can vary. I will test it with another cable.

Thanks a lot, Sebastian Wilwerth.
Zeraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-03, 02:19 PM   #6
Zeraw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to Zeraw
Thumbs down

I tested it with another cable, but I still can't get color.

Sebastian
Zeraw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-03, 01:14 PM   #7
2076067
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2
Default

I live in Spain and I have the same problem with a GeForce 2mx and a Geforce4 mx440

I windows works fine, but not in linux.....

Please, nvidia people, solve it.
2076067 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-03, 11:17 PM   #8
Zeraw
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 5
Send a message via ICQ to Zeraw
Lightbulb PAL-M, NTSC-M and NTSC-J color ok, but ...

Seems to be a problem with the vertical refresh rate.

PAL-M and NTSC-M/J have 60 Hz vertical refresh, but not PAL-N/B/G/NC (50Hz)

I can get color with another "multistandard" TV, in 60hz VSync Standards, but not in 50hz VSync Standards and I need to record PAL-N VHSs.

Thanks a lot.

Sebastián.

Last edited by Zeraw; 06-17-03 at 06:07 PM.
Zeraw is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-19-03, 03:28 AM   #9
2076067
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2
Default

Sorry,

I said that in windows the problem is solved, but that's not true.

I had tested in windows in a multistandard tv, that's why it worked.
2076067 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-04, 06:29 AM   #10
alfrenovsky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8
Angry Its a version problem

In drivers before 2880 (and 2880) pal-nc works

after 4191 (included) (don´t remember what happened with 2960 and 3123) when you set pal-nc you get only pal.
In most TVs you still can see color, but the signal is not really pal-nc. You can´t record to pal-nc VHS and get color y replay.

It´s a driver problem. I hope nVidia people fix it some day. With the same hardware you can get pal-nc working with an old driver.
The problem is that 2880 doesn´t support the new AGP 8x Cards.

--
Alfrenovsky
__________________
--
Alfrenovsky
alfrenovsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Gainward GeForce4 Ti 4200 MikeC For Sale/Trade 9 10-09-02 04:56 PM
For Sale: Gainward GeForce4 Ti 4400 "Golden Sample" MikeC For Sale/Trade 13 10-08-02 01:16 PM
GeForce4 MX440 igel4u NVIDIA Linux 2 09-24-02 05:47 AM
GeForce4 owners: Please post your TV encoder and board information ScuzziOne NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 8 08-04-02 07:55 PM
GeForce4 Owners: Need your TV Encoder & Board Info... please! ScuzziOne NVIDIA Linux 1 08-01-02 05:00 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.