Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-07-09, 04:54 AM   #1
Dreamweavernoob
Desperate code
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 790
Default Is this pc fast enough for 3D?

I am away from my main pc and my 24" is a pile of ****e so im tempted to order me a 3D monitor kit (22").

Will it run games with a

C2D 2.33ghz (bios wont let me OC)
2gb (i have a spare 2gb somewhere)
9600GT OC
non sli able mobo.

cheers.


i would want to run games like painkiller, half life 2, left 4 dead etc etc
__________________
If you attack a prostitute, is it rape or merely shoplifting?
Dreamweavernoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-09, 07:40 AM   #2
a12ctic
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 2,371
Default Re: Is this pc fast enough for 3D?

For 3d you should probably at least have a voodoo 1.
__________________
AMD X2 5050 AMD Radeon HD 4830 AMD 780G 4GB OCZ DDR2 Antec 300 Fedora 11
a12ctic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-09, 08:15 AM   #3
Dreamweavernoob
Desperate code
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 790
Default Re: Is this pc fast enough for 3D?



I meant 3D vision by nvidia . Apparently its hard on the hardware
__________________
If you attack a prostitute, is it rape or merely shoplifting?
Dreamweavernoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-09, 10:45 AM   #4
XP_GUN
Registered User
 
XP_GUN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Orange CA.
Posts: 1,086
Default Re: Is this pc fast enough for 3D?

lol I was thinking that you had a old old computer
__________________
Yeah I use a Mac Mini now....
XP_GUN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-09, 11:26 AM   #5
-=DVS=-
.:. Lafiel .:.
 
-=DVS=-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Outerspace
Posts: 3,009
Default Re: Is this pc fast enough for 3D?

So you gonna burn around 400$ on 3D kit instead of upgrading your ageing 9600GT ? your weird man.
__________________
.:. Lian Li X500FX .:. i7 2600k .:. PNY GTX 680 .:. Corsair DDR3 8GB .:. Silverstone 800W PSU .:. Asus P8P67-M Pro .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.
-=DVS=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-09, 11:31 AM   #6
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Is this pc fast enough for 3D?

I don't know. I think you're pushing it with a 9600GT, though I guess it depends how picky you are about framerates.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-09, 12:50 PM   #7
MaxFX
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 580
Default Re: Is this pc fast enough for 3D?

IMO definetly get a better gfx card dude, you can never run games in 1680*1050 X 2
Thats just to much, okey maybe it dont take 2X power but nearly it does. nVidia do promise tho that they will optimize it.

Anyway a 9600GT is just crap for any new games even at say rendering 1680*1050 in 2D!
MaxFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-09, 01:48 PM   #8
Dreamweavernoob
Desperate code
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 790
Default Re: Is this pc fast enough for 3D?

I dont want to play "new new" games just some old games. I sold my GTX 295 and wish to wait for GT 300.

I might buy a gtx 280 but it would mean having to upgrade my psu
__________________
If you attack a prostitute, is it rape or merely shoplifting?
Dreamweavernoob is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-07-09, 02:36 PM   #9
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,726
Default Re: Is this pc fast enough for 3D?

GTX275!!!
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/161684

Buying a 280 would be very stupid


Ebuyer had the gtx275 ichill a while back for 217 ,Thats with the accelero cooler already installed.
If they ever get any more they'll probly put the price up though.
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-09, 03:36 PM   #10
Dreamweavernoob
Desperate code
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 790
Default Re: Is this pc fast enough for 3D?

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger View Post
GTX275!!!
http://www.ebuyer.com/product/161684

Buying a 280 would be very stupid


Ebuyer had the gtx275 ichill a while back for 217 ,Thats with the accelero cooler already installed.
If they ever get any more they'll probly put the price up though.
Is the GTX 275 better than the GTX 280? I was sorta hoping not to pay 200 for a card .

I can get a GTX 280 for 150 2nd hand. Is it worth saving me 50?
__________________
If you attack a prostitute, is it rape or merely shoplifting?
Dreamweavernoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-09, 04:11 PM   #11
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,726
Default Re: Is this pc fast enough for 3D?

lol ,no ,Get that.

Do you collect gullible people to sell you stuff for cheeep?

I just checked ebay and I have a 10% voucher,I could get a 280 aswell (but for 200) but I aint got the pahwah!
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-09, 04:57 PM   #12
Dreamweavernoob
Desperate code
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 790
Default Re: Is this pc fast enough for 3D?

pahwah?


Meh im tempted to go for this gtx 280 even though it would mean I would also have to upgrade my damn PSU (I got a nice price for my PSU after I sold my GTX 295). I will go 3D if a certain TV fits the bill in regards its suitability
__________________
If you attack a prostitute, is it rape or merely shoplifting?
Dreamweavernoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenACC Complier: Fast, Portable, Just $199 from CAPS News Archived News Items 0 06-05-12 06:30 PM
GPU Tech Conference Off to a Fast Start in San Jose News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 05:00 PM
Make Your Own Cocoa Powder for Fast Chocolatey Drinks Anywhere You Go [Food] News Archived News Items 0 05-14-12 08:00 AM
Tom's hardware shows a 2.4ghz+GeForce3 is as fast as 3.06ghz+GeForce4 4600?!? Mad Hatter CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 7 10-12-02 08:57 PM
AGP Fast write and SiS 735 not supported ? Chojin NVIDIA Linux 9 10-11-02 06:52 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.